We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good 4 stars hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grums Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grums Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Grums Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (Montjuic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a very good 4 stars hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

i spent 2 nights at GRUMS HOTEL in Barcelona. the hotel is located near colombus circle. not far from la rambla - the sea side of this street.
huge room with 2 double beds. very modern looks hi-tech.
good food. great service. the reception efficient staff even mamaged to buy me a cheap ticket for the football game between Barca and Celtic from Scotland.
7 minutes walk from the green subway line.
mostly recommended.
no special wiew from the window.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    309
    89
    36
    17
See reviews for
166
307
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed the Saturday before our cruise, so as to get used to the time change. We arrived at 10:30am, so our room wouldn't be ready until 2pm. They held our luggage so we could go explore. The hotel is located just a short 10 minute walk from Las Ramblas area and the Barri Gothic, a very unique area. The bed was so comfortable and the room was spacious. We had room 504. There was a balcony, but the view was nothing to write home about. There were robes and slippers waiting for us in the room, too. There is free wifi which was a welcomed amenity. We didn't use the pool or gym, but it was nice. For the price, this hotel is a great value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona, so only knew that we wanted to be near La Rambla and the coast - which this hotel was perfect for!

Situated in the shadow of the former Olympic Park, the rooms are basic but modern.

I can't say much about the hotel (as we weren't there very much) other than it was clean and the staff could not do enough for us. The free wifi was shocking bad in our room and very infuriating, especially when you are trying to check in on line for your return flight!

There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, however you can access a vending machine in the bar when the "coffee corner" is not open.

Oddly there was not a plug for either the bath or sink - I'm sure it was all in the name of conserving water, however it was a bit irritating!

It is on an underground line which is very helpful and is surrounded by stores including a Lidl and an excellent bakery downstairs which is very handy.
La Rambla is only a ten minute walk away and La Rambla de Raval (which we ate at all three nights and is much less touristy) was just as close.

We would definitely stay there again when we have our next (I hope!) visit to Barcelona.

Tips: There is a fridge in your room (look for the cupboard with an icicle on it) which we did not find until the last day! Ha ha!

Do not ask the staff to book a taxi to the airport. They will tell you it will cost between 30-35 euros for a taxi to the airport, however I challenged the taxi driver as he pressed a button to up the cost as we headed up to the airport. He also told me that 7 euros of this was because "the hotel had called them". I contested and wouldn't pay it, but I don't want you to have to do suffer this. We should have got the very reliable Aerobus back to the airport!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in the Hotel Grums, only 10 mins walk to Las Ramblas and very convenient to reach other parts of the city and airport. Hotel staff were extremely helpful, room was spotless, free wifi in room a bonus and the breakfast choice was excellent. I would definitely recommend to stay here and would have no hesitation to stay again.
Only tip - bring a travel iron if you don't want to send clothes off to be ironed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful stay in this centrally located hotel nearby the Magic Fountains that we enjoyed during our overnight stay before our cruise departure. We were able to walk to the fountains and enjoy the city despite not having our luggage arrive with us. The front desk staff were very accomodating and despite being very busy, were able to communicate most efficiently with baggage staff from the airport. VERY FRIENDLY!!!! The breakfast was delicious and offered numerous options. We enjoyed sitting out on the Terrace to enjoy the beautiful weather whilst eating our breakfast. We would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Close to La Rambla, close to the water, close to the Cruise terminals.........We just completed our 2nd stay at Hotel Grums, and along with clean modern rooms there is a professional staff & great free wi fi. I can hardly wait to stay in Barcelona again at the Grums Hotel. Elle & Richard Cooper, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've just spent 3 nights at Hotel Grums in Barcelona and, overall, were very happy with our experience. I have to admit to being very surprised at some reviews suggesing that staff were unfriendly - we found the total opposite, they were very friendly and helpful. We spent one night there before onward travel and 2 nights on our return to the city. On both occasions we were upgraded. The confusing thing was that the room numbers are actually on the floor in front of each door! Imagine our confusion the first night on arriving late after a late flight and being given the key to a room on the 3rd floor and discovering no room numbers on the doors - we wandered up and down the corridor in total confusion before my fiance spotted the numbers on the floor - tip to reception - please inform guests of this fact! The room on the first night was unusual in that there was no separate bathroom - the toilet cubicle did have a glass door (frosted thankfully!), the sink was in the room and the shower cubicle was on the other side of it. The room was modern and nicely decorated. On our return we had a similar room on floor 2 but this time there was a separate bathroom - which brings me to the design faults. The shower cubicle had no door - just a half wall of glass but the shower unit was facing the opening resulting in a flooded floor after every shower. There was simply nothing one could do to prevent this. Also the walls of the bathroom are covered in wallpaper - not a good idea in a damp bathroom - the wallpaper already shows staining and damp patches especially around the towel hooks - hardly surprising! Also the toilet roll holder was falling apart and the light fitting was hanging down. The housekeeper didn't provide additional toilet paper and, after the first morning didn't replace the soap at the sink. However, once again the room was modern and nicely decorated - though I would suggest that it requires a mirror - the only mirror available was in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent - very close to the port and 10 minutes walk to Las Ramblas. We felt perfectly safe in the neighbourhood even at night. We did dine in the hotel restaurant on one night - not something we would repeat. There was on waitress only and she was serving bar as well so the service was haphazard - not her fault. We had breakfast on two mornings - this wasn't included in our rate and cost €11 each but the buffet was excellent - plently of choice and superb coffee. Just one other tip for staff - get your facts right about touristy things -we asked about the Font Magica and were told it runs from 9 until 11 at night - in fact it runs on Friday and Saturday from 7 till 9 - a fact we discovered on arriving there at 9 only to see people leaving in huge crowds! Overall though we were very impressed with this hotel and would definitely not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#18 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#164 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#178 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grums Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.