We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Fernando

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Fernando to your Saves list
Hostal Fernando
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ferran 31, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hostel is right in the Gothic section, between La Rambla & Placa Sant. Jaume, perfect location and great value. Fun to have a balcony overlooking the street. Room and bathroom very clean. Only problem was that we were on the 2nd floor, directly beneath the youth hostal rooms- very LOUD crashing noises & partying during night. Basic breakfast, good coffee machine.
Hamid, his nephew and the other young man were all very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the hostel, maybe 4th floor, but overlooking the street - fun to watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    200
    66
    20
    13
See reviews for
63
124
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A very good budget stay, seemed more like a hotel than a hostel to me. Rooms were decent and clean. Breakfast is nothing special but sufficient given the price. The location is perfect although at night it can still be noisy, depending on the room you are in. All in all a definite recommendation!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Me and a friend went for new years 2012/13!! Well located, clean, fairly modern rooms! Would definitely suggest it for anyone who is on a budget! There are lots of shops, restaurants, bar/clubs, metro stations, trams nearby! I have nothing negative to say!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a double pension room. The location is on a side street from La Rambla and in the Gothic Quarter. It's close to several good restaurants and cafeterias. The rooms are the basic, the bed was a little hard, but it was sufficient for us. A weary part of the hotel is that you need to give the front desk your room and safe key each time you leave the hotel. Nothing happened, but I was a bit uneasy with that part. I wish the hotel breakfast had better selections, since the hotel also has a cafeteria. But for the price and central location, I would still recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights in this hotel in early September. My rating is completely based on proximity to the happening spots in Barcelona and the quality of the accommodations. This is a no frills kind of place but it has everything you need - a bed and a bathroom. The bathroom was a nice size and very clean. The room itself was also a nice size and the wi-fi worked very well. I honestly can't think of a single complaint. The staff was nice and helpful. If you like very cute, frilly hotels then this may not work for you. But if you care more about location and simply having a place to sleep then this is definitely a great spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

nice, clean, very good situation, not expensive.

only thing : don't take the breakfast with the room, soooo bad.

But the worst...... following an error in ma reservation on booking, there were two room with my name.
They didnet told me till the last day and then asked my to pay for one more night, corresponding with the fisrt night in the other room, that was obviously empty !!

if i had known this as soon as arrived i would have benen staying one night less, because i didn't have enough money... or i would have had time to contact booking or i don't know...

it wasn't honest. i had to pay and it was a very unpleasant experience. And more, they told me it was my fault (Why would i have taken 2 rooms with my own name??? obviously they wanted to make money)

But i had to take my plane, i payed and i left. F****.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Fernando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Fernando

Address: Ferran 31, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Fernando 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Fernando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Fernando Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Fernando Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Fernando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.