We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place, but horrible Wi-Fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Cristal Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Cristal Palace to your Saves list
Eurostars Cristal Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diputacio 257, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #355 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“OK place, but horrible Wi-Fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 3 nights there last week, and had an all right experience. The room was really nice and the cleaning too. The people at the reception were helpfull and professional. Breakfast was OK, but could have been better. The Wi-Fi however was just horrible. Almost no signal, and I wasn't able to work, as I has planned.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    218
    95
    39
    32
See reviews for
92
168
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed here a couple of times over the past couple of years. Great location, close to major shopping area, decent restaurants, metro system, and buses to and from airport. Our room was very comfortable with its own thermostat to control room temp, provided breakfasts are excellent with a wide variety of food. In room safe requires deposit of twenty Euros, and provide you with the key. Downside as with many hotels of this vintage were the acoustics in room, could here everyone coming and going at all hours. We were also warned about leaving things at breakfast unattended, not acceptable. Barcelona needs to clean up its pickpocket and street theft problems or lose its tourism, the issue is rampant in the city.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Hotel has major security issues. In my recent trip there, the bag of my wife, carrying passport, mobile phone and other valuables , of total value of more than 1,000 Euros was stolen from the breakfast room. It was a shock for us and after that I remembered that in my last stay in the same Hotel, another customer complained of a loss of a bag. It is clear that the management of this Hotel, despite there are many cases of theft ( I saw other comments from other customers) they do not take any action to secure the place. Anybody can enter the Hotel without any control , steal and go away. It is clear for me that it is targeted by thieves who know that there is no security there.
Another point is that there is no manager in the place, only 2-3 young people in the reception and really didn't care at all about our issue. I will proceed through my lawyer for a compensation. I hope that Trip advisor can raise this issue so as to protect other innocent people. All my data are available to whoever wants them.

Room Tip: For your own security , avoid this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No tea and coffee in the room. Fused the electrics when I plugged in a borrowed kettle.
Floor stained and mould on the bath. Water when showering ranged from scalding to freezing. Room comfortable but too warm. Help-yourself breakfast - which is good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed a couple of times in this hotel for business trips. So I thought it a good idea to stay there during a short private trip in sept. 2014.

It turned out not so good an idea this time. Instead of the more or less expected upgrade mentioned in the confirmation e-mail, we got a sort of a downgrade. We were put in room 420. Chair: damaged cloth, outside view: into a dark alley about 6 feet wide looking straight up to a wall of the next building, airco blowing right in your face during the night, wall-outlet hanging out of the wall with wiring unprotected, lamp missing, no make-up / shaving mirror in the bathroom, bathroom very cramped.

I had better experiences in other rooms I stayed before. They are relatively nice if you have a normal view to the outside.

If you book this hotel: stay away from room 420 and probably other x20 rooms on other floors as well.

Not recommended unless you persist to see the room first before you stay. Personally, I will not come again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I visited this Hotel, which was an organised Gandia Coach trip for 5 days, and this was to be our base. The location of the Hotel was wonderful, I couldn't fault it so close to Gaudi's architecture, which we stumbled on without realising it. The Passeige de Gracia was just around the corner. The drinks were rather over priced, but we expected that. The lounge wasn't very spectacular, and the seating area rather small. The dining area wasn't that good either. The food which we had booked was breakfast and evening meal. Not to my taste at all, infact not very good. My bedroom, which I think had been newly refurbished was wonderful and so was the en suit bathroom. I couldn't fault it...........but and this is a big but, no view at all from my room. I could almost touch the opposite side wall of the building it was that close. That was the view from my window!

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you don't face a building or wall looking out of your bedroom window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The Location of the hotel is ideal, very close (around 400m) to Plaça de Catalunya, Las Ramblas and mainly all the metro stations are around.
The room was nice and clean and the staff quite helpful. The breakfast is the typical European breakfast.
The only problem with the room was that the window was facing the wall of the opposite building, and it was so close that couldn't be distinguished if outside was day or night. For that reason we have asked to change the room to face the front road. The hotel did change our room the next day, but the new room was the first floor at the back of the hotel, and in this case the window had bars. So be sure to ask for a room facing at the front road otherwise you will feel like a prisoner

Room Tip: Room Facing the front road of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Cristal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Cristal Palace

Address: Diputacio 257, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Cristal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Cristal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Cristal Palace Barcelona, Catalonia
Eurostars Cristal Palace Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Cristal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.