We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Clean place. Extremely helpful reception!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites to your Saves list
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 454, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great location. Clean place. Extremely helpful reception!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Conveniently located - just minutes walk from the Aerobus stations to and from the airport + the Rocafort station is literally just a minute's walk away. That was so important bec it was raining heavily a couple of days and we could get to the station easily without any fuss. Also, there's a fantastic bakery next door with fab croissants , so we started most of our days there with good sandwiches, pastries and coffee.

What impressed us was the staff who gave good advice and directions, and most of all, bec our flight wasn't till evening, they were nice enough to give us a late check out at 4.30pm! Unheard of for us even in 5 or 6 star hotels. That, we truly appreciated! Also received a bottle of wine and greetings on my birthday... Nice gesture!

The only pain point is probably the lift - which was gorgeous in its own way- rustic, antique but small. And it beeps and gets stuck a lot when the doors are not manually closed properly. Didn't really bother me, until I had to claim the 6 storeys up to our apt after a long tiring day walking around Barcelona.

Overall, great boutique apt, and highly recommended based on value and location!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, we loved see that you really enjoyed the apartment and your visit in Barcelona.

Thank you also for the good description of the area and for mentioned the great job of our staff.

Do not hesitate to come back in the future!

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    178
    30
    5
    2
See reviews for
358
154
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights recently and thought the apartment was great value for money. The beds were comfortable, living area spacious and kitchen fine. We thought the location was great, only a few doors to the metro and within walking distance of Las ramblas should you wish to tempt fate with pickpockets.

L'eixample is a great area with some top Barcelona restaurants within walking distance of the apartments. If we returned we'd definitely stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you loved the apartment and the Eixample area!

It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcoming you back as soon as possible!

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in Apartment 82, a 3 bed apt, with our two young boys, a week ago and on the whole felt a bit let down.
The good:
The reception staff - (available from 9am to 6pm daily) are very friendly and helpful, more so than some hotels we've experienced lately
The location - close to some great restaurants (Tickets - book 3 months in advance online; Bar Lolita, 3 blocks away & La Bella Napoli, a bit further away but so worth it if you're desperate for authentic Italian after a bit too much tapas!), a choice of 3-4 supermarkets and on top of Rocafort metro station (do take heed of the pickpocket warnings)
Spaciousness & equipment - the living area was comfortable for the 4 of us, the kitchen well appointed in terms of fridge, cooking appliances and equipment etc, and the washing machine very much appreciated
The bad:
Cleanliness - even though we stumped up an extra 45 euro for an extra clean during our stay, the floor remained very dirty and sticky, to the point we all had to clean our feet every time we got into bed. We ritually take our shoes off living inside, and consider ourselves fairly clean people, this was unacceptable. The living room sofa and chair (3 seats for 4+ people) & floor rug were stained and tired, not very nice. The second toilet often had a strong, pungent sewerage smell which meant we could not use it and had to close the door, so much for paying a premium for 2 bathrooms
Noise - Barely slept the whole week. Despite being on the 8th floor, the noise that manages to come into the apartment from fellow guests either letting their apartment doors slam, or talking loudly in the stairwell in middle of the night (this seems to be very popular with groups of young people coming in for a night or 2 to enjoy the Barcelona night life). But worst of all the noise from the charming 18th century lift was unbearable (it clunks up and down and emits a high, piercing alarm sounds after about 5-10 secs of the lift door being opened to alert the user to close the door, which of course some gracious guests fail to do... This seriously goes off ALL night long.
(and incidentally often led to the lift going out of order, which is not so fun when staying on the 8th floor!
Noise Part 2 - The aircon in the main bedroom had a major problem and sounded like a 747 taking off. To be fair the maintenance guy tried to fix it, but couldn't. It was so awful we tried sleeping with the aircon off but didn't sleep those nights because it was too hot.

I could complain about the view or lack thereof (we looked over dozens of peoples apartments at the back of the property, not very glamorous for the most expensive apartment of the complex), the tiny main bathroom where the hand towels rested against the toilet cistern (bear in mind we were paying well over 400 euro a night for a week long stay), the worn out, not-so nice smelling bath towels, but that would be picky.

