We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avendia Palace, A Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida Palace to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Avendia Palace, A Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and i spent 4 days in the Hotel avendia Place Grand Via Barcelona in Febuary 2012. This Hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in Barcelona, normally we would go to a hotel off Los Ramblas , But decided to try the Avendia, are we delighted we did, This Hotel has it all, You go back in time when you Check in, Checked in about 5 minutes flat, Porter got the bags showed us into our room, explained all about the tv the safe and other things we should know about the room , then out the door like a shot ,NOT waiting for his tip like a lot of porters do, AN Eye Opener, The room was on the 4th Floor overlooking the main Street ,We thought we were in New York ,The Bed was Big and very Comfortable, Rang down for more Pillows, Service was very Quick, two drawbacks about this hotel. ( 1 ) No tea or Coffee Maker in the room ,not unuasual in spain, we do like a coffee first thing in the morning, ( 2 ) The price of a drink in the bar was way out of my League .€10 for a Whiskey, but there is a nice Bar 2 doors down the street and Drinks were Half the price, Puting aside the two Drawbacks this hotel was one of the best Hotels we stayed in,

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    367
    136
    46
    39
See reviews for
181
388
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chepstow wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I booked this hotel as a package with flights (BA Club Europe) through the AAgetaways website, the hotel therefore chose me, as opposed to the other way around, however this was not an issue as the Avenida immediately gives the impression of a good hotel. The arrangments were all in order and we arrived at 1830 on the 11th we were shown to our room (6th floor) which was very comfortable,twin beds good bathroom size and a safe worked by the 4 digit code, typical across hotels nowadays, the only downside is the vibration that the hotel suffers when a Metro train passes along the line which must be directly under the building, they do stop about midnight but on a Saturday night provide an all night service.

The buffet breakfast was typical of any European hotel that I have stayed in, a good selection of pastries, cereals, and juices, followed by bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs, one guest asked for a fried egg, and this was done in minutes. Tea and coffee are brought to the table as required, though the tea is particuarly weak (for my tastes) All of the staff that we met were pleasant and polite and were happy to answer any queries.

When you first leave the hotel doors and venture outside, the location becomes a sure fire winner, to the right is La Rambla, and to the left is Passeig De Gracia, a lot of the sights are off either of these two roads. The Metro provides a good service on various lines around the city, and the price is good, 2 Euros for a single trip, if you buy 10 single trip tickets this comes down to under 1 Euro, various Rovers are available as well.

Taxi's are also relatively cheap, and if there are more than 3 of you then a taxi would probably be cheaper than the Metro.

The works of Gaudi are a big influence on Barcelona, from the Sagrada Familia to La Pedrera and many other buildings besides. The Sagrada Familia is probably the best known of them all and well worth a visit, it will "blow you away" my wife and I intend to return when the building work is completed (2026) 100 years after Gaudi's death.

We ate an evening meal at the Avenida, and found it to be both reasonably priced and good quality, the hotel seemed very quiet during our stay, which did surpirise me a bit.

Travel to and from the airport is easy and a shuttle bus run every 6 minutes from 0500-0100 from either T1 or T2 and finishes/starts at Placa de Catalunya, just one block from the Avenida, my wife and I travelled on the train from the airport to the centre and were subjected to a failed pick-pocket attempt when we left the station for street level (not nice!), needless to say our journey back to the airport was on the shuttle bus !

All the guide books warn about pick-pockets and they seem to be correct, however this did not spoil our stay in Barcelona and has not put us off returning in 2027 when we will celebrate our 50th anniversary !

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed at Avenida six days in February 2012. The location is superb. Subway stop just around the corner and a couple of blocks walk to the major station at Catalunya and Rambla. First room was adequate but noisy at it was adjacent to the service elevator (avoid room 850) but after a change a somewhat bigger and better room was better. Room rate seemed reasonable for the location but Internet at 22 euro/day is a blatant ripoff (though you can get 30 minute vouchers for lobby use.) Decor is elegant, desk staff is helpful. Overall a good choice in central Barcelona, especially if you don't need internet. Obamabar next door has good selection of beers and BHO himself in residence for a discussion.

Room Tip: Avoid 850 and others ending in 50.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Fantastic location. Next to a train station for getting round the city and train to the airport.

Clean. Bit pricey, but it's the centre of Barcelona so to be expected.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The position of this hotel could not be better-very central. Smart, clean, tidy. If there is one negative it is that the metro runs under the hotel and could disturb light sleepers. But I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend city break. Great location within walking distance to La Rambla and metro station. The hotel was clean, fab art decor and friendly staff. Got a good deal on the hotel price with bookings.com Would stay again if we visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Avenida Palace after returning from a cruise. The hotel is in a great location and for the most part was comfortable. The breakfast was very good - the waiters very accomodating. We ate dinner in the hotel one evening and the food was excellent. It is a bit strange for dinner however. They close the main dining room and set tables just outside it. There were 3 tables set - 2 were occupied. The waiters go in and out of the closed dining room to access the kitchen. It's kind of like eating on someone's front porch.
Our real complaints did not begin until we were leaving the hotel. While the people at reception were never particularly friendly - or helpful - we didn't need them until we were leaving. As we exited the hotel to get into the taxi for the airport my mother's shoe became wedged under the revolving door. She was pushed to the ground in front of the hotel. There is no automatic stop on the door and at 94 she certainly couldn't stop it. She had a bad cut over her eye and was very bruised. The hotel staff seemed more interested in cleaning up the blood on their doorstep then in helping clean up their guest. One young lady - I'm sorry I did not get her name - did get us a chair and a towel but she was the only helpful one. So far their only comment has been that they are not responsible for the misuse of their facilities. I still can't figure out how walking through a revolving door is misuse???
I own my own travel business. I didn't make them aware of that while I was there - didn't see the need. I will not, however, book my clients there!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#169 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.