We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice services and make me happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ELLA Hostel Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ELLA Hostel Barcelona to your Saves list
ELLA Hostel Barcelona
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Girona 39, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Violeta Hostel) (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #43 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
amsterdam
1 review
“Nice services and make me happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

there was a trouble between intermediary web company and hostel(the problem was not on this hotel but on the intermediary website) . So there was double booking.
some hotels usually tend to avoid their responsibility on this kind of problem

However

This hotel has recommended me continuous other hotels and apartments until I was satisfied with that choice.

Firstly I was really annoyed from this kind of problem, but after this hotel have shown me great kindness, even though it was not totally this hostel's problem and I have bothered them really much,
I really appreciate to Violeta Hostel.

To be honest, I did not visit this hotel. So I cannot value the other criteria.

However I can guarantee the services and their kindness in the supposed contingency like something which I had experienced.

Thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
53
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was a great hostel to stay at. Clean, good location, and friendly staff. The staff knew my name and were extremely helpful with any question I had about the city. The common area is very comfortable and tea, coffee, and milk was available for breakfast at no cost. It is just a couple streets away from the metro and you can easily get to all the main sights. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very good place to stay for a week end in Barcelona. My room was very well organized with shelves and drawers to put my stuff. Bathrooms are also well organized and always very clean. Never happened to wait to use the shower or the toilet.
Common areas very beautiful and comfortable, especially the terrace.
Only down side of my stay is that my room was next to entrance door and common area. I am a light sleeper but still I did not get too bothered by this.
Tea and coffee always available, staff extremely nice, welcoming and helpful. Definitely an excellent stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The Violeta Hostel is a great place to stay.  Here are three of the reasons I loved it.

First, the staff is great.  The owners truly care about creating a good experience for their guests, and they make you feel welcome from the moment you walk in the front door.  Unlike so many places I've stayed, the staff is always excited to give you suggestions on where to go or what to do.

Secondly, their location is great.  My new favorite neighborhood is La Gracia, and the hostel is just a few streets away.  It's also right by a couple metro & bus stations, so getting to different parts of the city is really easy.  And, though it is outside the touristy center (which I consider a plus), I found it a fantastic walk to get to the cathedral, Barrio Gotico, etc.

Lastly, it's blessedly clean.  The bathrooms, beds, common space -- all clean.  The owners clearly take pride in their hostel.

If you visit Barcelona, I highly recommend Violeta Hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Welcoming staff, a great start to our backpacking tour of Spain.
Simple but clean, modern rooms, affordable and helpful staff happy to give recommendations and assist with bookings.
Close to train stations, about 20 mins or so walk into central tourist area.
Bike tour they recommended was great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Friendly staff & Lovely place
Welcoming pack on arrival (free coffee, tea, croissant in the morning :);
Great terrace with some games, books and shisha available to clients;
Free wifi in rooms and terrace;
Good location: 10 min walking distance to the centre
Near the metro stations (Girona, Urquinaona, Passeig de Gracia)
Not far from the airport (35 euro by taxi) bus pick up points near hotel, or by train (Passeig de Gracia);

Room Tip: Studio (2 Adults) - large and sunny room with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved our stay at Violeta Hostel. We had a really large room with ensuite & air conditioning.
We enjoyed the relaxed, comfortable atmosphere and appreciated our friendly chats with the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ELLA Hostel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ELLA Hostel Barcelona

Address: Girona 39, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Violeta Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 708 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ELLA Hostel Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ELLA Hostel Barcelona is a cozy little hostel strategically placed in the city centre of Barcelona what means most of the main attractions of the city are reachable in few minutes walking. The hostel is characterized by the attentive and friendly service from all staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ELLA Hostel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Violeta Hotel Barcelona
ELLA Hostel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ELLA Hostel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.