We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dollar doesn't go far!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Corte Ingles

El Corte Ingles
Placa de Catalunya, 14, Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
34 933 063 800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 130 shopping in Barcelona
Type: Department Stores
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This posh department store has branches all over Spain (the main branch is in Madrid) and features lots of Spanish-made products, from leathers to linens.
Covington, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dollar doesn't go far!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Been in Spain many, many times and I always manage to go to the Corte Igles. This time, however, items were so much more expensive than what I'd pay at home in the U.S, that I didn't shop very much. Usually buy shoes, purses, children's clothing, etc. Not this time. If you go, and if service is still provided, visit the information desk near where the tourist items are sold. I produced my driving license to prove I was a tourist and they in turn gave me a discount card worth 10% off. Each day you shop, you have to re-register but once your name is in their data, it is a quick process. Other than food and perhaps drinks, 20% is added onto your bill. With the dollar at $1.31 (currently) plus 20%, you can understand that it is a better value to shop at home. Another great service they provide is a walk-in hair salon. No need fo appointments. For a wash 'n dry I was out in 30 minutes to the tune of 39 Euros.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    83
    36
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
857 reviews 857 reviews
613 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
1,635 helpful votes 1,635 helpful votes
“Shop and browse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We always seem to visit Corte Inglis if we stumble into one of their stores in Spain and the one in Barcelona is a big old store and if you are fortunate there might be a bargain or tow to be had.

It is an upscale department store but not Harrods type exclusive store and popular with locals and tourists.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“10% off for tourists.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Just go and register at the information desk with your passport and receive a voucher for a 10% discount at the till. Sometimes its added after any discount already on offer. Worth the effort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“AS UPSCALE AS BLOOMINGDALE'S IN NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Wherever you go in Barcelona you can find this great department store. For instance, on Plaça de Catalunya, the address above, you can see two huge El Corte Ingles, one facing another. Both are great, the only difference is parking lot - the east side store doesn't provide it, and the west side one does.
Remark: besides the common duty-free invoice that you can find anywhere (I don't care about it anymore, after waiting in line forever at airports just to get VAT refunds), El Corte Ingles offers a 10% off coupon for tourists, in an easy and fast way. You just gotta show your passport, then your coupon is issued within seconds, and it's valid for 24 hours at any El Corte Ingles store! the tourist desk help usually takes place on ground floor of the store and information system is effective - you'll find signs with directions easily. Come on, 10% these days does count :-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I Like to Browse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I always enjoy visiting the Corte Ingles when I'm visiting Spain. It's a large department store with everything imaginable to buy. I especially like the souvenirs, which tend to be on the ground floor not far from the main entrance. But it's also interesting to see the difference in clothing styles and the industrial design of consumer goods and the palettes of both between Canada and Spain.

I'm not certain what the equivalent would be here in Canada: something of a cross between Holt Renfrew and the HBC, I think. Barcelona's seems to be all in one buildling and it's huge.

I had planned on eating in the restaurant due to fond memories of the Corte Ingles in Seville, but since I was soaking wet (October is rainy in Catalonia, be warned) I changed my mind.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Corte Ingles also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Corte Ingles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Corte Ingles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Corte Ingles to your Saves list