We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teresa Carles

Teresa Carles
Jovellanos, 2 | (Pelai - Tallers), 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 93 317 18 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #161 of 6,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Vegetariano, Mediterraneo, Artesano, Sano y Sabroso.
Barcelona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Love the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I agree with one of the comments below that this is a "vegetarian restaurant for non-vegetarians". I've been with different friends, non of whom were vegetarian, and it's always a hit. The food is fantastic, great quality, unique dishes, and the prices cannot be faulted. I love the decor too. The service is generally very good, but last time when we went on a Saturday night they rushed us a little, they brought the main when we hadn't finished our starter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    221
    71
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Holy non-cow! This place is delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wish I had three more stomachs. I had the pumpkin salad with crispy tempeh and some sort of cinnamon dressing. It was so good. The flavor was original and oh-so tasty. The fettucine carbonara my husband had did not suck either. I highly recommend this place for their creativity and flavor. Service was quick and really friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

After reading good reviews on here we decided to go there for lunch. The menu looked interesting so we went in. We were given a table and menus promptly, however we were then ignored for 15 minutes. Obviously we need time to look at the menu but i would expect we would be asked if we wanted any drinks straight away.

After deciding what we wanted we gave our order when we were asked. We shared a starter which consisted of different types of hummous and breads and croquettes. This was quite nice.

My main was an aubergine cake, which consisted of aubergine, goats cheese, beetroot and pastry. it was very nicely presented, however it was a bit heavy. My girlfriend ordered vegetable soup. You would expect these to be served at the same time but no. The soup came 5 to 10 minutes later. it's just soup, so why the delay?

Overall the food was nice but was let down by the service. They weren't rude, but just not friendly at all. Quite a disappointment. We won't be going back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The food is beautiful, the portions are reasonable and the staff are lovely!
I've been eating vegetarian food my whole life and this was by far the best I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow, fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Husband and I had lunch here twice after reading reviews on trip advisor. How glad we are that we did. You could not fault the menu, the food, the service and certainly not the prices. Everything was perfect, the Monday to Friday set menu is particularly good value at 2 courses for 9.50 or 13.00 for 3 courses, in the middle of Barcelona, Bargain!. The menu was fantastic, on our first visit we had a couple of sharing plates with wine and too be honest I found that enough for a lunch total cost was about 30 euro's. On our second visit we made sure we were very hungry I had the Italian salad to start followed by the Mini Burgers. I can honestly say this is the best place we have ever eaten and we will return to Barcelona and eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teresa Carles also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Teresa Carles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teresa Carles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.