We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent very creative food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilda by Belgious

Gilda by Belgious
Carrer Ample 34, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))
+34 933 10 34 92
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Gilda by Belgious is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #136 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean, Fusion, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Welcome to Gilda by Belgious! Dedicated to the fading art of good service and fine, flavorful food at a good price, we seek out the freshest, quality ingredients to ensure your experience is of the highest calibre from beginning (our delectable gourmet tapas) to end (our mouth watering house-made deserts)! Since we are part of Belgious, don't be surprised to discover that some of our dishes come with wasabi, ginger, curry or even cannabis ice-cream ! Our kitchen opens every evening from 18:30 till midnight (even later during weekends), meaning you can even walk in at 23:45 and still enjoy dinner with us. If you would like to try our gastronomy at noon, we do open the restaurant -prior reservation- for private groups as of 15 guests (Ideal for celebrations or company related luncheons).
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent very creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a small restaurant with a small bar located in a narrow street close to the sea and the rambla. The menu consists of around 20 tapas and 10 main dishes. We were there for dinner.

+ excellent tapas. Take the steak tartar and the salmon tartar, each around 8 ?. The prawns with curry I've cream is very interesting.
+ Belgian touch in food and drink
+ leffe beer on tap

- not ideal with a baby buggy due to space restrictions
- the walls and tables are painted in black which is not ideals for a restaurant atmosphere in my opinion.
- the tables are very densely placed

We will go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    165
    53
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem, amazing food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Found on trip advisor and made the trip. Close to las ramblas but could easily be missed if you don't know where you are going. Inside was initially quiet (however we were there out of season), later it did pick up and got busy. We ordered muscles and steak tartar both were good but the tartar was amazing. Then mains we had steak an duck, again the steak was the best bit of steak. Over all food was so tasty and if we are back in Barcelona we will defiantly be back. Service was great the waiter even taught us some Spanish which was fun.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting Gilda and I am happy your tripadvisor choice was a good one. Indeed, both the tapa of steak tartar as the steak&frit are made with meat we import from Belgium-Holland-Denmark. The duck comes from a small ecological farm 40 km from Barcelona and it's one of the best selling entrees.
Best regards

Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Extremely impressive New Year's Eve meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend reserved this restaurant online in advance for NYE after reading the great reviews and we are so glad we did! At first we thought it sounded too pricey at €85 each but for the quality and quantity of food it was well worth it! The food was exceptionally tastey and the staff were very knowledgeable on what they were serving. The staff were also very efficient, friendly and organised. We particularly enjoyed the seabass, lamb and steak but every course was amazing! We were so full by the end of the night. Party favours were also handed out to everyone and the atmosphere was really good. Wish we were returning next year! I would definately recommend this for anyone visiting Barcelona looking for high quality food in a cosy atmosphere with great service!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgobarcelona, Propietario at Gilda by Belgious, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having been at our restaurant on New Years Eve. I'm glad you confirm to our staff that both service as quality of food was perfect. Actually, several guests that night repeated a few days after in order to try our standard menu and they were equally delighted.

Kind regards

Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food with a Twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

When is the last time you ate pea soup with shrimp ice cream? Or chicken with ginger ice cream? Or salmon with mustard ice cream?
All actually worked very well and the Belgian waffle finished it off nicely.
The service could have been a bit more attentive, but it did not ruin the experience. Recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We came here for my birthday on a short trip to Barcelona after reading good reviews on trip advisor. This was by far the best meal we had whilst out there! The food was incredible, we had selections from the tapas menu and enjoyed all of it- would particularly recommend the meatballs, patatas bravas and the beef stew on bread. We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and staff and felt they made an extra effort because it was my birthday. Definitely would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilda by Belgious also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gilda by Belgious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilda by Belgious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.