We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Diagonal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Diagonal to your Saves list
Casa Diagonal
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Av. Diagonal con Pau Claris, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Barcelona
1 review
“bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have searched for 4 hours in barcelona to find the hotel. The has an old officeadress on his website. And when we finally found the right adress we were standing before a closed door. We also did not have a telephonenumber. We almost had to kick in the frontdoor to alert another guest. Luckely he had a telephonenumber of the owner. He told us to pick up the key in a supermarked in the same street. We lost more than half a day off our three days staying in barcelona, solving all problems.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was with a group of 5 people and we arrived at this hostel later at night. We were told when we got there that the hostel had overbooked, and that we had to leave. They said that they would help us find another place to stay for the inconvenience. In the morning, the owner or manager of the hostel was no where to be found, and the only person there was a housekeeper who spoke poor english. Over an hour after trying to find another hostel (on short notice) by ourselves, the hostel owner came in and refused to give us our deposit back. We were willing to pay for a one night stay, but in reality we shouldn't have been charged anything for staying in the hostel because they clearly don't know how to schedule correctly. The owner was rude and was raising his voice at us, and we ended up being forced out with no where to stay and $200 poorer. Ridiculous experience and I would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were told that we would have the place to ourselves (hen party) to then find out that 2 strangers would be staying with us on one of the nights- it was too close to arrival date to cancel booking. Oh and it wasn't 2 strangers it was 3 people and for 2 nights not 1!!!
Also breakfast was simply bread and jams not hams and cheeses as described.
Shame as was a lovely place and well maintained

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at Casa Diagonal and was extremely disappointed to pay a lot of money for an extremely dark room with bunk beds and a tiny window. They described it as "private", I would discribe it as a joke.
The pictures do not match the description as there is no sofa on the living room, the kitchen was dirty and I couldn't access the communal computer as there was somebody "working". The wi fi wasn't strong enough to reach my "room" and it was extremely hot.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here three weeks ago and found its location to be awesome, the rooms really nice, free breakfast was pretty good as far as those things go, and everything was very clean. Oh yeah and had a computer you could use. Overall great place to stay and would stay there again and recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Casa Diagonal for three nights and it was even better than I had expected!
I got one of the two rooms with a private balcony. The guest-house feels more like a shared apartment with a good kitchen and a very nice terrass.
Even though my room was facing the street Avenida Diagonal, the room was quiet. You will find a fan in every room.

The bathrooms are really clean and spacious. But the best part of this guest-house is the roof terass. It is lovely to sit outside with a glas of wine after a busy day of sightseeing.

I will recommend both family and friends to stay here! Good value for your money!

Don´t forget to contact them before your arrival, there is no reception at the guest-house.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 or 2 (even though its both triple-rooms), they have balconies and are very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been to Barcelona before and this place was pretty comparable to the two other places I've stayed as far as ratings go. First of all this place is just a room. Breakfast is NOT included and cannot call itself a B & B. . . and the photos you see are of JUST the rooms you get if you are lucky- meaning rooms with windows to the street or the back patio. . .so ask for one of those when you reserve. Unfortunately, our first impressions left a really bad taste in our mouths. When we arrived in Barcelona from a very long flight, replete with delays from the sates, there were wires and dust everywhere. I thought we were in the wrong place but it was just that they were working on the electricity, which is fine, but that meant there was no light so we couldn't see our room since there was no natural light and that we couldn't taked showers. Also, I called the Casa (as per request) from the airport and when we got there there was no one there to check us in/show us our room/ give us our keys. I guess it was a good thing they were fixing the electricity or else we would have been locked out.
Wifi is sketchy at best unless you are in the main sitting room.
The location is walking distance to Sagrada and very close to the Pas. de Gracia metro line that takes you to the airport so you can save a few Euro rather than taking the airbus.
It is also close to many restaurants and is central enough to be close to everything and far enough away so that you are not in the middle of a tourist's nightmare.
I suppose if I had a long stay the kitchen would have come in handy and the people I did talk to that worked there were very nice -- but if I visit Barcelona for a third time I would most likely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the windows to the street or the back patio so you have some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Diagonal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Diagonal

Address: Av. Diagonal con Pau Claris, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Diagonal 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic apartment with 5 large and comfortable bedrooms, in a great location. Located in the Eixample district only 3 minutes walk from Diagonal Metro Station and 9 minutes walk from the train to the airport. Ideally located near the most famous Gaudi buildings such as La Pedrera and Casa Batllo and only a short walk from the Sagrada Familia. At an easy walking distance from Gracia, a lively and colorful neighborhood known for its charming streets, attractive small squares and great local bars, cafés and restaurants. Plaza Catalunya and Ramblas are also nearby, walking along the emblematic Paseo de Gracia Avenue. Services:Daily cleaning service. Ample and fully-equipped kitchen.3 full bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Diagonal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Diagonal Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Diagonal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.