We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here - it's cheap but AMAZING?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel to your Saves list
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Passeig de Gracia 116, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Gracia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You must stay here - it's cheap but AMAZING?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

You really should stay here. It's cheap, clean, airy.. Very safe location (and central too). Didn't feel like I had to be prepared to run away from creepy guys like i did in other parts of barcelona! It's honeslty such a nice hostel, and it's much more like a hotel!
The staff are sooo nice and really really helpful. We must have been so annoying asking where was good to see/eat/go out and always asking about which metro to get where. They are amazing! The room was really big for 3 of us and it was immaculate. cute balcony too. Air con and wi fi (which was so fast and we were on the 3rd floor) were benefits too.

No complaints.... you must stay here. worked out £100ish for 3 nights between 3 of us for a private bathroom... honestly so good & it's exactly where i'll be staying next time i come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    180
    40
    18
    13
See reviews for
73
110
100
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've stayed a couple of times in this hostel, and my impression couldn't be better. Both the 6 bed dorm and the private rooms are great, I'd say that they come closer to a 4 star hotel than a regular hostel. For first timers in Barcelona, they have quite a few activities and attentive staff to help you out, so you don't have to worry about anything. I've stayed in a lot of places in the city, and this is clearly one of the best both in quality and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful place; the staff were friendly and attentive, the rooms immaculately clean and well styled and overall had a brilliant experience staying here. Especially enjoyed the cultural and social activities going on here, they really got us involved in the beauty of Catalan culture - flamenco, paella, local artists and musicians... or even just a cold sangria outdoors at sunset. Definitely a place to stay in if you want a truly authentic Barcelona experience, great people and a fantastic vibe. A real gem!

Room Tip: Choose a second or third floor room if you want a bit more of a quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherAmatriain, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review. We always appreciate guest feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very clean rooms..friendly helpful staff,modern atmosphere.. Great wifi.very close to metro and city centre!beds were comfortable and air cons worked awesome keeping rooms cool .only problem we had was having to move rooms which was bit inconvenient

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was Rec by my boyfriends bother and friends to stay at Casa Gracia and it did not disappoint!! I stayed in a private room on the 5th floor of casa gracia with my best friend because we wanted a private bathroom it was beautiful, modern, clean, not a big room but we were fine we had two big suitcases and big bags and we managed! Great air con! Close to all the main shops, the staff are friendly and helpfull.we stayed hear before heading to Valencia for la tomatina 2012!!! The casa gracia staff help you with directions to the train station, beach and also areas to be careful of! We were warned of pick pocketers but the 4 of us (all Australian girls 24yrs old) were fine and we felt safe :) will never book a hotel in Barcelona I would just stay at casa gracia good value for money!.. The only down side I could pick was the lift! It's so small and can only fit two people in at a time! Otherwise have fun with the 70 odd steps up to the 5th floor after a bowl of paella and 1 liter of Sangeria :) enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherAmatriain, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear customer,
We are delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us at Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel. We are proud to read comments like yours as our clients satisfaction is our main target.
We hope to welcome you back on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The wifi is awful. It never works, and when it does, it's slow. The people are friendly but the administration is a little unorganized. My room wasn't ready for hours, then I had to check out of another temporary room the next morning. Also, hot water didn't work on the main floor. Unless you don't use wifi and like cold showers, I don't recommend this hostel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherAmatriain, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments, those are being a great help for us to improve  the quality of our services and facilities.

We regret any inconvenience that our wifi connection have caused you during your stay, we are working hard to solve this problem. Concerning the hot water is a temporary problem which already solved.  In your review we can read some issues that we are taking into a serious consideration to be solved ASAP, yours and other guests dissatisfaction means a lot to us.

Please accept this review as an apology. We hope you will give us another opportunity to accomadate you in the future, if you agree, please contact us directly and let us know the dates of your stay in order to compensate you in some way. Our guests satisfaction is one of our most important values.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Myself and my friend stayed at Casa Gracia for 4 nights at the beginning of August. The hostel itself is a short walk from the nearest metro station and easily accessible from the airport. It's located on Passeig de Gracia which is the equivalent of our Bond Street and was walking distance from Las Ramblas, the main eating/shopping bit. There were designer shops everywhere! We had a private twin room which was clean, the beds were comfortable and the sink was clean. The shared bathroom was next to our room and was cleaned regularly and fully functioning. Reception staff were always extremely helpful and recommended us a very good tapas restaurant which we ended up eating at a lot. The living room is clean, has lots of seats, free internet access and wifi and a massive tv which was showing the Olympics. The hostel runs various nights throughout the week, we went to the mojito night, where mojitos were very reasonably priced at 2euros and quite well made and the paella night where you get a glass of sangria and a massive plate of paella for 8 euros, which was good. There is also a supermarket very close by. All in all, the stay was a very pleasant one and I would definitely recommend it to people wanting to stay in Barcelona on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel

Address: Passeig de Gracia 116, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel Casa Gracia is situated in the most emblematic zone of Barcelona. It’s a modernist building typical of the city, completely renovated following an elegant and creative design, leaving a wonderful feeling of home. Founded in June 2010 Casa Gracia offers comfort, fun, tranquillity and security in a central place of the city.Who are we?We are innate travellers wishing to create a hostel which reflects art, simplicity, comfort, everyday luxury. As frequent travellers we know what tourists are looking for when visiting Barcelona. At all times the hostel thinks of its guests. We help you to feel part of the family. We believe a journey is special if the composition of elements function, of which one is to feel good in a place where one leaves ones belongings, where one sleep and relax, in where one ultimately stays. Casa Gracia creates the possibility of your visit to become fun, relaxed and special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Gracia Hotel Barcelona
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.