We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to stay for 1-3 days.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Isla Hostal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Isla Hostal to your Saves list
La Isla Hostal
Ronda Sant Pere 53 Entresol 1, Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 303 Barcelona B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice place to stay for 1-3 days.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Staff is very friendly, they clean the room every day, bed is big and comfortable, everything is very cozy, bathroom is big and good, small kitchen if you can call it so – microwave, coffee, tea, refrigerator, center of the city – everything is in a walking distance, metro in 1 min walk.

There’s so little space in a room – it’s like a bathroom in my flat))), you hear noise and vibration of the underground, so-so stuffy – no air at all, very hot – even in the end of September (so you need to open windows – and it’s not helping – window opens into the smallest courtyard – and it doesn’t feel save), really hard to sleep. I tried bathroom twice – in 5 min there was no hot water…
I wouldn’t stay there any other time ONLY because of the stuffiness – for me it’s critical. Everything else – is really good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your review.
We have bigger rooms and also with street views, unfortunately for this time you couldn't try it this time. Be sure that next time you visit our city, you can ask us so we'll assign you one of them. For the hot water, a hint: the shower beside your room has the hot water to the right and the cold to the left (old buildings! :)).
We're very glad of all your appreciations and specially about our staff, thas our best value.
Thanks again and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
39
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had stayed here on a weekend trip to Barcelona from Liverpool. After a tiring early morning flight I reached Girona and took the Barcelona Bus to reach Estacio D'Nord. La Isla is just a short walk away, in short a convenient location for a short stay.
Pros- Great Location, a short walk away from major attractions,inexpensive, neatly arranged kitchen and clean toilets
Cons-Noisy rooms for solo travellers (noise sensitive travellers like me may have to travel all around Barcelona sleep deprived), no breakfast options

Room Tip: Couple room close to the shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your review. We'll keep working to improve all our services. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My expectations were met by this hostal. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are very basic and there is no air conditioning but if you're only looking for an inexpensive place to rest your head at night, this place would do. Only concern I had was with the flimsy door locks for security reasons but otherwise, I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Request an interior room as the street noise can be quite loud. There is no view from the hotel so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your review. We're glad your expectations were met and that you had a nice time at our establishment. Hope to host you if you ever come again to our City.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I understand that Barcelona is very famous city, so the price of everything is higher. But this place can not be called hostel. I assume there are some standards for hostel room, but not for Spain and definitely not for Barcelona. They sure did their best in cleaning rooms, but the closet you get can not be called room. Barcelona is really overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Manager at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We inform you that in order to open a Hostal in Spain, and in Barcelona, the establishment has to follow some rules and directions, about kind of furniture, room sizes, etc. If we are opened, is because we've follow the Government directions, so if you think the minimum size of the rooms in Spain and in Barcelona should be changed, you can contact with the local authorities and explain your opinion, and maybe don't critizise in this bad way an establishment.

We understand that if you made a booking at our establishment, is because the price was attractive to you, as well as the characteristics of the place and the room, whose pictures are widely shown in every internet site where we're online, and of course, real pictures, this means that what you see on internet is what we offer, nothing less, nothing more. We're sorry for you if you made a mistake while booking or got wrong expectatives, or just didn't read all the information of our place published online.

We try to do our best, and this is not only about a room size or cleaning, but to receive our guests with a smile and try to make their staying in Barcelona as wonderful as possible. Unfortunately, you didn't got it and this is not the place for you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed at La Isla for two nights in July.

We found the staff very helpful and friendly. Unfortunatly my luggage was lost at the airport but thanks to the calm and helpful staff of La Isla I got it all back in less than 6 hours.

The room we had was small but contained a small sink, mirror, large fan, TV and wireless.

The bed was very comfortable and the hostal was very easy to find - just a short 20 min walk from the last stop on the Airport bus.

The location of this hostal is ideal - walking distance to all sights except Park Guell which is only really accessable by local bus - but this was extremely easy to use and is a well recommended trip.

Staff made great recommendations for tastey, cheap, local places to eat.

Before booking this hostal we looked at the prices of hotels and hostals in Barcelona - this was by far the cheapest of many and if you are looking for a great location, comfy bed and clean room this is for you.

Only disadvantage - very basic so could really be in a hostal anywhere in the world. Having said that, on our small budget we really couldnt fault our experience!

Thank you La Isla.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We'd like to thank you for your nice review. We're glad our suggestions helped you during your stay in town, and of course, hope te see you again at La Isla! Best regards. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamberal, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed early June for 3 nights with my 27yr old daughter,great value. We had a private bathroom and the room was very clean and staff very helpful. Pedro on the front desk was a wealth of info for our first night into town-transport & directions etc. A welcome touch was the Aloe vera samples in the room which we used and found a godsend. Excellent idea whoever thought of that! This is great hostel in a fantastic position for either beach or city. We will definitely be telling friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments! We're glad we could help you during your stay at La Isla and that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Barcelona. Hope to see you another time!
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was small but what you expected for the price with tiny extras. The room was clean and comfy. Included fan, tv, wifi and sink. Shared bathrooms wasn't a problem as the hostel seemed pretty empty. Good location to Arc de Triumf. The only thing this hostal lacked was a little bit of atmosphere however staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom that's not near the showeroom because the sound of the boiler will wake you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FERDI1274, Gerente at La Isla Hostal, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dears, thanks for taking your time to write a review.
We're happy you liked La Isla. Thanks to comments like yours, we can continue improving our establishment and services to make your stay in Barcelona better than expected.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Isla Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Isla Hostal

Address: Ronda Sant Pere 53 Entresol 1, Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Isla is a Hostal located in the heart of Barcelona, midway between the stylish Eixample and the vibrant Born and Gothic Quarter, an unbeatable location. If you like to travel without complications, discover to the maximum and especially enjoy Barcelona, La Isla is what you're looking for! We have double or single rooms with private or shared bathroom. La Isla, travel, discover, enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Isla Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Isla Hostal Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Isla Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.