We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meson Castilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Meson Castilla to your Saves list
Hotel Meson Castilla
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. Close to La Rambla so walked there in about 5 minutes. Outside the street looks a bit rough, but you have to be careful most places. Staff were great, cleanliness was fantastic. Air conditioned room, nice breakfast set up. Very relaxed and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    190
    85
    14
    8
See reviews for
95
142
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just got back from three nights at this hotel with two friends, and we were really impressed. We booked the hotel as part of a British Airways flight + hotel deal, and were pleased from the off when we found that the hotel was in a great location, near enough to the metro and the Ramblas to be convenient but also hidden away from the crowds in lovely winding back streets. We were concerned that the area might be really touristy but were pleasantly surprised and had some great experiences with restaurants, cafes and bars in the area.

We had a room at the front of the hotel which, despite having read the other reviews on here, we didn't find too noisy at all, and it was a decent size even with an extra bed added in. Decor is traditional Spanish style and the hotel in general is very clean. Having air con was also a huge bonus in the mid-30 degree heat! The staff were brilliant whenever we needed help or advice, and it was a plus to have breakfast thrown in.

All in all - would definitely recommend and would stay there again. One of the best 2/3 star hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a happy stay in this hotel that is only a few minutes walk from the Metro and Las Ramblas. Good air conditioning made it a joy to return to our rooms from the hot streets of midsummer Barcelona. The decor is traditionally Spanish, so you really feel you are abroad rather than in a bland hotel environment that could be located anywhere. Good breakfast and helpful staff. No restaurant for evening meals, but they gave us a voucher and directions for an excellent tapas place round the corner that did a fab vegetarian selection.

Room Tip: We were up in 470 and 469 and, with the windows shut and air conditioning on, weren't bothered b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We are just back from a 3 night stay in this very good hotel. We read the write ups about the noise and the graffiti and yes there is some noise and a lot of graffiti but this is a major city that does not seem to sleep. The graffiti is not restricted to around the hotel it is anywhere you go including the main areas of the ports and Las Ramblas.The noise did not keep us awake as the bar owners tried to keep the noise to a minimum.
The decor in and around the hotel was spotless as were the rooms which are mostly decorated in the old Spanish style with old clocks and carvings all around. The beds were firm but comfortable and were made up every day, also the towels were changed every day.
The breakfast was self service continental and there was plenty of it with the plates kept filled up with meats and cheeses,boiled eggs,tomatoes etc. There was also different fruit,cereals, yoghurts plus toast and jam.
The only little niggle was the staff were friendly towards us on arrival but when they were asked for some help they were not very helpful.
This hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Las Ramblas and the nearest Metro station, from where you can buy a very good value 1,2,3,or 4 day ticket to ride the tube, buses or trams to any of the sights of the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is very a lovely traditional Spanish hotel, quite old but very clean, staff were polite and helpful and with a good breakfast selection (breakfast was continental, self-service/all you can eat). Housekeeping was excellent as room was cleaned daily and sheets and towels changed regularly and we were there for a five days. Room was small with three beds (two normal and one extra bed) with a quite big balcony. My advice is when you make reservation to ask for a quiet room at the back of a hotel, because rooms at the front of the hotel can be quite noisy because of a street bars and restaurants. Location is great, it is located 5 min walk away from the Placa de Catalunya, which is a transport hub of Barcelona(Aerobus for aeroport is also there - A1 and A2). It is only 3 min walk away from La Ramblas, Placa de Catalanya and Placa de Universitat.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a quiet room at the back of a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

First impressions of outside, very rough! Graffiti on surrounding buildings and gangs on street corners. Hotel staff need to be a little more inviting by smiling. Safety deposit box was very cheap. Room was very small with frosted window that we could not open. Very clean and quaint. No instructions for breakfast, I think had we not asked where and what to do we would not have got any. Continental all you can eat very nice. They did allow us to leave our bag there for 3 hrs after we checked out and keep the safe which was very good of them. Located in next street to la Ramblas. We was on 3rd floor and never heard a thing.

Room Tip: Very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Family with kids 16 and 18 spent 4 nights here and were very comfortable. Plenty of space to spread out and stow bags in our room located on the back side of the hotel, no noise and AC worked great. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic and got the kids out of bed each morning. Hotel is location allows you to walk to many sites and Metro stations are nearby. We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone, but especially families, as it is clean and we felt very safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Meson Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meson Castilla

Address: Valldonzella, 5, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#171 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Meson Castilla 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meson Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Castilla Hotel
Meson Castilla Barcelona
Hotel Meson Castilla Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meson Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.