We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the bad and the good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Tiberias, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the bad and the good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We where at the hotel between the 2 and the 6 of February 2014
the location is Fantastic - I requested a room on the hier floors to avoid noise from the Gran Via traffic but was denied on basis of maintenace works at the 3 hier levels so being a travel agent they suggest we take one of the 4 rooms of the Beatles Suite that was very comfortable
Unfortunatly water left in the bathroom almost cause me to spend a day or more in hospital as I slipped on it.
on the second day we tried to have a rest at 1800 when we came back very tierd but could not as they where drilling and hammering with gusto on the rest of the Beatlels suite and after taking this for an hour I complained with the workers in spanichs that fortunatly I do speack they agreed to stop as soon as possible
this went for another 20 minutes...
The breakfast is complitly void of vegetables and when we asked for a cucumber and a tomato they requested 9 euro...
The attitude of most of the workers is really unplesant and only 2 or 3 workers tried to be polite the others not only do not make the effort they acctually snob you or show they anger toward you.
I do not ask to be papmpered but what I expect as a guest is a normal behaviour between people.
I studied Sociology and Tourism at University and one thing I saw very strong in this hotel is the third fase of tourism.
Fase one Tourist are very welcome(the good earning they provide)Fase two apaty prevail in the Tourist work force as they slowly move toward hate of the tourist that is the third fase
Now it is up to an hotel Manager to recognize this in his workers and I strongly reccomand the owners and managment of the Avenida Palace to bring in young eager force work that understand the value of the tourist for the Hotel and for the economy of Barcelona.
An additional little tip: send workers from the Managment to the Marylebone hotel in London to see how clients are treated there from all the staff and eventually they will aquire the tools needed to make an healty changhe in the Avenida Palace.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    344
    124
    44
    38
See reviews for
156
363
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having travelled here for a parent's landmark birthday; a touch of luxury was what we had in mind, the Hotel Avenida Palace did not disappoint. Incredibly clean rooms, excellently polite and courteous staff made the experience most enjoyable; especially as it was it was our first time in Barcelona they were most helpful in recommending places to see and eat. The multiple descriptions of "modern" rooms, in my opinion, are a little bold, but there was nothing to be faulted with them. The food was also impeccable, again with fantastic staff. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel has spacious modern rooms and traditional public area like the lobby, entrance.Located next to Catalunya square , La ramblas and the old city.also next to the subway and good restaurants and cafes near by.Reasonable rate for a four stars hotel.Enjoyable stay for few days in Barcelona and prime location.

Room Tip: rooms not facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Avenida Palace is a hotel that you'd like to choose when traveling there and would like to catch all the main attraction of the city centre. Closely located and walking distance to Placa Catalunya, where all the attractions of Barcelona are located; restaurants. shopping, landmark park, tourists buses stops, airport bus stop, and of course the night life. Staffs are friendly, helpful and informative. Rooms are spacious and well maintained although the the hotel is a classic building. A must recommended hotel for those looking for convenience and access in Barcelona centre.

Room Tip: room facing the street and catalunya place is o good choice if you want to see Barcelona at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a recent trip to Barcelona, and have nothing buy praise for the hotel. If you are looking for a modern, minimalist hotel - this is not it. If you are looking for ultra-luxurious - this is not it. However, if you are looking for an ideally situated hotel, with friendly staff, quite lavish public spaces, and more than adequate rooms and bathrooms, all at a very fair price, I would recommend the Hotel Avenida Palace for your consideration. I am sure I will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Decent old-fashioned 4 –star hotel right in center of Barcelona only a few minutes’ walk from the Aerobus (airport bus) station and also near La Ramblas. Good lobby that shows hotel had its days and while rooms are somewhat dated they are clean and comfortable, and of good size at its price. I stayed here one night pre-cruise and consider it a good choice for my purposes (and will return in similar transits).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Prime location at Barcelona city centre, shop, monuments, food, night life, underground.
4* hotel and rooms (carpet can need an update as soon as possible); excellent sleep mattress and pillows; excellent breakfast for a 4* hotel; amazing employees at the breakfast dining room - when asked by gluten free food, resolved the situation very effectively. Best value for money although the hotel has some years.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less external A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.