We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel right in the heart of things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bagues

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bagues to your Saves list
Hotel Bagues
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Rambla 105, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (La Rambla)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #62 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel right in the heart of things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Bagues for 3 nights and chose one of the "Jewel" suites to splash out on for a treat to experience something special to finish off our hectic 2 week holiday with a bit of R&R and luxury in the heart of Barcelona. The room and facilities more than matched our expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed the luxury of having our own terrace with an outdoor jacuzzi bath. We were in room 603 and I must admit the other suites on that floor did seem to have more spacious terraces with sun beds etc and I don't know if that means our room was slightly less in price, I don't think so but it is worth bearing in mind when booking. We do have a few grumbles but must admit they are minor and really only about the housekeeping side of things. The fan in the bathroom wasn't working and although there was a flower vase in the bathroom, there were no flowers. We had special towels for using outside (we noticed these were also on the roof for using in the pool) delivered on the first evening (about 8 ish) after we had already used the tub and not again during our stay? We had mats for either side of the bed and the weather forecast for the next day delivered on the second evening but not on any other night and although there were glasses and tumblers in the cupboard for use with the mini bar on the first night they were not automatically replaced and we had to ring down and ask for them. To us, the treat of staying in a 5* hotel is to have impeccable service, attention to detail and little touches that you do not normally expect in cheaper hotels so it was shame that we experienced these minor lapses.

Even so, overall, we would highly recommend the Bagues for your stay in Barcelona. Most importantly the sound proofing was fantastic and we enjoyed peaceful nights which is vital on la Ramblas! The staff were extremely helpful, polite and welcoming and a credit to the hotel. The roof top bar and pool area was very stylish and the barman particularly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was generous and varied and we didn't need to eat again until the evening!

Room Tip: Choose 601 or 602 when booking a jewel suite if you want a bigger terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you opinion about our hotel Bagués.

First of all i would like to apologize about the small grumbles you had during your stay, we have already discuss about them and everything will be perfect for your next visit to the hotel Bagues.

About the room 603, the matter is not about the rates you paid, we have 3 different shapes in our penthouses and they are very similar each other.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    108
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
42
287
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
india
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

the location of bagues is excellent - bang on la rambla, next to a fabulous fruit/food market which is bustling. All stores are within walking distance. we even walked to the beach, picasso museum, cathedral, el born area etc from here.
the hotel itself is small with maybe 20-30 rooms but the staff do an excellent job and bend over backwards to fulfill your every need and desire. They offered me 1 hour of free wifi, concierge gave excellent recommendations for restaurants, bars that were spot on.
The italian doorman, Mario was our guide to the best places to eat and drink. The concierge helped me book train tickets.
breakfast is served down in the only restaurant and is pretty good. room service is very quick - i ordered some coffee and it arrived in less than 2 minutes. Rooms are a bit small but you dont hear any noise from the outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

This is a great feedback about our hotel and we really appreciate it.

Mario and the rest of the staff are very professional as you said and they are trying to be helpful to get the best from your stay.

Thank you very much again and regards from the hotel Bagués.

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed for a few days for a romantic break and absolutely loved the hotel! My boyfriend is usually fussy but even he had no complaints! The staff were wonderful and genuinely friendly and rooms were gorgeous. The roof pool was perfect for cooling down and as other reviews stated, the rooms are amazingly soundproofed! Will definately be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

I just wanted to say thank you very much for such a good review.

We are really happy to read you had a very nice experience with us.

Finally i would like to offer you the possibility to contact me directly for future reservations at hotel Bagués.

Warmest regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I spent a long weekend here as a suprise birthday treat. The location and views from my room were excellent. Although it is situated on the very busy Las Ramblas, the room proved to be very well soundproofed.
The hotel and room decor were very baroque and unique. The rooftop bar offers a great panorama of Barcelona's skyline. Special mention must go to the staff who where friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel has a nice intimate atmosphere, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your good review about our hotel Bagues.

We are very glad to read your experience with us was as you expected and the staff provided you with a high standard service.

Every single member from our team is working very hard to take the hotel Bagués to the top of the best luxury hotels in Barcelona.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very friendly staff and top located at the ramblas.
The small pool on the roof is just perfect for a cool down with a fantastic view on the ramblas. We did not take breakfast but just walked for 200m to a small foccaccia shop and had a fantastic breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a good review about our hotel Bagués.

We are very proud about the reviews which are talking about the service of the hotel, we have been working to get a very high standard service.

Regarding the breakfast i would like to say that it is a selection of fresh food as well as many hot dishes available which are made directly and at the same moment you ask for them. Also i want to add that we have a discount in case you book the breakfast (in the check in time) for the whole stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and i hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A friend recomended us this Hotel. And everything was super!
-Location. In the middle of everything you want in Barcelona. We had a room with a balcony on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, so sitting in the balcony and just watching the people was a lot of fun.
-Rooms. Very nicely decorated, contemprory and clean.
-Staff. Nice, helpful and knowledgeable.
-Price. Reasonable for Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for Les Rambles view room, it is a lot of fun....noisy but fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

I just wanted to say thank you very much for the good review you have posted talking about our charming hotel Bagués.

If you come again to Barcelona do not hesitate to contact me to arrange whatever you may need.

Warm regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stunning ultra modern hotel in a great spot on las ramblas. The room was very luxurious. The staff were very helpful & when our chosen restaurant was shut they recommended & booked us a table at a fantastic place which we thoroughly enjoyed. We loved the little pool on the terrace too!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Bagues, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for the review about our hotel Bagués.

We really appreciate how you talk about us and we are very proud about the way you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,

Felipe Turell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bagues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bagues

Address: La Rambla 105, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#75 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#104 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bagues 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 5-star hotel located on Barcelona's famous Les Rambles, in the heart of the city's Gothic Quarter.Right in the middle of Barcelona's largest cultural and shopping areas, close to the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA), the Gran Teatre del Liceu opera house, the Cathedral and the emblematic Boqueria market-museum occupies the building that was the historic palace of El Regulador. It also houses the Masriera museum and function room, a permanent showcase for pieces by this most international Art Nouveau jeweller: Masriera.The hotel has 31 luxury rooms, most with views of Les Rambles or the famous Carme Street, each displaying an exclusive piece of Masriera jewellery.Don't miss the opportunity to stay at Barcelona's new jewel!Services31 guest rooms: 3 single rooms, 21 Superior (14 double and 7 twin), 4 Deluxe and 3 Jewel SuiteRestaurant - Bistrot El Regulador Cocktail bar El ReguladorTerrace with outdoor swimming pool and solarium with views of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter and Raval districtBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness Center Wi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for events: poolside terraceswimming poolGym and saunaBagués-Masriera museumLaundry and ironing serviceSafe in receptionParking nearby (a charge applies)Small dogs allowed (except in bars and restaurants) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bagues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bagues Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bagues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.