We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zahara

Zahara
Passeig Don Joan Borbo Comte Barcelona, 69, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Barceloneta)
932 213 765
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,011 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Barceloneta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped by after visiting makamaka across the street. Busy little place and lovely for a relaxing drink in the sun.
I tried the banana pina colada and vanilla summer cocktail. Both were lovely apart from not having a cocktail list describing what was in it.
Nice little place for a drink after a busy day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaside
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Better than all the other places along this tourist trap walkway facing the harbor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It is is a small, hip type of cocktail bar/restaurant. Unlike the 20 or 30 other places along the walkway from the beach to the metro station, this place does not have huge pictures of disgusting food and a guy standing outside begging you to eat there. It's just a small place with a regular following.

The best part about this place is it's not like the 1000 other horrible Spanish restaurants. The menu is creative, the staff is fun and friendly and the burgers are pretty good (except the don't have Heinz ketchup, they use some watery ketchup that kinda destroyed the taste of the burger :(

If you're walking from the beach to the metro and want to have a drink or a meal, stop here before you get slammed by all the generic disgusting places that await you the further down the road you get!!!!!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location, good food at reasonable $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

First thought was to pass by as no one was in the restaurant, but went in anyway. glad we stayed and by the time we left the patio was filled. Had an amazingly great salad and burger. Wedge style fries were great. Found staff to be attentive and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you like salt this place is for you!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Three Spanish friends and I decided we would give this place a go as it looked quite appealing from the outside. One of the first things that struck us was the waiter spoke no Spanish at all, hardly an authentic experience, and my Spanish friends had to order in English in Spain. How weird! We ordered two types of burgers and the nachos, which on reading the descriptions sounded tantalising. The food arrived and immediately things started to go wrong! The hamburgers looked good but upon closer tasting they were awful processed meat with a salt content which caused hypertension on the spot. So much so one of our party couldn't eat it at all. I fought and finished the burger leaving most of the sweetened bread bun. The nachos eventually came after a substantial wait and were as inedible as the burgers. The only saving grace was we received a free round of drinks. But we have all decided never to go there again especially as when it came to paying the bill they used codes such as "various" in an attempt to trick the tourists into paying more. No no no

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If you're going to Barcelona, go here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a find! We stumbled upon this gem of a bar whilst wandering around on our 1st day of our trip. Although we didn't order any food we certainly sampled the cocktails, my boyfriend declared his (enormous) gin and tonic the best he'd ever drank, whilst I tried a delicious Caipiroska (the Russian version of the traditional Brazilian Caipirinha which uses vodka instead of Cachaça). The staff were friendly and the whole place, which was obviously very popular had a really nice, relaxed feel to it, which was helped by the fact that the music was not so load that you cannot hold a conversation as is the case with many bars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahara also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Zahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zahara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.