We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent bistro steps from palau de musica catalan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Bitxo

El Bitxo
Verdaguer i Callas 9, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
93 268 17 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #785 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent bistro steps from palau de musica catalan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wonderful little spot with space for about 10 at tables and 8 at bar - great bacalao marinated in earl grey tea with oregano, quite delightful!~

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    59
    10
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
1 review
“Authentic Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After eating at a restaurant on top of the mall and small restaurant on a busy street, we were quite skeptical of the food in Barcelona. Thankfully, a family friend recommended El Bixto. The restaurant that doubles as a local bar with local characters flowing in and out, chatting with the tourists and locals made for great friendly theater. The hand written menus were posted on the walls. Understanding no Spanish at all, the waitress helped guide us to some favorites.

We had the rocket salad; arugula with a nice vinaigrette. We had some type of olive tapenade with horseradish in it that was amazing. We wanted to try the coffee marinated salmon, but they didn't have it the first time around. Instead we had the earl grey cod that I still dream about today. We went back the next day and had a different waitress that was equally friendly and had prepared the coffee salmon for us specially. The chocolate ice cream also was so amazing.

This was one of the best places we ate in our travels through Europe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

good place for quick snack - a bit overcrowded in the evening with quite rude people but you can do it for the food.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent energy, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Tapas a little outside the box! It was such a breath of fresh air to see alfalfa and avocados and some fresh grapes for a complimentary dessert. Very friendly staff and patrons (we made some new friends) in this intimate spot. Close to the Palau, El Bixto will be on my list for my next Barcelona visit!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“This place is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My brother wandered into this cozy, intimate place before a concert at the next door plau de musica. He raved so much about it we went back right after our concert. It is hands down the best meal I've had in barcelona. The food is exceptional and FUN. Tapas a bit outside the box. The waitresses are fun and full of spunk. Do yourself a favor and go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed El Bitxo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Bitxo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Bitxo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.