We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colon, Barcelona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #119 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
University Park, Florida
1 review
“Colon, Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel in a perfect location, right across from the Cathedral. All interesting sites in the old town are manageable by walking. Nice people, always friendly, always helpful. We had no complaints, except that the room was cleaned too late, sometimes not before 4 pm. Since we are used to take a nap around 2 pm this was not very convenient. Otherwise, nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: get a room away from the square. It can be noisy;
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    491
    115
    43
    20
See reviews for
255
478
106
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a hotel recommended by a friend who frequents Barcelona. Staff was friendly and the location cannot be better with a beautiful room that is spacious enough, good bed, great linen and a balcony that opens to the Cathedral. I had no issue with noise with balcony doors closed and have to mention that the location is perfect. I would certainly stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the Cathedral. I had no issues with noise with balcony closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First of all let me say the hotel location is fantastic and if you have a room with a view of the cathedral all the better. The standard rooms are adequate and clean. The bathrooms are compact but I was surprised there was no rail to assist getting in and out of the bath not that we needed one but others may. Yes the rooms can be noisy if you have the balcony doors open but when the doors are closed its perfectly quiet. The atmosphere from the square adds to to the location and at night when the cathedral is lit up its magnificent.
The hotel staff are all very friendly and polite. The bar staff are efficient, the breakfast room staff are not so friendly but the breakfast food range is very good and an enjoyable start to
the day. The restaurant food was good but a little pricey and I have to agree with another reviewer it is definitely understaffed. Housekeeping is okay but one day we returned at 3pm and the room had not been made up as we were tired we put the do not disturb sign on the door and within a few minutes housekeeping were at the door asking to make the room!

The reason I cannot give this a 5 star rating is because on checking in at 2pm, the correct time, we were told our room was not ready it would be another 30 minutes! After 30 minutes were were told it would be another 30 minutes!! After an hour the room was finally ready!! We witnessed guests getting a free upgrade on their check in, reception were saying " we are giving you a free upgrade to a wonderful room" and "we have a better room for you than the one you booked" so I asked if we could get a free upgrade but were told no - the reason "we were staying too long!!!!"

However, if you stay here its a good hotel, loads of restaurants nearby, shops and the tour buses stop across the road and its only 5 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Don't be put off by the dated decor of your room. The modern rooftop spa has a gorgeous sauna and steam room adjacent to the shallow lounging pool. Room service is meh, but speedy. Marble bathrooms are divinely luxurious with jetted tub and cushie robes and slippers. Bed linens are heaven.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location of hotel. The rooms are clean and spacious and the front desk personal was very helpful. The spa on the roof top is spectacular with its view to the cathedral. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Colon very much.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Romy M,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that your stay at Hotel Colón was great and that you especially enjoyed its location, the room where you’ve been allocated, the staff service and the roof top terrace with its panoramic views.

We always strive to provide the best possible experience for all our guests and to learn that we got it make us really happy!!

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit Barcelona since it will be a real pleasure to accommodate you again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel is great at first glance; great location right next to the gothic quarter. i had a room on the 4th floor with doors that opened to the old gothic cathedral and square. very noisy at night. although the hotel advertises air conditioning, the system was not turned on in april and the front desk personnel told me it would NOT BE turned on until may or june. outside temp while there was 70 in daytime. room temperature with doors closed was 80. the entire hotel was very "stuffy" and warm and no fans were available. first night i left the doors open to the square and hardly slept due to the noise. still hot unless i opened the hall door to my room which i could not do all night. finally found a fan store and bought a fan which would would draw cool outside air into the room through the crack in the 2 doors left open to the square. still noisy. if you are a european and used to sleeping in 80 degree rooms go for it but this is one american who was not happy. not sure i would stay there again due to the noise and hot interior. one could get an interior room but the heat would be the same. the square at the cathedral is lovely but it is not necessary to look at it from your room. you can stand in it if you stay nearby. the dining room and food were wonderful but at dinner it was grossly understaffed and verrrryyyyy slow. not much english spoken at the desk so bone up on your spanish, buy a fan in the spring or fall if you stay there then. for me, if air conditioning is advertised i expect it to be turned on if the room temperature is 80 F.

Room Tip: expect no airconditioning in spring or heat in fall. in spring your room will be hot. buy a fan if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Director General at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Clousseaux,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Colón and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
For us is really important to receive our guests’ opinions since we need to understand their needs in order to progress.

We are pleased to learn that the first contact you had, entering in the hotel, was great and that you enjoyed its location in front of the Gothic Cathedral.

We are most thankful for your constructive feedback regarding the no air conditioning. As you probably already know, here in Europe we don’t use to put air conditioning when the outside temperature is around 70-80 Fahrenheit degrees.
We are sincerely sorry that this issue caused you several problems, in particular that you could not sleep well through the night.

Despite that, we are glad to read that you enjoyed the dining room and the food restaurant and, regarding your advice about the slow service you received during the dinner, we can assure you that we take note and that we will take the necessary steps to avoid this type of incidents in the future.

Again, we deeply regret not having met all your expectations this time but hope you will afford us a second chance to make amends.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location in a fantastic city. Gorgeous hotel, friendly staff and delicious breakfast - best orange juice I've tasted! View from spa pool is stunning. Great family room with twin room attached to double bedded room.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, General Manager at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Whatktdidnxt,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your excellent comments about Hotel Colón.

As General Manager, I am glad to learn that you had a great experience with us, especially enjoying the hotel location, the staff service, the view from our seventh floor terrace and the orange juice of the buffet breakfast.

I informed my team about your positive comment and they were delighted. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#106 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.