We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grums Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grums Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Grums Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #216 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very enjoyable stay in the Hotel Grums, only 10 mins walk to Las Ramblas and very convenient to reach other parts of the city and airport. Hotel staff were extremely helpful, room was spotless, free wifi in room a bonus and the breakfast choice was excellent. I would definitely recommend to stay here and would have no hesitation to stay again.
Only tip - bring a travel iron if you don't want to send clothes off to be ironed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    259
    80
    32
    15
See reviews for
146
262
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Wonderful stay in this centrally located hotel nearby the Magic Fountains that we enjoyed during our overnight stay before our cruise departure. We were able to walk to the fountains and enjoy the city despite not having our luggage arrive with us. The front desk staff were very accomodating and despite being very busy, were able to communicate most efficiently with baggage staff from the airport. VERY FRIENDLY!!!! The breakfast was delicious and offered numerous options. We enjoyed sitting out on the Terrace to enjoy the beautiful weather whilst eating our breakfast. We would highly recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Close to La Rambla, close to the water, close to the Cruise terminals.........We just completed our 2nd stay at Hotel Grums, and along with clean modern rooms there is a professional staff & great free wi fi. I can hardly wait to stay in Barcelona again at the Grums Hotel. Elle & Richard Cooper, Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've just spent 3 nights at Hotel Grums in Barcelona and, overall, were very happy with our experience. I have to admit to being very surprised at some reviews suggesing that staff were unfriendly - we found the total opposite, they were very friendly and helpful. We spent one night there before onward travel and 2 nights on our return to the city. On both occasions we were upgraded. The confusing thing was that the room numbers are actually on the floor in front of each door! Imagine our confusion the first night on arriving late after a late flight and being given the key to a room on the 3rd floor and discovering no room numbers on the doors - we wandered up and down the corridor in total confusion before my fiance spotted the numbers on the floor - tip to reception - please inform guests of this fact! The room on the first night was unusual in that there was no separate bathroom - the toilet cubicle did have a glass door (frosted thankfully!), the sink was in the room and the shower cubicle was on the other side of it. The room was modern and nicely decorated. On our return we had a similar room on floor 2 but this time there was a separate bathroom - which brings me to the design faults. The shower cubicle had no door - just a half wall of glass but the shower unit was facing the opening resulting in a flooded floor after every shower. There was simply nothing one could do to prevent this. Also the walls of the bathroom are covered in wallpaper - not a good idea in a damp bathroom - the wallpaper already shows staining and damp patches especially around the towel hooks - hardly surprising! Also the toilet roll holder was falling apart and the light fitting was hanging down. The housekeeper didn't provide additional toilet paper and, after the first morning didn't replace the soap at the sink. However, once again the room was modern and nicely decorated - though I would suggest that it requires a mirror - the only mirror available was in the bathroom. The location of the hotel is excellent - very close to the port and 10 minutes walk to Las Ramblas. We felt perfectly safe in the neighbourhood even at night. We did dine in the hotel restaurant on one night - not something we would repeat. There was on waitress only and she was serving bar as well so the service was haphazard - not her fault. We had breakfast on two mornings - this wasn't included in our rate and cost €11 each but the buffet was excellent - plently of choice and superb coffee. Just one other tip for staff - get your facts right about touristy things -we asked about the Font Magica and were told it runs from 9 until 11 at night - in fact it runs on Friday and Saturday from 7 till 9 - a fact we discovered on arriving there at 9 only to see people leaving in huge crowds! Overall though we were very impressed with this hotel and would definitely not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASABLANCA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this for 2 nights. First, the location is perfect berween The RAMBLAS ant MONTJUIC par( 10 min) The staff were professionel, pleasan and helpful when needed. the rooms were modern and clean, the bathroom too. We didn't take the hotel's breakfast ( expensive), so can't comment on the food.
To sum up, comparing to other horels in barcelona in its high season, i consider that i made a good deal between price and quality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberobello, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel is in a very good position, close to the port, not far from city centre, which can be reached by foot. The district is ok, though it is advisable to avoid a small square nearby at night, full of pushers and funny people. The gentleman at the reception on duty in the morning is very helpful and kind, while the rest of the front office staff sound rather stressed. We booked the "Grums terrace room", a small suite on the last floor. Not really worth the price we paid for. Not very clean, the view is on shubby buildings, the terrace is large but not well cared. Above all a strong disgusting stink from the bath drains forces guests to keep always the bathroom door shut, otherwise it pervades the bedroom too. In the booking details it was written that intl newspapers would have been delivered: we didn't see any. The pillows are too soft, there's no choice to get some harder.The buffet breakfast on the other hand is large, good and well cared. All in all not a 4 stars hotel for the high price required.

Room Tip: Suites on the last floor are very quite, specially if they look in the inner- but not nice- court. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I travelled to Barcelona from the UK to join a cruise with my husband, my parents and our three young children. Prior to our stay we emailed them to organise transfers and to let them know that two in the party required a gluten free breakfast. From the beginning the communication was very good, however, having been down this route before with dietary requirements, we took some GF bread anyway. We were more that amazed when, for breakfast the selection was really good, my mother also required lactose free milk and this was provided as well.
Well located, friendly staff, clean well appointed rooms. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grums Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grums Barcelona

Address: Carrer Palaudaries 26, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#22 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#126 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#135 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grums Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 stars Hotel in Barcelona, located in one of the most emblematic and central zones of the city, Hotel Grums is a great option for discovering the charms of Barcelona.Charming, modern and cosmopolitan, involved in culture, arts and the most cultural and representing movements of Barcelona. All this reflected in every single room, where our client will be able to discover a part of Barcelona.Barcelona is art, design, avant-garde, trend, fashion... And Hotel Grums is Very Barcelona.Its perfect location, in one of the most active zones in the city, makes Hotel Grums a perfect choice to spend some days with all your family, in couple or in a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grums Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grums Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grums Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.