We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty pills” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #119 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nasty pills”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Hotel Colon is undoubtedly situated in one of the best locations in Barcelona- across from the Cathedral and around the corner from the Gotti district. It also had some of the surliest, nastiest front desk people ever encountered. They were unhelpful, never smiled, and seemed as if we were bothering them by even asking for our room key.

Room Tip: If you do not care about the nastiness and do stay here, ask for a room on the interior as the exter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are extremely sorry to learn that we were not able to meet you expectations during your last visit. We are committed to deliver the best experience for for guests, and when we fall short we appreciate the time taken to share your suggestions with us and other TripAdvisor.
We sincerely hope we get a second chance to make amends and show you our improvements.
Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, and we´ll make everything in our power to ensure you a wonderful experience while with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    491
    115
    43
    20
See reviews for
255
478
106
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My mother and I visited Barcelona during the Nov. All Saints holidays. The location was awesome! Our view had a beautiful cathedral view. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful. No complaints. I would recommend the hotel to friends and would definitely return. The location in the Gothic quarter was a great location for all the old city sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colón and your kind feedback. We are honored to know we inspired you to leave a comment for the first time. =)
For any leisure traveler interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice.
We look forward to having you, and your family, stay with us on your next trip to Barcelona.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were again very satisfied with our experience. The front desk personnel are always there to take care of your needs. Our room was delightful and every thing we needed. We added on the breakfast meal and it was a great buffet to start the day.

The greatest goodness of this hotel is that you are right in front of the Barcelona cathedral and there is something going on most of the day and night. Tonight we sat out having a glass of wine and enjoyed the traditional dance, I believe is called the Saldana. There was an orchestra and people of all ages dancing to the music. So beautiful!

We will definitely stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service. At Hotel Colón we are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

We´ll make sure to pass your remarks about the breakfast service with our staff. So thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Colon in Barcelona pre-cruise from October 2 to October 6. It is a fabulous hotel...our room appeared to have been recently renovated; the bed was very comfy, the staff was super nice, the sidewalk café very good...and the view from our room was amazing. The hotel is perfectly located. Our balcony had a view of the "Catedral" across the way and there was always entertainment on the cathedral steps..opera, brass orchestra, dancing, etc. We hope to return to Barcelona for another cruise next Fall and will definitely stay at the Colon.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra to have a "room with a view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at Hotel Colón. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.
As you described in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town ;-). So please, feel free to contact us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavernier, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This hotel is located directly across from the Cathedral, fabulous location. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking the plaza, spotlessly clean and more than adequate. The staff was very helpful and courteous. You are within walking distance of many historical attractions and the hop off and on tour bus which we highly recommend. We left our balcony open at night for fresh air and it was quite, surprising for a city at night. There was a food festival occuring whilst we were there and it was lovely. We shall return

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
From the Hotel Colón we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your fourth stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Barcelona. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.
We would love to see you again next time you are in town.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a great room with a balcony and a stunning view of the medieval cathedral opposite the hotel. We had been upgraded to this room which was a delightful and unexpected surprise at no additional cost.

The hotel is traditional in style and decor, and very charming. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet, the bed comfy and the bathroom well equipped. It was a real joy to open the balcony doors to such a beautiful view.

We arrived at 9am and were surprised to find our room ready. We had left Madrid very early that morning and really appreciated being able to settle in and freshen up.

We had only 2 days in Barcelona and found the location perfect; not only for the local Barri Gotic area, Las Ramblas and the harbour; but many sites were within walking distance. It's a really terrific location for bars and restaurants, the Picasso museum and so much more. La Sagrada Familia was a little further away, but definately worth a visit. No photograph, no film, nothing prepares you for the absolute wonder and magnificence of this building; no wonder it's called Gaudi's masterpiece; a 'must see' in Barcelona.

We found the staff (from check-in to departure) always professional, helpful and friendly; but some may say a little reserved in nature; but we don't mind that style of service. Certainly, nothing was ever too much trouble for them, and they happily stored our luggage until 9pm on the night of our departure and arranged a taxi to take us to the train station for our sleeper train to Granada.

Barcelona is a truly amazing city and we are planning a return visit and will definately be happy to stay here again.

Danielle

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor with a view of the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Danielle,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colón we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city.

We look forward to see you again!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just spent 3 days at Hotel colon and have to say how blown away we were with this hotel. The location was amazing we had the junior suite for a family of 4 and there was lots of room and a view to die for. On the 2nd night we arrived to find chocolates on all our pillows and a big fluffy dressing gown for the children. They thought that was the best ever.
We found an amazing coffee shop Box of Chocolates just around the corner from the hotel, great coffee and even better cakes and we'll worth a visit.
Front staff were very helpful and sorted out taxis and tickets for buses which was a great buy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest:
From all of us: you are very welcome! It has been our pleasure having you stay with us. And now we are the ones thanking you for choosing us and for taking a minute of your time to write such a kind review and share it with your fellow travelers.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please let us know in advance so we can arrange any especial request.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.