We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star boutique hotel with fabulous roof top pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ohla Hotel to your Saves list
Ohla Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“5 star boutique hotel with fabulous roof top pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break at Ohla Hotel.

The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Barcelona with only a few minutes walk from some of the big squares, las ramblas and shopping areas.

We stayed in a design room which was a lovely size and the bed was huge and extremely comfy. The wardrobe had plenty storage space and the shower was fantastic. Check in was a breeze and we were given a lovely glass of chilled cava upon arrival. Unfortunately our room was not ready when we arrived at 2PM but we only had to wait for an hour and went straight up to the rooftop pool while we waited – this was the best part of the hotel for me -. It boasted beautiful views of the city and the pool was a perfect size to chill in the sunshine with sun loungers and large sofa areas. I noticed a few reviewers complain about not getting a seat but we were always able to get and we stayed over a busy weekend.

The staff at the hotel were all lovely and a special recommendation to the Concierge who were fantastic, all of their restaurants they suggested were 5 star and in particular recommended one of the best Seafood Restaurants in Barcelona where we had one of the greatest meals of our life. The hotel also gave us a complimentary bottle of Cava for my partners birthday which was a lovely treat.

My only fault of the hotel would be the price of the cocktails averaging at 16 euros per cocktail. This was quite excessive considering some of the bars nearby sold cocktails for half the price. However, some of the cocktails in the bar downstairs were worth the price as they were made by a world-class cocktail maker.

During our stay we also got the chance to take part in the Cocktail Making Class which was absolutely fabulous and worth every penny!

I would definitely stay at Ohla next time I visit Barcelona and will highly recommend to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    212
    63
    15
    9
See reviews for
74
518
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wow! Well worth the money. From the moment we walked in the service was brilliant! Room was on the small side but nice. Roof top bar views are amazing and staff can t do enough for you. I really don t mind paying for somewhere where this attention to service and detail is this good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed for four nights and were very pleased with the hotel location, room cleanliness and comfort, staff attentiveness, and overall experience.

The rooftop pool is pretty but small, and the views from it are spectacular. I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were so excited based on pictures and reviews. However, for the price, I wasn't overly impressed with the detail. I've stayed in other hotels around the same price point and the difference, and what i expect from a 5 star hotel, is a real attention to detail - little touches like chocolates, exceptional service and a concierge who is tapped into all the little gems.
The service here was hit and miss.
The concierge recommended one of the most touristy spots in Barcelona for lunch and it was awful. We didn't bother asking for any more recommendations.
Our first morning, we headed to breakfast but had to wait 10 minutes for a table as it was full. The food offering was OK but we'd had similar offerings in 3 star hotels in other parts of spain.
The rooftop bar and pool (a major reason why we booked this hotel over others) was closed from 10pm on the Friday night for a function which was also really disappointing.
We had a complimentary bottle of cava included in the Mr&Mrs Smith booking but had to chase it up as they had 'forgotten' and hadn't mentioned it.
Also, when we were checking out, the service was rushed and there was no enquiry about whether we enjoyed our stay we were just told the bill and goodbye.
The positives were a great bed and great location so we could walk everywhere.
Would choose other 5 star hotels in Barcelona over this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annaalbuixech, Director General at Ohla Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Let me start by extending our most sincere apologies for the fact that your stay at Ohla was not as you expected. As you quite rightly said, we have good reviews published by our guests, because we strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests every day. For that reason, I am very surprised especially with your comments about the concierge department and reception department because they are two of our best-scored services. For that reason, I would appreciate if you could give me the dates when you stayed with us in order to find out what exactly happened and which event we had in the terrace, which did not allow opening the terrace to our guests. I would like to write you an answer with all the details. No excuses but more information because I deeply regret that we were unable to offer the service you expected.

Meanwhile, I remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Yours sincerely,

Anna Albuixech
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We came back for our anniversary after spending part of our honeymoon here. The suite we booked was beautiful, no different to last time and I honestly cannot fault it. The food in the brasserie is great, a very different spin on traditional tapas and the wine list is good. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. You have to stay there , swim in the pool, and then go and walk around the old town. Truly lovely...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you like minimalism and ultra modern, then this hotel won't disappoint. I prefer something with a bit more character. The hotel was very clean and stylish, but everywhere was so black! Our room was nice (and mostly black!). A huge bed with open plan bathroom. The shower was not very private as the glass was not obscured, but my friend was kind enough to turn the other way :)
The staff were of the highest quality (to be expected in a 5 star hotel). They were really kind, friendly and helpful. The rooftop terrace is lovely with great views. 3.50 euros for a glass of water is a bit steep though.
Breakfast was nice, but I've experienced better in other 5 star hotels. You have to get your own tea and coffee and can only order one cooked item, if you want more you have to pay more!
Location was really good, short walk from the Cathedral, La Rambla, The Picasso Museum and the lovely Born District.
Don't be put off, it is a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a more private shower - if they have any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location of this hip hotel is fantastic and is in walking distance of most things. It is ultra cool and the Design rooms are great although, as others have said, the glass shower in the middle of the room is not for the shy!

The Michelin star restaurant is highly recommended - really special. I had the suckling pig - the best I'd ever had. Beautifully presented and faultless. Breakfasts were good and the staff were lovely.

The one criticism is the rooftop terrace where there is simply not enough sunbeds and what are there are crammed together giving no privacy. I know it is difficult due to lack of space but I suggest they take out the white seating areas as they take up too much space.... Just a thought.

However, the most impressive thing about this lovely hotel is the staff!! Everyone is special - efficient, friendly and committed to giving guests the highest quality service. Utterly fabulous!

Room Tip: Higher floors - I was in 607 and have no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohla Hotel

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#40 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ohla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohla Hotel is a new five-star hotel located in the heart of Barcelona, an ideal setting for tourists, shoppers and businesspeople offering a world of experience, service and wellbeing. The calmness and serenity of the hotel combined with the hustle-and-bustle of downtown Barcelona offers a unique blend. The Ohla Hotel is built on the site of a former Roman water canal and the palace of the first Count of Barcelona, Guifré el Pilós. The current building dates back 20 years and was initially the site of Barcelona’s first department store (Casa Vilardell). The building was renovated under the direction of Alonso, Balaguer y Arquitectos Asociados with artistic assistance by Frederic Amat. During the renovation, the historical building façade and other historical elements of the initial building have been preserved in their entirety, whilst the interior design of the building is avant-garde in its approach, combining different white and black textures with oak wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ohla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.