We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good price-quality rate hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohla Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ohla Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ohla Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good price-quality rate hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a junior suite.
De location is great, in the city centre and near a metro station.
As soon as we stepped in the lobby, the staff took our suitcases and told us they would be brought to the room.
Check in was good, formal but friendly and we were offerd some water or cava.
We had a junior suite on the 6th floor and the room was modern, spacious and clean. Very comfortable.Complementary water and also a water cooker.
Nice personal touches like a bottle of cava for both our birthdays.
And personal messages in an envelop like the time for check out and weather forecast.
The breakfast is small for a 5 star, but there is a reason for that: they definitely go for quality and not quantity. Really fresh bread and pastries, fresh fruit, and a hot dish per person, made on order.
We had very nice stay at this hotel and would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    179
    53
    15
    7
See reviews for
64
454
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well located within walking difference of everything. Sleek and modern and I had a lovely double room with an incredibly comfortable double bed. Slightly odd shower cabinet in the middle of the room with clear glass on both sides. I presume I was allocated this room as I was travelling alone. If you were a bit bashful or travelling with a friend this may pose you an issue!

Lovely rooftop area with tiny swimming pool which I didn't use as it was too chilly in November.

Check in experience was very poor. I arrived at 10pm and only once check in desk was open. There were 4 people ahead of me and with the reception area being an odd, small layout it was a very uncomfortable experience especially with a tired, late arrival.

I also found breakfast extremely disappointing. There was a cold continental buffet with a range that would be fine for a 3* hotel, but not a 5*. There were limited fruits, breads, and only one coffee machine for a hotel of this size.

In addition, one hot item is included which you order a la carte. On my first morning I ordered pancakes. I received ONE small pancake with a dollop of jam...incredible!!! On the second day, I ordered omelette with potatoes and onions which was OK but nothing special - in fact a little greasy. On the third, I didn't bother as it was busy and failing to get any waiting staff's attention I decided, for the quality of the food, it was not worth the wait.

Finally the layout of the hotel with the reception area on a mezzanine level, and only a concierge desk on the ground floor meant that any late return to the hotel required a buzz on a door bell and a wait for the door to be attended (the desk was never manned when I arrived back), which was an annoyance and, again, not what I expect at a 5* hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsica, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's a very special and modern hotel. The main feature is that of a facade with particular applications. I stayed at this hotel in the winter, then I didn't try the terrace and the pool that look very beautiful.
Inside, the lobby is very accurate but small. The room is furnished with great care and modernity.
The hotel is also a good restaurant although a bit expensive.
The hotel has a very good location, the metro stop is in front.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We really struggled to rate this hotel.. Firstly our checkin was awful, wrong key wrong room * 2 , 20 minutes later it was sorted!!!

Room smelt the whole time we were there - think it was the strange shower in the middle of the room situation which made it smell of toilet!!

Restaurant - fantastic, we had a fab meal in SAUC

Roof terrace - we loved every minute of it, both at night and in the day!!!

Room Tip: Breakfast is a nighjtmare, the hotel has too many rooms for the number of seats in the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location for getting around the city! Only planned a one night stay at the end of our cruise and wish we had more time to stay and enjoy Barcelona and this hotel. Spectacular views from the rooftop terrace. Breakfast was included and was nice. One hot plate was include and made fresh when you ordered. We will definitely stay here again when we return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012, travelled as a couple. The hotel and staff were fantastic from start to finish - nothing was too much trouble for them. The bar staff worked hard and made some lovely cocktails. The hotel was very central and perfect for exploring the city, the concierge gave great advice and helped with our sightseeing plans. We stayed in a Junior Suite, lovely room, spacious enough for us and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever had in a hotel. The hotel itself was very clean and modern, the roof top views were fantastic. Breakfast was lovely, omelettes on request, along with all the pastries and fruit you could want. Overall brilliant hotel and location. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Junior Suite is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just a 20 minutes taxi ride from the airport and we stepped into the beautiful Ohla Boutique Hotel - tip, take the address of the hotel with you (to present to the taxi driver) as the hotel is not well known enough (yet) for the drivers to find easily.

The facade of the hotel is simply stunning and the intentionally gothic appearance continues inside with the black floors and walls that greet you as you walk into the lobby. The reception has been surprising placed on the 0.5 floor and not in the entrance as you'd expect, so you are greeted by the concierge - who are utterly charming and super helpful.

We had room 603, which had a glass shower literally in the middle of the room (looked amazing), very contemporary design, bright and super clean! We looked out on to Via Laietana, which is one of the main roads through the Gothic Quarter, which is what makes this location so fabulous! You really are in the heart of the thriving Gothic area of Barcelona and central to absolutely everything.

We walked our legs off after a brilliant breakfast, which was complimentary including one hot dish each - and relaxed with a cocktail from the bar many hours later, which boasts one of the worlds best bartenders (so we were told). The staff were helpful and courteous and we really can't complain about anything.

The hotel is definitely one we will visit again and again - I wouldn't even bother to look at another hotel - Ohla is simply perfect. Our friends have already taken our word and have booked for December 2012!

Thank you Mr and Mrs Smith!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper we would recommend a room toward the back of the hotel as Via Laietana is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohla Hotel

Address: Via Laietana 49, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ohla Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ohla Hotel is a new five-star hotel located in the heart of Barcelona, an ideal setting for tourists, shoppers and businesspeople offering a world of experience, service and wellbeing. The calmness and serenity of the hotel combined with the hustle-and-bustle of downtown Barcelona offers a unique blend. The Ohla Hotel is built on the site of a former Roman water canal and the palace of the first Count of Barcelona, Guifré el Pilós. The current building dates back 20 years and was initially the site of Barcelona’s first department store (Casa Vilardell). The building was renovated under the direction of Alonso, Balaguer y Arquitectos Asociados with artistic assistance by Frederic Amat. During the renovation, the historical building façade and other historical elements of the initial building have been preserved in their entirety, whilst the interior design of the building is avant-garde in its approach, combining different white and black textures with oak wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ohla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;