We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gilda by Belgious

Gilda by Belgious
Carrer Ample 38, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 933 10 34 92
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Gilda by Belgious is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean, South American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Description: Welcome to Gilda by Belgious! Dedicated to the fading art of good service and fine, flavorful food at a good price, we seek out the freshest, quality ingredients to ensure your experience is of the highest calibre from beginning (our delectable gourmet tapas) to end (our mouth watering house-made deserts)! Since we are part of Belgious, don't be surprised to discover that some of our dishes come with wasabi, ginger, curry or even cannabis ice-cream ! Our kitchen opens every evening from 18:30 till midnight (even later during weekends), meaning you can even walk in at 23:45 and still enjoy dinner with us. If you would like to try our gastronomy at noon, we do open the restaurant -prior reservation- for private groups as of 15 guests (Ideal for celebrations or company related luncheons).
buenos aires
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service ........food ok..... But nothing to write home about. Small portions , desserts were very unimpressive

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for posting your opinion, even though it's very generic. At Gilda we don't have the pretension to offer Michelin star rated food, rather traditional Belgian recipes done the right way at very reasonable prices. This is explaining the success of the restaurant in just two years of operation. The desserts are straight-forward but made using top quality ingredients, nothing fancy, and there again the overall feedback we receive is extremely positive.
Regards
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    145
    49
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious, one of a kind tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I dined at Gilda in December. We were there much earlier than when the Barcelona (or Spanish in general) locals normally eat dinner, so we had the restaurant to ourselves. Upon recommendation from our server, we ordered the following tapas and dessert:
Croquettes with spinach and pine nuts - I enjoyed this, but my boyfriend found it too gooey
Gilda Bravas - the potatoes / fries were nothing special, but the aioli was addicting!
Steak tartare - savory, but, due to the rawness, not for the faint of heart
Both prawns dishes - a bit too "creaturey" for my taste, but my boyfriend, an avid seafood lover, loved them
Belgium waffle for dessert - absolutely perfect. I recommend getting one for yourself, as, even after all the tapas, my boyfriend and I found it difficult to share!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Excellent very creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a small restaurant with a small bar located in a narrow street close to the sea and the rambla. The menu consists of around 20 tapas and 10 main dishes. We were there for dinner.

+ excellent tapas. Take the steak tartar and the salmon tartar, each around 8 ?. The prawns with curry I've cream is very interesting.
+ Belgian touch in food and drink
+ leffe beer on tap

- not ideal with a baby buggy due to space restrictions
- the walls and tables are painted in black which is not ideals for a restaurant atmosphere in my opinion.
- the tables are very densely placed

We will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem, amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Found on trip advisor and made the trip. Close to las ramblas but could easily be missed if you don't know where you are going. Inside was initially quiet (however we were there out of season), later it did pick up and got busy. We ordered muscles and steak tartar both were good but the tartar was amazing. Then mains we had steak an duck, again the steak was the best bit of steak. Over all food was so tasty and if we are back in Barcelona we will defiantly be back. Service was great the waiter even taught us some Spanish which was fun.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting Gilda and I am happy your tripadvisor choice was a good one. Indeed, both the tapa of steak tartar as the steak&frit are made with meat we import from Belgium-Holland-Denmark. The duck comes from a small ecological farm 40 km from Barcelona and it's one of the best selling entrees.
Best regards

Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Extremely impressive New Year's Eve meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend reserved this restaurant online in advance for NYE after reading the great reviews and we are so glad we did! At first we thought it sounded too pricey at €85 each but for the quality and quantity of food it was well worth it! The food was exceptionally tastey and the staff were very knowledgeable on what they were serving. The staff were also very efficient, friendly and organised. We particularly enjoyed the seabass, lamb and steak but every course was amazing! We were so full by the end of the night. Party favours were also handed out to everyone and the atmosphere was really good. Wish we were returning next year! I would definately recommend this for anyone visiting Barcelona looking for high quality food in a cosy atmosphere with great service!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having been at our restaurant on New Years Eve. I'm glad you confirm to our staff that both service as quality of food was perfect. Actually, several guests that night repeated a few days after in order to try our standard menu and they were equally delighted.

Kind regards

Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilda by Belgious also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gilda by Belgious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilda by Belgious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.