We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smart hotel in a good location; but ideas above its station?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Silken Gran Hotel Havana to your Saves list
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A smart hotel in a good location; but ideas above its station?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a standard room on the 6th floor for 3 nights. The room was small, clean, comfortable and smart, though I'm not sure about the greeny colour scheme and the room was very dark and hot. We were asked if we wanted a street front or quiet room; we asked for quiet, and were pleased with the result. The staff were cool towards us at best, sometimes appearing quite snobbish; I was particularly cross about the attitude we were shown when we came back on our last night to report that my husband had been pickpocketed - the man behind the desk simply smirked in response and slapped a new room key-card on the desk. Prices within the hotel were extortionate - we did have the breakfast buffet each morning, the quality and quantity of which was amazing, but you can get a coffee and croissant for 2 euros just around the corner. The free wifi service was terrible and barely usable, and the TV's 2 English speaking stations both produced a hideous beeping noise, which meant we couldn't use the TV either. The water failed us altogether on our second morning. I've made it sound awful - but I would stay there again, as I think we were just unlucky on all the above counts. The location is exceptional - no more than a 15 min walk to anywhere worth going in Barcelona - and there's a handy taxi rank outside for return trips to the airport!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Trip Advisor and your comments regarding your stay. All comments of our clients are very welcome, as it is very important for us in order to improve our service to futures guests.
We are improving all leisure area of 7th floor and during you weekend stay these affected to the water normal service during a short period. We are also working in the TV signals and WIFI service.
We would be delighted to welcome you again next time you come to Barcelona and enjoy the improvements made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    320
    86
    55
    20
See reviews for
102
334
28
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days and found it to be very well sited for easy access to the sites. Sagrada Familia about 15 mins walk away and the Gothic Centre is only about 10 mins walk away. Good, friendly staff and the breakfast selection was excellent. However, being english the tea is always disappointing but more worryingly their coffee was awful (and having lived in Italy for a few years I do recognise good coffee!). We have a ‘club’ room which was very pleasant although a little tired in the corners…….. Free wiFi was poor and so slow it was almost unusable, which is a little disappointing these days but not critical. Overall, a very pleasant hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Mr. Christa,
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we are happy to know your stay was comfortable. Our central location is suitable for visiting city center attractions on foot.
We are concerned about your comments about the coffee, since, in addition to American coffee served at table for breakfast, we also have for free disposal of our guests a Nespresso machine in breakfast room. We also have our special piano-bar Nespresso for coffee specialties
WIFI service is an issue that we hope to have resolved son and you can enjoy in your next trip to Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Rooms are a little small, but otherwise all is great. Rooms are clean, bedding is luxurious. Baths are up to date and comfortable. Staff is superb 5 star at least. From the room cleaner to desk clerk, dining room chief and bar tender. All were terrific!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,
We sincerely thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers inTripadvisor and your kind words about our staff.
We are so glad to now you enjoyed your stay at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, and would love that you will get back to your home in Barcelona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A very nice hotel in the heart of Barcelona, swimming pool on the roof top.
Very nice room, spacious and comfortable, with all the amenities. The only issue I experienced was with the heater, it was around 25ºC in the room and I had to open the window.
Excellent buffet. breakfast

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

At Gran Hotel Havana we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our rooms and that our staff was great. Thank you for your comments and feedback, they are appreciated to make your next stay better. We hope the rest of your travels were relaxing and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

superb hotel great location to la rambla, food is as good as any restaurant we have eaten in ever, staff really friendly, rooms are very clean, beds are big really big, if you come here you will not be disappointed, a drink in the evening on the roof terrace is a must

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our Silken Gran Hotel Havana, we're really excited to know that both our staff and facilities were up to your expectations. Comments like yours encourage us to continue working and enjoying our profession.
We hope to see you again soon here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Adequate room. Clean and tidy. A bit on the small side, but that wasn't an issue. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Nicely located close to most things, with a 20 minute walk to most areas of interest. Would stay here again. Good price too. The only downside was the Breakfast, as it seemed a bit expensive so we declined it, and ate breakfast at one of the local cafés 5 minutes a way.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your kind words about our staff and services at the Silken Gran Hotel Havana.
We work hard to provide maximum comfort and kindness to our guests to feel at home.
Our buffett offers a wide variety of products, including an exclusive ​​light área and other with celiacs, plus fruit, pastries and eggs to taste. Please ask about special discounts if you hire in advance next time if you want to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recently stayed in a club level room at The Gran Havana and was initially really impressed with the location, the decor and the room. The free pastries and N'espresso coffees on the club level were a definate plus.

Situated just 10 minutes walk from Passeig de Gracia and Placa Catalunya and access to the metro and local trains, you are really well placed to get around the whole of Barcelona. The hotel has a grand facade and is on a wide tree lined avenue as opposed to up a narrow back street as many of the hotels in Barcelona seem to be.

The decor inside is great and the reception area smelled lovely every time we went through.

The staff were polite, friendly and efficient.

Two things let the hotel down, the non-existant wi-fi connection and the noise from adjacent rooms.

The reception staff were more than helpful in trying to resolve the wi-fi issue including free upgrades to their premium network. All efforts were however in vain. The only place I could get even a flicker of signal was to sit on the floor behind the door into the room. Not ideal !

The soundproofing between rooms is quite shocking. Whenever the couple in the next room took a shower, had a wash, brushed their teeth or flushed the toilet, for all accounts they may as well have been in our room.

The only other slight niggle is that the TV in the room had only 1 english (news) channel and the picture clarity was quite dreadful.

So all in all what could be a great hotel comes across as just OK, which is a little sad as the problems it has are not insurmountable and just require a little investment on behalf of the chain.

The only other reminder I would make is don't spend all your money before checking out as you will have the Catalan Governments tourist tax to pay. It isn't a lot (7 € for 3 nights) but if all you have saved is the cost of your trip to the airport, you could be caught short.

Room Tip: If you can, grab a club room. It will save you a fortune in coffee and snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Silken Gran Hotel Havana for your stay in Barcelona, ​​and we are glad that your stay with us was, in general a positive experience-
Thanks to the opinions of our customers, we try to improve every day and we are putting the final solution for the signal quality of the WIFI with a new line of fiber optic . The TV signal is also in the process of improvement.
Regarding the turísitic rate, this is a new tax that sets the Generalitat de Catalunya and also applies in other Touristic capitals in the world , and that our future customers will have to consider.
We hope to be worthy of your trust again and next time you visit us you'll enjoy the improvements implemented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silken Gran Hotel Havana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.