We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja

Maharaja
Rambla del Raval, 14, 8001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 934 42 57 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,176 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Restaurante Maharaja, se encuentra en el corazon del Raval y desde el ano 2001 acercamos la cocina hindu a Barcelona, invitandoles a descubrir el delicioso patrimonio gastronomico desarrollado en la India a lo largo de los siglos. La India es una enorme mezcla de estilos culinarios, cada uno con su propio distintivo: especias, hierbas, ingredientes y tecnicas, muchas de las cuales se evidencian en nuestros esfuerzos, ya que los platos pueden contener una mezcla de hasta 40 o mas especias y hierbas, que nos ayudan a crear platos realmente tentadores. Los detalles decorativos del restaurante recrean el ambiente de un palacio de Maharaja. Las paredes estan adornadas con retratos de la realeza, complementados con objetos de laton y distintos detalles de cristal. Desde Restaurante Maharaja les damos la mas cordial bienvenida.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Indian treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good Indian food at decent prices. Fairly quiet when we ate there one Friday evening recently although by Spanish standards we were probably quite early at 8.30 pm. Service was quick and friendly and we were each asked whether we preferred our food spicy. There were tables outside although we chose to eat inside as it was a cool evening. Definitely worth a visit if you fancy a change from tapas!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely curry sitting outside.SUPERB.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here everytime we stay in barca. the curry is superb with good portions. great choice and the service is fast and friendly. we will eat here again before we go home. try it out and enjoy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Catalan Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The staff are friendly, and the food is good, but if you are used to English 'Indian' food then you need to specify that you would like more spices. Catalans don't do 'hot' and to an English palate the food might seem bland, but providing you ask as you order this is one of the best 'Indian' restaurants in Barcelona. The Rambla de Raval is a great place to eat outside/people watch during the summer but if you are walking there, through teh Raval district, be careful re pickpockets. Ample choice for vegetarians and meat eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice food at good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good food in local area.. right price and stomach filling. The taste of food is good! Just you need to inform them in advance if you need the food to be little spicy.. I would recommend that if you are hungry and missing some Indian tasty food... go to Maharaja and anjoy the meal. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Locals recommend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Its a little Indian restaurant and locals recommend it strongly, nothing major about the food taste nor extra ordinary service, but works when and if you are hungry. Its just that the area is approachable only through some shoddy neighbourhood if you are coming from Liceu.
All in all when you want Indian try it, but don't judge Indian food by this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.