We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Alberta Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Mercure Alberta Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Alberta Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augusta N 127, 8006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alberta Barcelona)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The ubication .. well, it's a little far from the city center, but it's ok!
If you check the availability with enough time, you can get really good prices for a well located hotel in Barcelona.
Everything was very good, the service and the help of the staff!
Thank you very much guys!
see you soon!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your opinion.
We always try to have the best rates for each moment, so you are right, if you check in advance, you can have a good price.
Our staff is always trying to do the best for our guests, so it is nice you felt good during your stay with us.
Hope to see you soon at Hotel Alberta.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    62
    54
    21
    8
See reviews for
42
63
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend from 1 March to 4 March 2013. The hotel is basic but nice, the rooms were well kept and clean. We asked for a double bed and felt we got a super king-size one. As previous comments have stated, it is situated in a nice location, the busy road was not an issue for us and was not noticeable or an inconvenienced. The breakfast was good as was the in-room Wi-Fi. The only issue we seemed to have was with the unfriendly reception staff… with the exception of a young gentleman who worked evening. He was friendly and extreamly helpful unlike his co-works in the day. But with this in mind if I was to visit Barcelona again, then I would defiantly consider staying at this hotel again… as the minor point of unwelcoming staff outweigh what the good points are. Ideal hotel for a long weekend in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed or a none front side room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all I want to thanks for you opinion of Hotel Alberta.
It is a pleasure for us that you stay in our hotel. We always try to do our best for our guests, so I apologise you if any person of our staff was not helpful and unfriendly with you, we will try to solve this problem right now.
I hope we can lodge you again in our hotel and show you the new Alberta hotel, as we are now redecorating all.
Thanks for all.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great hotel. Very basic with some furniture a little bit worn, and they don't provide a kettle. But very clean, very cheap and they give free WiFi in the rooms. The hotel is situated in a very good location, right beside the train station with only 3 stops to the city. Only major con that might be for some people, is that it is situated beside a very busy road, which can be quite noisy. But I had ear plugs and didn't hear a thing, and my partner slept with no earplugs and it never disturbed him and he is generally a light sleeper. So just beware if you're a very light sleeper, bring some ear plugs and you'll be fine! Our room was made up every day with fresh towels, bins emptied etc.. We visited Barcelona in February, so was quite cold but they had heating in the room which was brilliant. We had a balcony which was nice (if you smoke, which I do). Staff were helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your opinion of Hotel Alberta.
We always try to do our best for our guests, so it is a pleasure you stayed well with us.
We are redecorating all the hotel, so I wish you can visit us again in a future and we will show you the new Hotel Alberta.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We are back from a four day trip to Barcelona. Very nice, renewed hotel in a good place to discover the city. A few minutes away is a little square with bus and underground train station. There are some small but ok restaurants for evening meal too.
Hotel is staying by a noisy road but that isn't very disturbing. Rooms are simple, well furnished and clean, we asked for a room with balcony and we got one (we are smokers). Breakfasts are very good, a lot of different food, very good juice and coffe.
All the staff is kind and efficient. We asked about the weather one day and we have got a day report in a minute. Nice and easy:))
I recomend this hotel for your visit of Barcelona!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for your opinion about your stay with us.
We always try to do our best for our guests and it is a pleasure when we reach it.
Hope to see you again with us when you return to Barcelona anytime.
We will show you the new hotel Alberta finished.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İSTANBUL
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel is over the subway line. So you can awake in the morning because of train passes. It was not good. And we were couple and they give a room which has two single bed.I think
It is a common problem for European hotels. Hotel was clean and near to train station.Just 2-3 train stop to La Rambla.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for your opinion about your stay, but in March 2012, the hotel was operated by NH Hotels.
Now we are a Mercure hotel, so hope you can visit us during your next trip to Barcelona and see how we have changed.

We will welcome you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We travelled to Barcelona in May, this hotel is clean and basic but good for the price. The staff was helpful. It is a good neighbourhood. There are some charming cafes and restraunts very close to the hotel. The metro is a 5 mins walk and a direct bus to the center of tourist attractions. Our stay was comfortable!

Neha, Mumbai, India

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for your opinion.
It is a pleasure you have a good stay with us. We always try to do the best for our guests.
With your opinions we can check what is good and what is wrong and that is very helpfull for us.
Hope to see you again in a future in our hotel.

Yours sincerelly.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'd like to start off by the hotel greeting. The front desk was not quite helpful when checking in. As the customer, I'd expect the hotel to ask if it is the first time visiting the city. This is more of welcoming the guests. I felt as the customer the information had to be forced out of the staff. Such as may have a copy of the map, is wifi available, what time is breakfast offered, do you offer shuttle services to the airport. These are really basic questions that should be answered when checking in. Aside for the poor hospitality.
The room was decent. Big for two single beds in comparison to other hotels in Europe, big washroom, had a safety deposit box, offered more channels in English. Breakfast was included in our stay. This was a plus and offered a wide selection. Close to the metro and price was reasonable.
Another downside was the wifi service, although they offer it. They issued codes for 30 mins and stated it was hotel lobby only but did in fact work in the rooms. Which did not make sense and should just offer the service for the entire stay. The hotel has potential but still needs to improve.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan P, Director General at Mercure Alberta Barcelona, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks for your opinion about your stay with us.
This helps us to improve for a better customer service every day.
Hope to be our guest again in a future to show you our improvements.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Alberta Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alberta Barcelona

Address: Via Augusta N 127, 8006 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Alberta Barcelona)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Alberta Barcelona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mercure Alberta Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Condor Hotel Barcelona
Nh Condor Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
Mercure Alberta Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Alberta Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.