We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if traveling on a budget. I went by mistake.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Boutique Khronos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal Boutique Khronos to your Saves list
Hostal Boutique Khronos
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle Mallorca 285. Principal 2da, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 312 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Only if traveling on a budget. I went by mistake.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Rooms are good and that's all. The building is old, spooky. It's a residential one.

Staff is standard, not too warm or interested.

The common area looks like a brothel, it's not a good taste.

Careful with the website: very nice pictures of the rooms and you think you will be in a modern and fresh place.

Go only if you are in a budget, as the price is EUR 80 for one night. There are an infinite choice of better places to stay.

Stay around Plaza de Cataluña as you can do nothing from there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    66
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
36
86
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located because the suburb is quiet but near from the center and everything. It's a bit surprising arriving in a building to enter into the hotel but it's decorated with taste. The only thing is that there is no double beds.The new hosts are very helpfull and very nice people. We recommend this hotel to discover Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Ingrid and her husband are great hosts. They made us feel very welcome and they were always ready to help us with every request. The hostal is very clean, spacious, very detailed and tastefully designed. The terrace is a must for a coffee (or wine) break. The area is very well connected and with a modernist, even luxurious feel to it. The only reason why I'm not giving them the 5th star is because we requested a double bed and we got two twins instead, which made us feel a bit uncomfortable at night. The rest is just dreamy. Go for a balcony room! Totally worth it!

Room Tip: Balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio, u.s.a.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you're in Barcelona to visit Gaudi buildings, this is the place to stay! Walk 10 min. in one direction for Casa Batllo and La Pedrera, 15 min. the other to La Sagrada Familia. The Metro is four blocks away. There's a restaurant right next door, another across the street, and a small bodega next door where you can buy drinks, fruit, snacks, etc.

We stayed in Rm 1, which some reviewers have complained about. While not huge, it was more than adequate in size, with a small balcony, nicely decorated. We were happy with it except that we could hear the VERY loud phone ringing at the reception desk (a problem in the middle of the night), and some noise as people checked in or out. But this wasn't a big problem.

The manager warned us that there would be some traffic noise, but with the windows closed it was insignificant. He also told us this wasn't the room he'd like to give us but was the only one available (we'd booked at the last minute). Still we had no complaints about it.

A coffee maker and a small continental breakfast is one thing I'd like to see added. Instant coffee and artificial creamer isn't the way I like to start the day. There's a pretty terrace where it would have been nice to have breakfast.

Oh, and after staying in many European "double" rooms with twin beds, having a bed large enough for two was a real luxury.

Room Tip: Ask to see what's available - there seems to be quite a variation in room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We just couldn't think of this lovely gem as an Hostel. Our room was clean as so was the bathroom, with plenty of toiletries and fresh towels being supplied each day. We certainly had no problem with noise. The various chaps manning the reception desk couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating. A tea and coffee area with tables and chairs was by the door to the garden (there were also drinking glasses available to use). We liked the roof garden and would have liked to have sat out there but, unfortunately, it was a bit too cold. It took us 15 minutes to walk to the Sagrada Familia and, in the other direction, to the Placa Catalunya. The Pedrera was about 5 minutes walk away and so the Hostel is perfectly positioned for sightseeing. One tip though, book tickets for the various buildings online beforehand as the queues are very lengthy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which meant that we had to check the curtain was closed in the bathroom before w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The converted apartment is perfectly located just a few blocks away from Passeig de Gracia, which is a 25 minutes direct train journey from the airport. This makes it the perfect location for short city trips. Top attractions such as the Ramblas, Gothic Quarter and Sagrada Familia are all walking distance. Our room that had a balcony facing the street, but was well isolated and not too noisy, as other reviews suggest. The only thing that was a bit weird was that the toilet pump went all the time when the water was running - in a loud and annoying fashion. Otherwise - friendly stuff (storing luggage was not a problem), beatiful terrace (was a bit too cold during our stay, but must be great in summer), good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Friendly staff,excellent price-quality,nice hotel in a great neighbourhood.Walking distance to a lot of interesting monuments.Just one inconvenience: the noice! Though it is impossible to educate one's Guests. I think I fell in love with Barcelona.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hostal Boutique Khronos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Boutique Khronos

Address: Calle Mallorca 285. Principal 2da, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 312 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Boutique Khronos 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khronos Boutique Hostel, a new concept in hotel in Barcelona, economic, charming and located in a neoclassical building in the center of Eixample.Newly opened, a few meters from the elegant Paseo de Gracia, in the heart of Barcelona. From this location you can enjoy walking from the main landmarks of the city, like La Sagrada Familia, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hostal Boutique Khronos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Boutique Khronos Hotel Barcelona
Hostal Boutique Khronos Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Boutique Khronos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.