We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Rambla del Raval, 14, 8001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 934 42 57 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,226 of 7,854 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Indian, International, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Restaurante Maharaja, se encuentra en el corazon del Raval y desde el ano 2001 acercamos la cocina hindu a Barcelona, invitandoles a descubrir el delicioso patrimonio gastronomico desarrollado en la India a lo largo de los siglos. La India es una enorme mezcla de estilos culinarios, cada uno con su propio distintivo: especias, hierbas, ingredientes y tecnicas, muchas de las cuales se evidencian en nuestros esfuerzos, ya que los platos pueden contener una mezcla de hasta 40 o mas especias y hierbas, que nos ayudan a crear platos realmente tentadores. Los detalles decorativos del restaurante recrean el ambiente de un palacio de Maharaja. Las paredes estan adornadas con retratos de la realeza, complementados con objetos de laton y distintos detalles de cristal. Desde Restaurante Maharaja les damos la mas cordial bienvenida.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Indian treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good Indian food at decent prices. Fairly quiet when we ate there one Friday evening recently although by Spanish standards we were probably quite early at 8.30 pm. Service was quick and friendly and we were each asked whether we preferred our food spicy. There were tables outside although we chose to eat inside as it was a cool evening. Definitely worth a visit if you fancy a change from tapas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SPARKY36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely curry sitting outside.SUPERB.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here everytime we stay in barca. the curry is superb with good portions. great choice and the service is fast and friendly. we will eat here again before we go home. try it out and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dundeetravellers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Catalan Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff are friendly, and the food is good, but if you are used to English 'Indian' food then you need to specify that you would like more spices. Catalans don't do 'hot' and to an English palate the food might seem bland, but providing you ask as you order this is one of the best 'Indian' restaurants in Barcelona. The Rambla de Raval is a great place to eat outside/people watch during the summer but if you are walking there, through teh Raval district, be careful re pickpockets. Ample choice for vegetarians and meat eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billinlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food at good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good food in local area.. right price and stomach filling. The taste of food is good! Just you need to inform them in advance if you need the food to be little spicy.. I would recommend that if you are hungry and missing some Indian tasty food... go to Maharaja and anjoy the meal. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravish_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Locals recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Its a little Indian restaurant and locals recommend it strongly, nothing major about the food taste nor extra ordinary service, but works when and if you are hungry. Its just that the area is approachable only through some shoddy neighbourhood if you are coming from Liceu.
All in all when you want Indian try it, but don't judge Indian food by this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing