We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Ramblas Barcelona to your Saves list
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #69 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. On the Ramblas, in the city centre. Carrefour (supermarket) is right across the street. There is shopping in every direction and restaurants everywhere. Hop on, hop off buses just a 5-10 min. walk. Hotel room was spacious and clean. Also, washer and dryer facilities in the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the room with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    166
    53
    18
    8
See reviews for
88
177
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It is a perfect hotel for people looking for a fantastic location without having to shell out too much cash. It is perfectly located on Ramblas, which is the heart of the city, close to Plaza Catalunya and the port. Carrefour is across the road and the bylanes near the hotel are shopping paradise. The fruit market nearby can't be missed.
They have a fully operational kitchen with utensils which make life very simple. With easy access to supermarkets, eating a breakfast of your choice is the easiest things.
The frontdesk staff is very helpful and can speak good English (Other's can't). Only small drawback is that they clean the room only once a week or they charge, which i think is the only downside..
In a nutshell, it is value for money..

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony facing main street. It might be slighltly noisy, but it buzzing with pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed in The Citadines Ramblas in Barcelona in July for about a week. I had a studio for one person with a double bed and a small ''kitchen'' . The room was spacious enough for my needs. I found it bigger than what I'm accustomed too when traveling in Europe. The small fridge was a great bonus as it permitted me to keep food and beverages even with the heat outside. It was also a nice thing to be able to have a few meals in my rooms as well from time to time. I can't comment on breakfast as I didn't take the option. As far as the decoration goes, I didnt pay much attention as I'm looking for convenience and location since i never spend a lot of time in hotel rooms while i'm traveling. It was clean, comfortable and the decent size bathroom work perfectly with plenty of pressure and hot water.

As far as Location is concern, it is right on the Rambla, within a short distance walking from the Gothic quarter with several restaurants, bars and shops close by. There is a Carrefour supermarket just across the street and the Boquerai market about a 2 minutes walk away. The barceloneta area with the beach is about 10-15 minutes away.

The staff was friendly and helpful when I asked for help although i didnt asked them for any suggestions for restaurants and shops...The gentleman who help me check-in was kind enough to provide a double bed room and also a room on the back of the hotel which is much quieter than the street side. Light sleeper should keep that in mind...

All and all a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back of the hotel (not the street side) if you want more peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIngapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Location is absolutely fantastic- rooms however are old and warn and in need of an uplift. We were shown one room that we requested for a change right away because there was a very strong chemical smell from the room. Thank goodness they had one spare room and we took it despite the fact that it has a twin bed and torn curtains. Bathroom comes with a bidet and provisions are simple. Understand that the place is undergoing renovations- and should be much better after that,

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms, otherwise wish for luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of the Ramblas, but set back a touch and good glazing, so noise was not a problem. Rooms were very spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms are a good size. The rooms had been refurbished since our first visit a few years ago and are very pleasnat. Good value-for-money. We would stay there again if we return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Presents well coming off the street with its marble and glass. We stayed at two different times prior to a cruise and on return, each time we had a different room. The first was a room on the second floor at back of building with a large window which could be opened and over looking a quiet piazza with Roman ruins. The second visit was rather disappointing on the first floor with a huge walled window that could not be opened, with no view but allowing light in. The beds are rock hard and only a flat pillow for comfort. On asking we were able to obtain a second pillow each. A kitchenette appears to be standard with Citadines which is a plus, but we didn't use for cooking. Regardless of first impressions at reception, the rooms are in urgent need of modernising. The carpets shabby and stained and tiles sticky. The bathrooms could be cleaner and with the shower in the bath you are not tempted to have a bath. The staff are helpful and the location is just too easy.

Room Tip: second floor back of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Althought the property is under renovation be careful you do not get dumped into a old shabby unit as we did recently. The unit was very shabby, filthy carpet, old soiled divan and bed, the total unit looked and felt dirty. When we complained to reception that the unit was not to our standard the reply was "it was what you booked". The web site does not mention anyting about old shabby rooms or that the property is under renovation nor does it mention is star rating. It is a 3 star property. Additionally laptops and iPads do not fit into the the security safes.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a recently renovated unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Ramblas Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Ramblas Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 122, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadines Ramblas Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the city, this property is ideal to enjoy one of the best areas for shopping and leisure and to access easily any point in and around Barcelona.Citadines offers apartments (1-4 pax) or studios (1-2 pax) in a comfortable and functional environment, equipped with sofa beds or traditional bedding, full kitchen and its appliances, bathroom, TV and free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Ramblas Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Barcelona Ramblas Hotel Barcelona
Citadines Hotel Barcelona
Aparthotel Citadines Ramblas
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Ramblas Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.