We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bagues to your Saves list
Hotel Bagues
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla 105, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #63 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Right from Check in - which was efficient but very friendly to the facilities and service - Couldn't come more highly recommended. The location on La Rambla gives you quick access to major transport plus the sights, smells and foods that are the character of Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    93
    29
    12
    9
See reviews for
40
260
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Bagues, a beautiful boutique hotel in September 2013. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were well appointed and the rooftop patio has an amazing view of the city. The location is perfect for walking, and close to local transit. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the city. The hotel is on Las Ramblas a great gathering street, full of characters.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very happy with our 3 night stay at Hotel Bagues. The location is great (if you like being close to the action). You are within easy walking distance to numerous places including the market, shopping and restaurants. The staff in the hotel were wonderful.....very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and modern and the shower in our bathroom was wonderful. I would definately stay in this hotel again and I would recommend it to my friends!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Service and location were great; but I have two MAJOR problems with the bathrooms:

1. The door between the bathroom and the bedroom was made of glass. I have no desire to see my wife/girlfriend/family member when they are in the bathroom, so who came up with the idea? Furthermore, because of this brilliant design, the bedroom would be bright every time someone wanted to use the bathroom in the middle if the night.

2. The sink was rectangular and FLAT!! Imagine every bathroom sink you've ever seen in your life. Aren't they all shaped like a bowl, so gravity would force the water to go down, through the drain? Well, not in this hotel. The sink has no low point, so whatever you put on the sink (toothpaste, spit, dirt that you wash off your hands, ....) would just stay there.

Please tell me the brilliant innovative bathroom designer was not paid. He should have been arrested for incompetence!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,


Thank you very much for staying with us at hotel Bagues and for your feedback as this is the best tool by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate.

We are sorry to read that our Art Nouveau & Modernism bathroom style did not meet your expectations and we will certainly take it into consideration for a future improvement.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in a near future.

Best Regards,

Mercedes Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebau57
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

While this is a beautifully hotel boutique, we stayed at the Bagues hotel in September and could not have been more pleased; all the staff provided such great service they are very friendly.
The room we booked was Double Superior room facing to the church, room and bathroom very dark but nice design with complimentary water on our arrival day.

We will definitely return should we come back to Barcelona and highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just cannot beat this location right on Los Rambles close to other sights and squares. The market, the opera house, and the metro are steps away. Very nice and friendly service. The upstairs lounge is a hidden find for evenings.

Room Tip: Front rooms somewhat noisy but lower rooms have double doors to keep quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A centrally located hotel, which makes it very convenient to walk around the city centre. The staff were very friendly and eager to assist. However this 5 star hotel is overpriced for the services it provides.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Address: La Rambla 105, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bagues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.