We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Modest Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laumon

Save Saved
You added Hotel Laumon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Laumon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Monlau 8 - 10, 08027 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and Modest Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I laughed my head off after reading one of the previous reviews of Hotel Laumon that said it's more like 4 star hotel. It's a vast exaggeration. The hotel is a clean and calm place but I would have never called it luxurious.
I lived in double room for single use that was equipped in wooden wardrobe and desk with plastic chair. The bed was of immense size and really comfortable while the neighborhood remained calm so I have no problem with resting at night. Free WiFi as well as air-conditioning were provided and worked ok. Unfortunately, there was neither coffee machine nor fridge in the room. Bathroom was generally clean although I spotted some little ants walking to and fro on the floor and bathtube. Since I like insects, I did not report it to the staff. They would have surely killed off these poor creatures. However, some of you probably fear or detest living with insects under one roof so I fel obliged to share it with you. But don't get discouraged, those ants were not venomous, we got along very well.

Situated in proximity of metro station La Sagrera, Hotel Laumon is a perfect base for city adventure as Barcelona's subway is very well developed. However, everyone should bear in mind this isn't a typical tourist district you may see in city's promotional materials. To reach Barcelona's major attraction, it is inevitable to use public transport or rent a car.

Staff at the reception was very nice, helpful and spoke English fluently. They provided me with all necessary information I asked for and, moreover, often inquire if I need something.

I recommend it to all those for whom Barcelona itself is of more value than interior design.

Room Tip: Before arrival it's wise to ask personally about additional appliances such as coffee machine or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
104
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

the hotel is situated in a residential zone, next to a school. in the morning you may have some problems with the sleep because of the children from the school.The personnel was really nice, i asked to have my room changed with a bigger one and they did it with no extra cost. A lot of advice asked from the front desk staff that was really helpful and kind. I also enjoyed the breakfast as i considered you have were to chose from. The hotel is situated really close to the metro station.A lot of supermarkets and fruits store in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, General Manager at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us and other travellers on Tripadvisor and for staying with us while in Barcelona.

we are very happy to read that you had a nice experiencia in our little hotel. I am sorry you didn't like the room we gave you in the first place but fortunately you did like the one you were moved to after that. I'm glad everything worked out!

I will immediately share your remarks with our Front Desk Team to let them know they're doing a good job. That will make their day!

We would love to welcome you in the future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us next time you visit the city.

Best regards,



General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our experience at the Hotel Laumon, Barcelona was a really special one. After the three minute walk from the metro's nearest exit, we were greeted by a very professional and kind host who after checking in, took the time to familiarise us with the key must-see places and tips on getting in and around this city; including checking details for the MotoGP - getting to and from the circuit as well as ensuring we were prepared for the journey home when our time there ended.

He and all the other reception staff spoke excellent English and made us feel at home immediately. They recommended places to eat and see that most tourists may never know about; and were interested on our feedback after each day exploring Barcelona.

All the reception staff were everything we could have hoped for: polite, excellent communicators, well presented, professional and thoughtful. Though we did not expect it, they all remembered what we had done on our trips out without even checking.

The rooms were very clean, cool and quiet. For a 3-star hotel in Europe, we were delighted with the Hotel Laumon as having stayed in many hotels in Europe, 3-star can feel like 1 star. This felt more like 4-star. A modern building in a suburban area next to a famous school, it was a bargain compared with the more centralised hotels in Barca. The shower was decent with bathroom and twin bedroom comfortable. Air-conditioning controls were easy to use as was the safe.

The metro (La Sagrera) is only 10-15 minutes from the centre of Barcelona and easy to navigate.
There are affordable bars and cafes on the walk to the metro but I am recommending the hotel's own cafe-bistro, which compared with inner-city cafes and restaurants, is excellent value. The chef (also maître d) prepared a different menu daily and really made our experience an enjoyable one. He was courteous, clean and attentive in his service. The food was delicious and filling. Two starters, a main and a dessert with a drink was a fraction of the price compared to anywhere in city centre. The drinks were great value too. Even though we had tight schedules, he went out of his way to ensure our needs were met.

We were really sad to leave after our one week stay, with the staff in reception and the cafe-bistro feeling like family.

We will be back and I am recommending this hotel as a hidden gem of a hotel in Barcelona for anyone who enjoys a personal, peaceful break in a bustling city on a tight budget.

Well done Hotel Laumon - you made the holiday for us. Thank you!

Room Tip: Balcony available on request though our room without was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, General Manager at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your more than valuable remarks on Tripadvisor.
It feels good to have been able to exceed your expectations. We certainly remember your stay with us and we can only reciprocate your comments. It was a great pleasure for us having you at Hotel Laumon. We are glad you had a good time, not only with us, but at the Moto Grand Prix as well.

We would also like to thank you for your nice remarks on our restaurant service. As you know, this is a new project we started a few months ago and every single comment makes us feel positive about the way we are handling things. These kind of remarks are the engine that alows us to keeo on reaching for success.

It would be a pleasure meeting you again some day. Please do not hesitate to come by if you happen to be in Barcelona again.

Thanks a lot for your time.

