We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vegetarian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teresa Carles

Teresa Carles
Jovellanos, 2 | (Pelai - Tallers), 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 93 317 18 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Vegetariano, Mediterraneo, Artesano, Sano y Sabroso.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had lunch with 2 having Plates of the Day (great value at 9.50c) and 2 with a la carte. Apart from the paella, the food was of the highest standard and quality. Suggest you book for lunch as is very busy and justifiably so

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    502
    186
    58
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vegetarian Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I ate here on our second night in Barcelona, after having had a not-so-good experience on our first night. We happily enjoyed Teresa Carles vegetarian fare made with organic ingredients. We shared a salad with roasted brie which was quite tasty. The brie had a light coating on the outside and was baked to perfection. Our entries were the artichoke risotto and pasta with pear and gorgonzola cheese. Both were very good, with the latter being outstanding. Those dishes, along with a few glasses of wine, was our dinner – a very satisfying dining experience. I can confidently recommend this restaurant to all who enjoy organic, vegetarian fare that is well-prepared and delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good food, friendly and efficient service, could have eaten anything on the menu, looking forward to visiting again later on this week.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“just”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am not a vegetarian but I love vegetarian food and one of my all time favorite restaurants is Gratitude in San Fransceso, which is vegan and raw food specialized. So I came to this restaurant based upon this review, with a special excitement especially that we are in Barcelona, the capital of culinary creativity. Was I terribly impressed? Certainly not. The food was ok but hardly fitting of the raving reviews, and certainly not particularly creative. In addition, the place is noisy and impersonal. It is like a large vegetarian cafeteria, with hurried waiters, and a rather distracting commotion altogether. An just because a dish is meatless, hardly means it's light or even healthy. Many of the dishes are just too fatty and oily, such as the ravioli hearts smothered in cheesy fatty goo, and the crispy tempurah whose fatty and salty aftertaste is still bothering me till now. Vegetarians should expect higher for themselves and their co-diners. I am ok with this place for a quick salad, but if hard pressed for a quality vegetarian meal, I much rather select an vegetarian dish at Origins, or other higher quality food establishments.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Super Vegetarian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am not a vegetarian, but the offerings here are so fresh and inventive I may start! The chef has done a great job in making a multi layer foodie experience with phenomenal mini-vegetarian burgers, to a wonderful ravioli dish, finishing with a magical strawberry "wontoon" with lemon mascapone cheese and a warm chocolate coolant. Went there twice after stumbling into teresa charles. Enjoy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teresa Carles also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Teresa Carles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teresa Carles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.