We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Food Let Down "” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ohla Hotel to your Saves list
Ohla Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“" Food Let Down "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Ohla hotel is housed in a very beautiful building right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Barcelona. The service at reception is very good and the concierge very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are modern with good quality bed linen etc.
The roof terrace and pool has a great ambience but it is practically impossible to get a sunbed unless you get up at the crack of dawn to reserve one with your towel.
Overall this hotel is good but there was one major disappointment. The quality and choice of the food in the breakfast restaurant is decidedly average. The portions of the ordered hot dishes are tiny. It's almost as if they have cut corners because the breakfast is included in the nightly rate.
The staff in the restaurant have a completely different attitude to the staff in the rest of the hotel, being slow and apathetic. We ate in this restaurant once during our stay and I would advise anybody coming here toy eat out as there are some fantastic restaurants in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    233
    67
    17
    10
See reviews for
83
575
22
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Ohla Hotel is by far and away the best hotel we have ever stayed in. From the moment we walked into the hotel we were treated very well, we were offered cava whilst we checked in and had a letter from the manager welcoming us. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff went out of their way to be as accommodating as possible. The hotel room was divine and immaculate, with the most comfortable bed. We especially loved the roof top pool and bar. Just total heaven!

Room Tip: Go to the restaurant Cal Pep for an amazing dining experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fantastic hotel! Very modern. We received a very warm welcome and were offered a lovely glass of Cava when checking-in. It was my boyfriend's birthday and I had notified the hotel of this ahead of arrival - the staff personally wished him a happy birthday and arranged for a complimentary bottle of cava to be sent to the room.
Our room, a deluxe double, was lovely, very clean, with a nice view over the streets below. Despite being so central we hardly heard any noise from the street. The shower is wonderful! Its all glass and looks into the bedroom, so not for the shy!
The rooftop pool is lovely - quite small, but the area never seemed to get too busy. It does close at 6:30pm though, which is a bit early, but the area turns into a bar at night so understandable. As hotel guests we were given priority seating at the rooftop bar ie access to the lounge areas, which was nice!
We ate at the Sauc restaurant during our stay - we went for the a la carte menu - it was very good, we'd highly recommend it.
We also took part in the cocktail Master class - again I'd highly recommend this - it was lots of fun, the head bar man, clearly new his stuff and the cocktails both looked and tasted amazing.
The hotel is really well located - very central so could walk to most places and also 1 minute from the metro.
We had as lovely stay - Barcelona is a wonderful city and we were very lucky to have been able to have enjoyed it staying at such a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John, Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Our 4th visit to Barcelona & I always like to stay in a different hotel in another part of the city.
Love boutique hotels & this was perfect. Had a suite with a big bathtub, views of the city. Could walk to La Rambla, the Bari Gotic, & right around the corner from the Palau de Musica.
Great service & nice little restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

No Doubt this hotel is good, but just misses being 5*. Really only let down by the bar staff on the top floor. A small dispute about whether I had paid for a beer or not, I actually ended up paying for this beer 3 times as it appeared on bill @ check out. I was with a client so did not want to make a fuss. Really there should not have been a quibble most places would have given me the beer!!

Rooms great, position perfect near everything but not too noisy. Lovely rooftop bar and dinky pool.
Mr& Mrs Smith do it again!!

Room Tip: The higher the better, but the lifts are painfully slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I have nothing else to say except how amazing the Halkin is!!! The people from the door to the reception to the pool ....amazing! The rooms are superclean... Modern and we couldn't ask for more. The food journey at the michelin star restuarant is to die for

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights in a design suite.
The check in was an experience in itself, relaxing with a drink whilst the formalities are taken care of. The room was absolutely gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. We spent a fair bit of time on the rooftop chill out area, because....well why wouldn't you?
Breakfasts were included in our rate, and were very very good. We also had a dinner at Sauc, which was superb. We would sure do that again.
The location could not have been better, we walked everywhere. And also did a side-car motorbike tour to see the further sites of the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohla Hotel

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ohla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohla Hotel is a five-star boutique hotel located in the historical center of the city Barcelona, surrounded by three of the city's most popular sight-seeing and shopping areas: the Gothic Quarter, the Born and the Eixample. Inaugurated in February 2011, its location is perfect for tourism, shopping or business, with a fusion of calm serenity and the bustle of downtown Barcelona. The project has left untouched the building's historical facade from 1920 and other listed elements, including the main staircase, while giving the establishment a cutting-edge, minimalist interior design that combines various textures of black, white and oak wood. The building stands out for the sculpture on the facade by world-renowned artist, Frederic Amat. The hotel has 74 rooms, all equipped with a 40-inch TV screen and satellite channels, free Wi-Fi, telephone, safe box with room for a 17-inch laptop, adjustable lighting, individual thermostat, Egyptian cotton sheets, robe, slippers, kettle and minibar. Its culinary spaces are one of the highlights of the hotel, which locals consider great meeting points: La Plassohla (tapas and small plates), Sauc Restaurant (with one Michelin star) and Boutique Bar (considered one of the best cocktail bars in the world by the international trade press). Foodies that want to get a first-hand look at how our chef works have the opportunity to sit at the "KitchenBar" inside the kitchen at Sauc Restaurant. The terrace and the enclosed pool, the only one of its kind in Barcelona, have been called one of the best places to relax and enjoy a spectacular view of the city. Meeting rooms, gym, sauna and massage room, internet corner and parking garage are just some of the other services the department of Public Relations can offer to even further personalize each guest's stay and ensure it is an unforgettable experience. In short, a world of experiences that the whole Ohla Hotel team offers guests looking for a hotel with charm and personality in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ohla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.