Best regards,


General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a small, relatively new hotel which turned out to be absolutely perfect for our trip. Hotel staff were all friendly and spoke excellent English, were very knowledgeable about the area/giving advice, rooms were small but nicely arranged, good quality, well finished - it definitely didn't feel like a 3 start back home in the UK. Our room had a balcony for extra space and the opportunity to sit outside in the evenings; which we didn't pay extra for. Non-balcony rooms also have access to a roof area on the 6th floor. Bathroom was nicely finished too, with good water pressure, and hotel cleaning service was efficient, thorough. Air con was really quick and effective. Only downsides that could be noted for some guests might be the lack of a mini bar (which we didn't care about). Great hotel in a convenient location (less than a 5 minute walk to the red line Metro stop) for the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony if they have one free for extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, General Manager at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Laumon for your recent stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us and other travelers.

I'd like to thank you as well on behalf of our team, for your nice remarks about the service and the Hotels' facilities. This is the kind of recognition that allows us to keep on working hard in order to make our guest's holidays unforgettable.

Again, thank you very much!

Best regards,


General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Laumon, we arrived early and the lady on the reception desk was very helpfull. Although our room was not ready, we were checked in and our cases were locked away, this allowed us to have a walk round La Sagrera and have some lunch.
We went back and the room was ready, clean and tidy, the hotel is modern with a nice clean comfortable room and good size bathroom.
The Metro was close to the hotel, from which we got round most of Barccelona, even went to the beach by Metro. Got a T10 ticket great value.
There are plenty Bars and Resteraunts in the area, all well priced,also a nice little park garden to walk round.
The Hotel Laumon is great value, recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending a few days with us at Hotel Laumon and for sharing your opinion and travel recommendations with other travellers.

As you know, an early check in is allways possible at Hotel Laumon but only if the room is available. We want our guests to start enjoying their holidas ASAP! We certainly appreciate your nice comments about the hotel's cleanliness and modernity.

Our entire Team is looking forward to receiving you again at Hote Laumon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchingley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a fairly basic hotel, the rooms are not huge and the furnishings are a little basic, but the bathroom is a good size and is beautifully set out with really good bath and shower. The bed is comfortable and huge, though made up of two singles (which may part).
The hotel is in a residential area and is quite tough to find, but it is very close to the Metro and the mainline takes you straight to the main area of Barcelona. Trains are frequent and we were never waiting more than two minutes, so it was possible to be in the city centre within 20 minutes.
The staff here are really friendly and helpful, speaking both English and French, they are more than happy to assist and recommend activities and tours. We stayed in May, so air conditioning was not an issue, but unlike gopal4life - we found the air-conditioning in our room and it seemed to work fine. Perhaps he needs to look more carefully.
For us, it ticked most of the boxes, the area seemed safe and the restaurant opposite was quite good. If we wanted to go out in the evening we could easily get back and not have the noise of some of the hotels in the city.
Would I stay there again, YES certainly, would I recommend to others, yes certainly, if they too wanted somewhere fairly quiet.

Room Tip: rear rooms face out on to a students rest area and there can occasionally be a little noise, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us and other fellow customers of Tripadvisor.

I must say I feel sorry for the comment about the room size but, on the other hand, I am glad you enjoyed the bathroom and the shower. We always try to provide our guests the maximal comfort and excellent service. After a tough day walking around Barcelona We thought our guests would much more appreciate a big shower and a huge bed, rather than a big room. We will do better next time!

I'm glad to see that other services and facilities were fine such as the Aircon, the Front Desk Team and the restaurants around the hotel.
Your comments have been very helpful and I will share the success with the rest of the Team, as they are a vital part of it.

It has been great having you with us while in Barcelona. Would I like to see you again? "YES certainly".


Sincerely,

Hotel General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very very small rooms. The bed is also not enough for two persons. No one seems to know the hotel, it's located near a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thanks to GPS we managed to find the way. No aircon in the hotel beat that and it was hot.
Overall a very average hotel but not worth the amount u paying for it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaumon, Director General at Hotel Laumon, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Laumon*** with other fellow users of TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to read your complaint regarding the size of the room you stayed at while in Barcelona. I have tracked down your reservation and found out that you actually booked a double room with a 1,35m double bed. All details are clearly discribed before booking any room. I am afraid the accomodation was not up to your expectations.

Hotel Laumon opened in march 2011. We are a very young hotel in Barcelona. This may have been the reason that people did not know where Hotel Laumon was located. Again. I'm sorry it took longer than expected to get to us but I'm glad you did in the end.

Regarding your comment about the not working air conditioning, the hotel staff may not have been clear enough. Due to environmental reasons our Aircon does only work if the room window is closed. I'm sure your stay could have been much more confortable if this had been made clear in the first place.

Please reach out to me to further discuss your stay at +34 93.243.52.79, as I am committed to making a great experience for all our guests my first priority.

Best Regards,


Hotel General Manager - Hotel Laumon***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laumon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laumon

Address: C/ Monlau 8 - 10, 08027 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#123 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laumon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Laumon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Laumon Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laumon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.