For me, accommodation must, at its very base, provide a great nights sleep and cleanliness and Erik Vokel Gran Via did not achieve this. The best location and convenience of well appointed kitchens can not make up for being tired and uncomfortable when trying to enjoy a week on holidays with your family in a foreign city.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on the Gran Via side, apparently there are balconies and terraces & take e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Family,

First of all we want to thank you for taken your time and put one review on our apartments.

We are so sorry to hear that you had several problems during your stay, we apologize the inconveniences you could had.

Regarding the air con, as we had a very hot summer this year the air cons were working non-stop during more than 3 months which caused several problems. Our technicians came every two weeks in order to avoid this kind of problem but of course we never know when a technical problem can come.

We apologize if the cleaning was not so good as we usually do, we always revise all our apartments before let our guests enter in it. We took note of your review in order to improve our services.

We are so sorry if you couldn't sleep well because of the noise, even if the reception is closed there is always the emergency phone contact to reach us 24h to complain about the noise who are making some other guests (mentioned on our information letter that from 21h00 every body have to moderate the noise level). Regarding the lift sound we understand your complain and we are working on it, for that reason in every floor there is a soundproof door before the door of the apartment.

We want to thank you for mentioned the good job of our staff as our good location.

We hope to see you back in the future in order to show you that we are trying to improve every day thank you to the review of our guest who are the most important for us.

Kindest Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose the Eric Vokel Gran Via Suites based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed. I love to cook and though I do not cook every day when I am on a trip, I wanted to be able to make some meals for us. The layout of our one-bedroom apartment, No. 24, was wonderful. The bed was firm, comfortable, and the closet space was huge. The kitchen was well equipped, but they do need a spatula for sauteing food. Having a washing machine available was key to our keeping to carry-on only for this one week trip. I also really liked the fact that we could get English language television! Another great feature was having the internet ready computer in the front hall. I don't like taking my laptop on trips, so this was helpful with flight check-in, etc. The apartment was very clean, staff were wonderful, especially Irene Quero, and I strongly recommend this apartment hotel.

Room Tip: no tips necessary. The design did include very good soundproofing. There is a grade school within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

What a great review you put on our apartment, we loved read it! Thank you so much!

The great description of our services and appliances are very helpful for some next travellers.

Thank you also for mentioned the great job of our staff (Irina).

Do not hesitate to come back again.

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Eric Vokel Gran Via Suites on our honeymoon and we enjoyed every moment in it! The suite is very clean and spacious with a very chic design, it has 2 bedrooms and we stayed in the one facing the street with lots of sunlight, which we love very much (the other bedroom is also very nice and clean - highly recommended for 2 couples sharing the suite). It is just a minute away from the closest metro station (Rocafort station) and a 5-min walk from another larger metro station that serves more metro lines - so very good location. Lots of nice restaurant / cafes nearby so we didn't have to worry about our breakfast. The staff are helpful and friendly, and it was also very nice of the host to send us a bottle of sparking wine when they knew we were on honeymoon! I would definitely recommend my friends to stay with this hotel if they are to visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear guest,

Once again we want to give you our best congratulations!

Thank you for your review, we are so proud to hear that you had a great honeymoon trip staying in our apartments.

Kindest Regards from Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Suite format is great - plenty of space - washing machine and dryer for those who have been on the road a long time. Close to Tickets (worth a visit) and to the CMAC. Rooms facing the back are very quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you loved our apartment and location.

Do not hesitate to come back in the future.

Regards,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Being a group of 5 boys all we wanted really was a place to lay our heads and get to the sites and restaurants and bars. This hotel more than delivered. The rooms were super clean and extremely modern. The huge double beds and huge sofa bed were extremely comfy and the bathroom was also great. I have no complaints to make about this place.. The location is perfect being a 5 minute stroll from the nearest tourist bus stop and a 4 Euro taxi drive to La Ramblas. The room was big enough for 6 people and provided everything we needed including a washing machine, dish washer and all crockery. If I am ever in Barca again I WILL be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for a such review, we are so happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for the good and complete description about our apartments (appliances, location, ...).

It will be a great pleasure to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 454, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design.Light and confort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and confort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as posible. This building is located very close to the city center, Plaza Catalunya and Ramblas is the Eixample neighborhood. Furthermore, it is very easily communicated by public transportation from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.