We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but don't stay on the 1st floor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barcelona Podium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Barcelona Podium to your Saves list
NH Barcelona Podium
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bailen, 4-6, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Podium) (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #138 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but don't stay on the 1st floor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was in room 117 on the 1st floor.
I got the feeling the rooms were nice but I could not get WiFi in mine and I barely slept because of the noise outside and inside. I could literally follow the conversations outside and the road noise was terrible.
Other than that there was nice food and very friendly staff (unfortunately they did use the typical excuse 'we can't give you a different room because we are full')
Would I say there again? Maybe if there is a special deal and I am promised a room on the top floor.
Location is ok. Taxi from hotel is about 35€ and metro/subway is in walking distance

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    290
    60
    16
    4
See reviews for
84
210
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Currituck, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful
Room was large, clean and have been updated
Elevators are old, and need update. Breakfast was only so so.
Lots of cafes and restaurants close by. Taxi stand out front,
€ 30 to airport for the two of us. The Podium has a great location.
We would come back

Room Tip: We had a front room with a small balcony overlooking A side street and front of hotel Nice very Nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHANNEL iSLANDS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights end of August prior to a cruise. Have stayed in Barcelona before but in La Ramblas area. The NH Podium is about a 10 minute walk from La Ramblas, its an easy walk and could be done in less if really necessary. The hotel itself is well presented. Very good rooms, large, spacious, clean with all the facilities that are required. The reception staff were polite and helpful. There is a roof top pool and bar. This is a lovely area to use and has plenty of chairs etc. The bar is open quite late and popular with guests. The only negative comment I have to make about this hotel is that the bar staff lacked humour and didn't exactly go out of their way to serve drinks. However, this would not put me off staying here again should I be in Barcelona and I believe that for this city it would be hard to find a better 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangier, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The restaurant and bar area served great food. Rooms were nice modern decor...the kids loved the rooftop pool, even though it was on the small side.Overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked here for 8 nights through expedia.
The deciding factor of this hotel was the rooftop pool area.

We checked in and were given a smoking suite which was on the top floor.
Entering the room we were presented with long dark corridor with a huge bathroom on one side and bedroom at the end. The bedroom was smaller than the bathroom. Being a smoking room one would have thought there was a decent sized window. Not really, the small window let a tiny bit of light and fresh air in. We slept the night there.

The next morning I complained to front desk saying that I was not happy, they said because we chose a smoking room that's why.

They showed us a non smoking room which was much better, with a Juliet balcony with double doors.

Before booking i saw lots of complaints about the air conditioning, Thinking that these people were perhaps from colder climates like England etc I ignored these complaints. The Air conditioning is pretty bad and lacks air flow. Basically if you have a shower the whole room turns into a hot box. The rooms do need even a ceiling fan at least.

The rooftop pool area is nice but unless you get there first thing in the morning and guard your deck lounge you wont get a spot. It's filled with families and the area isn't the cleanest.

Transport is great, taxis are directly outside the hotel and most cab fares are $6 euro to most popular areas.

Room Tip: Nothing on level 5 unless you want to smoke in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

the hotel was located near la rambla, about a 10 min walk.. the hotel was very clean, staff were very helpful and spoke English. breakfast was very good with a great selection. there is a terrace and pool on the roof and this was a good place to relax in the evenings. overall i can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Our party had an additional 9 rooms. It was a great location and they had a very helpful staff. The breakfast is the best I have eaten anywhere,,,period. Wish we could have stayed longer. Make sure you visit the pool on the roof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Barcelona Podium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Podium

Address: Bailen, 4-6, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Podium)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#89 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Barcelona Podium 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked right into the heart of Barcelona's bustling Eixample neighborhood, there's no better home base for exploring one of Europe's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Barcelona Podium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Podium Barcelona
Nh Podium Hotel Barcelona
NH Barcelona Podium Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barcelona Podium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.