We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for hotel choice in barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I to your Saves list
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal 661 - 671, 08028 Barcelona, Spain (Les Corts)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“excellent for hotel choice in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

what a pleasant surprise. this was where a cruise line placed us for the night before the cruise. great hotel! room and bathroom were very large and well appointed. my only complaint was that the mattress was a little too hard for my taste. but everything else was great. this is a good choice for anyone visiting barcelona

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
35
4
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Being a frequent traveller you can't go wrong staying at Fairmont as it's always a top class at any of their locations. It was a great experience staying at Rey Juan Carlos l - we spent 3 nights in one of their suites with access to the Executive Lounge with decent range of tapas, it's definitely worth paying extra for a suite to get access to the lounge. This hotel has 3 swimming pools, the outdoor ones were still closed though but we've spent great time in their indoor pool with saunas and jacuzzis. The location is not that great unless you prefer to stay out of the city centre but it's still fast and easy to get to the town by taxi (or underground).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checking was quick and efficient.

The rooms were spacious and well laid out. The bathrooms had all of the amenities.

The gym was too hot for my liking but it was well equipped.

The 12th floor lounge was worth the upgrade. Randal and Anna really made a great impression. From personal attention, to recommendations on restaurants and leisure activities. They were more then helpful. The drinks and snacks were an added bonus.

The housekeeping was inconsistent. Some days they did an excellent job, but on one occasion my room was missed and on an other it was not cleaned until 10:30 at night.

This hotel has two restaurants. I preferred the Garden as it was much quieter and the service was wonderful. The other was average and noisy.

The location couldn't have been better. It's a short walk to the conference centre.

To sum up, I would return.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationsHotel, GUEST SERVICES DEPARTMENT at Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Piccky Mom,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us some positive feedback as this helps us only to progress and meet guest’s expectations. We are glad you enjoyed the room and bathroom amenities as this is where the guests reside and one of the most important parts of our hotel where guests should feel like at ‘’home’’.

Due to the housekeeping we sincerely apologize and will look through it so that it does not happen again. We have already forwarded this comment to our Housekeeping Manager in order for her to analogize it with her Team and take a good note.

Regarding our great colleagues Randall and Anna, we have already congratulated them. It is really a pleasure to read such a good feedback, since it motivates our colleagues to keep offering that excellent service.

Once again hotel Team thanks you for giving us positive and constructive feedback and hope your next stay with us will be even more memorable.

Regards,


Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a nice comfortable hotel with good access to the city
I upgraded on arrival giving access to the exec lounge this was a fantastic extra and worth it the room was functional and comfortable and had good veiws of the city

Room Tip: always upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationsHotel, Guest Services at Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Philip L,
Thank you for your positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed the hotels location and services. The executive lounge is made for guests to have that “extra’’ service attention and with regards to the rooms and views we are pleased you could experience this. Once again the Fairmont team thanks you for the positive feedback as it helps us to improve now and in the future.
Our best regards,
Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing hotel with great service! Managed to bump into the Barcelona football team whilst staying here. Truly enjoyable experience. Would defiantly recommend but it is slightly far from the centre. The restaurant served a lovely selection of breakfast everyday which was rather delicious, and the restaurant served a range of tapas style dishes in the evening.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationsHotel, Guest Services at Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kizza04,
We thank you for such positive feedback, it is our pleasure as Fairmont you had such a great experience. Although the location of the hotel is resided a bit out of the city center this is what makes this hotel truly special as it has a ‘’Resort’’ feeling within city boundaries. The restaurant prepares high class food made with passion for each guest in the hotel so we are glad you enjoyed it from our professional chefs in the kitchen.
Furthermore we thank you again for positive feedback so we can progress now and in the future. Hope to see you back at the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel itself is fantastic . A very large lobby and spacious rooms + helpful staff , however it's 11 stop away from the city center by metro and this is weak point . The other point is that there is no tea or coffee maker in the rooms and you have to pay for this and also for the spoons or forks if you need .

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationsHotel, Guest Services at Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Ebrahim Z,
We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and its very large lobby are and spacious room and especially our highly trained staff. The hotels location is based in a way to have a ‘’resort’’ feeling so the only possible way was to build it in this location. Regarding the coffee-maker and tea facilities I would like to inform you that they are only included in reservations for Suite rooms, but we will take a good note of your comment.
Our best regards from Barcelona,
Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I

Address: Avenida Diagonal 661 - 671, 08028 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#162 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, Barcelona - Barcelona's only urban resort hotel We are proud to extend the tradition of Fairmont hospitality to historic Barcelona with the magnificent five-star Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I. Set in 25,000 square meters of breathtaking 19th century gardens, with unparalleled views of the stunning Barcelona skyline, this luxurious urban hotel provides a tranquil retreat in the heart of Spain's celebrated second city. With a central location on the prestigious Avenida Diagonal and excellent transport links, the Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I excels as both an impressive hub for business and a memorable base for exploring Barcelona and wider Catalonia. Major attractions and amenities, including the famous Camp Nou stadium, the Barcelona Polo Club and the financial district, are all within easy reach of the hotel, and the vibrant restaurants, bars and shopping streets that have made Barcelona a world-class destination are just a stone's throw away. Whatever your reason for visiting Barcelona The Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, with its 432 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, engaging service and glamorous ambience, will ensure you have a memorable stay. World of Gastronomy The Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I offers an impressive array of high-quality destinations for drinking and dining. From relaxed al fresco lunches and poolside drinks, to sophisticated cocktails and five-star fine dining, we have an option to suit every mood and taste. Set among tranquil gardens, The Garden Restaurant & Lounge uses superb seasonal ingredients to create authentically local Mediterranean cuisine. The Polo Restaurant offers all-day fine dining and exquisite national and international specialties. The Terrace, which overlooks the hotel pool, serves delicious drinks and enticing appetizers, while the Pool Bar is the place to be for mouth-watering snacks, salads and meat and fish specialties. The glamorous Lobby Bar is a stylish meeting point at the center of the hotel's 16-floor atrium. In its stunning surroundings you can soak up the atmosphere while enjoying live piano music and sophisticated cocktails and canap←s. An exclusive experience of harmony, health and beauty At day's end relax and unwind at The Royal Club Fitness & Spa, and discover for yourself why it has been named as one of the world's top ten fitness centres by Conde Nast Traveler. Work out in the superbly equipped fitness room, take a swim in one of its two large swimming pools, or choose from an unparalleled range of relaxing and revitalizing health and beauty treatments. Featuring only the very best Natura Biss← and Alqvimia cosmetic products, hot tubs, caldarium, physiotherapy treatments, aromatherapy sessions, anti-stress programs and anti-wrinkle remedies, all within the spa's 5,400 square meters of floor space, the possibilities are endless! Successful meetings The unrivalled conference facilities available at The Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I have forged its reputation as Barcelona's premier venue for events, conventions, commercial exhibitions and meetings. With 24 meeting rooms within its walls - all featuring state-of-the-art technology - the hotel also features three elegant garden salons ideal for gala dinners, business lunches and banquets. In addition, the Palau de Congressos de Catalunya convention center is just a short walk from the hotel. This world-class, state-of-the-art complex comprises 38 halls and meeting rooms, 43,000 square feet of exhibition space, and an auditorium for up to 2,000 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Juan Carlos i
Hotel Rey Juan Carlos Barcelona
Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Rey Juan Carlos I, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.