We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible presentation of delicious food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tickets

Tickets
Avinguda Paral.lel 164, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 92 42 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 5,908 restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Un original concepto de tapeo en Barcelona, una forma divertida de comer y de entender la vida. ¿Vienes?
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible presentation of delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food, presentation, and service in quirky atmosphere. Olive signature dish cannot be described - must be experienced! Felt a little rushed at the end, apparently to turn oer the table. Go with four or more to have a greater variety of dishes and tastes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    554
    122
    46
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Imaginative Food, Odd and Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were looking forward to our dinner at Tickets for two months. Most of the food we had was very good to excellent with one exception but the service we had was very poor.

First the good part: Fried Pistachios, Peaches marinated in white wine, white rum, (a cocktail within the fruit slices) the famous El Bulli "olives" an explosion of olive essence, the cheese airbags (again an explosion of flavor) , the quail eggs with the amazing presentation, the manchego cheese with hazelnut caviar airbags, then the delicious foie gras with the tiny corn puff, a selection of a half dozen oysters done three ways (we preferred the natural and the red wine vinegar with the olive oil caviar to the ones with the ponzu sauce which masked the taste), the marinated fish with the shiitake mushrooms was delicious, then the sandwich with the pork and mozzarella with brioche was fabulous. The unsuccessful dish was the chicken with a BBQ sauce that really was not that great and which we didn't order anyway (more on that later), then two fabulous desserts with liquid chocolate enclosed in pastry and the second a cold cylinder of chocolate formed as a cigar and filled with hazelnut ice cream. The presentation was great.
Now you say, what could mar this wonderful dinner? Read on.

Now for the poor. We reserved early in the evening and from the time we arrived felt rushed through everything. Since we had studied the menu and pretty much knew what we wanted, we told the server we would choose our dishes but welcomed her guidance. At each stage, we consulted her about the dishes. Perhaps they prefer it if it if you let them decide what you eat. They suggested that at the beginning. It seems to be a part of their theater to bring out the dish and discuss the great things they've chosen for you.

We ordered four things from the first part of the menu. Despite the server saying they would bring them out one at a time, the peaches arrived just after the pistachios. We wanted to savor what we ate but they made it difficult. Each time the server brought out the last dish on that part of the menu, she said, this is the last tapa you've ordered, do you want to order more? Couldn't she wait for the one or two bites of the dish to ask us. We would have preferred that we be asked this after the dish was eaten so we didn't have to juggle the menu and try to enjoy the presentation and the dish at the same time. The dishes came fast and furiously. After the first round we asked her to slow down and she said of course but didn't really change that much.

After we asked about some of the dishes, she twice brought us the last dish we asked about instead of the one we had decided on. Perhaps there was a language problem. As a result we got the marinated fish which was fine since we were thinking about it anyway but the second time we ordered the bean, sausage and octopus casserole and got the chicken which we didn't want. We should have sent it back and I'm sure they would have been gracious about it. But we hardly felt like fighting the tide at that point. It was only an hour after we'd entered so you can imagine how fast this dishes were coming. We noticed other people who had come in at exactly the same time being served more slowly, so who knows what it was. Did they need to turn our table over to use for another group, did they not like the way we ordered? Who knows.

The final straw was when the waitress delivered the last main dish and she asked if we would like to have dessert outside at deserted tables in the front of the restaurant. Why we would want to contemplate dessert before we even finished our other dishes. Why would we want to change tables.? It wasn't even that warm last night.

We have dined at some great restaurants and are seasoned world travelers. We were polite and interested diners. I have never felt less welcome at any restaurant of this caliber before. The food was great and interesting but we ended the evening feeling like the whole experience was very marred.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We went here for lunch on a saturday. The food was delightful, everything tasted fantastic and, more importantly, surprising. Al dishes had an element of something different, a twist on the original or the expected. The whole concept of the restaurant with its interior, the open kitchen and the circus uniforms of the staff set a creative and fun backdrop for the meal. The staff is very friendly and professional, even enthusiastic, and give great guidance as the menu is not completely understandable or predictable (of course). Another thing that impressed us here was the timing, the food and drinks came without us ever waiting or asking for anything, the waiters were quick and observant and everything worked seamlessly. We had an amazing time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've eaten at Martin Berastaegui; Akelaire; Commerc24; Abac and other foodie places in Spain but the most innovative and delightful was Tickets (other than the pintxo places in San Sebastian). The restaurant has a happening circus like motif. The dishes were the essence of innovation; olives that were not olives but olive scent; etc. The staff was fun to order with and the vive was refreshing. This is the place to eat in Barcelona imo. Book a couple of months ahead of time although there were some people who lined up and got in. And, it was super reasonable compared to the other high end restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absoloutely lived up to expectations!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were really excited when we were able to get a booking to Tickets but in the back of my mind I didnt think it could live up to the hype and expectations. I was wrong. Every dish surprised us with amazing creativity and/or flavour. Service was snobby when we were waiting outside before the restaurant opened but once inside, the waitress was very nice and explained the whole menu and made recommendations.
Dessert was just as amazing as the mains. Perfect night and I couldnt believe how cheap it was for the quality! We had about a dozen tapas plates with a mojito (really good one at that) and a couple soft drinks for 120 euro. We thought it was a bargain.
It was also really interesting to watch a video of how the kitchen and service operated when el bulli was in operation. Some of the cooking methods were facinating!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tickets also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tickets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tickets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.