We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved the hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a short stay at the hotel before going on a 9 day cruise and it was the perfect start for the vacation. The staff was extremely friendly and were helpful with getting transportation to the cruise port. We stayed in one of the suites on the 6th floor with our own private terrace with a fantastic view of the cathedral. The hotel is located in an excellent area with plenty to see and do within walking distance. We have planned on coming back to Barcelona and will most likely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your stay with us at Hotel Colón. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your weekend in the city.
Being so close to different venues near Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas allows our guests to maximize their experience while visiting us.
It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next escapade!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    466
    112
    42
    16
See reviews for
242
453
99
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by how pleasant our experience was at this hotel. We had a room overlooking the large plaza in front of the Cathedral. It was sunny and airy. Staff was helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was not included in our rate so we didn't eat in the hotel because at 18 Euros per person it felt too expensive. We got coffee at Starbucks and ate some fruit and yogurt from a market.
Arriving in the morning, our room was not ready until 1 pm. I add this as I see another review that the room was ready so early. I saw many people waiting over the 4 days we were there for their room to be vacated and cleaned.

Room Tip: we especially enjoyed overlooking the large plaza and the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
This is a wonderful city with hundreds of different touristic attractions and we are located within walking distance of many hotspots and just a-few-minutes metro or bus ride to the rest of them.
We would love to see you again.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat for my mother (and myself!) for her first trip to Barcelona. I had already visited the city on 10+ occasions.

This hotel is a great location for people who wish to step in and out of the hustle and bustle of Barcelona's city centre. It looks out onto a large square and the medieval cathedral, roman walls and the narrow alleys that lead to the Ramblas.

A new discovery for me was the Gotic area just across the Via Laietana into the "other" Gotic area full of yet more trendy bars, shops and even a magic shop which is over 100 years old.

You can sit and watch the world go by from your hotel room, east and drink in the many bars and cafes on the square (check out the Vietnamese restaurant behind the hotel) - or dive into the hubbub of the city - 5 mins to Placa Reial or two city markets. Next to Jaume 1 metro stop, and easily accessible by taxi from the airport.

I didn't eat in the hotel and so cannot comment on the food quality.

NB hotel suggested it had step-free showers whilst booking but this wasn't available in the room I was given, so check directly with them if you have special mobility needs.

Room Tip: My mother got a room with view - fairly expensive but well worth the wow factor for her. Double glaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience to each of our guests while with us.

It would be wonderful to welcome you back next time you are visiting our city, so please let us know in advance so we can arrange any especial request.

Best from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Oh dear!, not 4 star more like 2 star. Over priced for what is essentially a tired former good hotel. The staff are great, the location excellent, no problem there but the room was distinctly average and the bathroom was very poor. I had booked a double room but had two singles pushed together. The bathroom shower leaked every time it was used leaving large puddles on the floor. The bath surround had mould, not 4 star. It needs refurb ASAP. I'm sure you could get much better quality for a lot less than £200 per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry to hear you experience with us fell short to meet your expectations. Although we work hard to create amazing experiences to each one of our guests, sometimes we fail to meet every single requirement.

Regarding the inconvenient, please note that we have informed the Maintenance department and proper actions are now being taken to fix it.

We are happy to know you have enjoyed our friendly and efficient service and that you took advantage of our location to discover our city. Barcelona is cosmopolitan and has a lot to offer, but as you well pointed out, tourists must be careful since they tend to be the "victims" of choice for pickpockets.

Next time you find yourself planning a trip to Barcelona, please let us know in advance, we would love to be the ones to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Upon the recommendation of several people, including the Cruise Critic boards and my travel agent, we booked a post cruise stay at Hotel Colon. We booked a single room for my father and a double for my wife and I. We arrived at the hotel around 9 am after disembarking, and guess what - our room was already available. We checked out our room and went to see the front desk.

This is what separated Colon from other hotels - the service we received. We wanted to book some excursions and the concierge/front desk attendant was super helpful. He gave us some suggestions and booked 2 excursions for us. He was able to direct us to Placa Cataluyna where we picked up our bus and give us recommendations for food.

The location is great. It is on a quiet block across from the cathedral, but close to Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya. We are returning to Barcelona in May and will likely book this again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service, as well as our facilities. At Hotel Colon we like to take care of our guests so they can get best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at TripAdvisor with such kind and detailed comment. We are sure those insiders´ tips will be of great help to fellow travelers!

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Ok hotel, very dated though and the rooms are quite small. Could do with a whole refurbishment, I think 4 star is generous it is a great location and if you don’t plan on spending much time here then you can’t complain you are walking distance to the harbor and shops and restaurants in the old town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we´d like to thank you for having chosen the Hotel Colon for you recent stay in Barcelona, and for taking a moment of your time to share your views with other fellow travelers. We are committed to deliver the best possible experience while visiting our city, but as you so kindly remark in your review, there´s always room for improvement.

We have taken note of your comments above, and passed them along to department in charge so they can take proper action in the matter. Our rooms and installations are standard-category for Europe. However we do realize this can create inconveniences to some of guests who are not familiarized with this.

We would love to welcome you back next time you visit Barcelona. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance, so we can arrange and honor any special request.

All the best from Barcelona,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always stay here when we are in Barcelona. The location just can't be beat, the rooms are large and the staff are friendly. There is nothing like being right across from the Gothic cathedral and close to the Ramblas.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are happy to know we have enjoyed your time in Barcelona and that we were able to play an important role to make that happen.

Our hotel is strategic for leisure travelers, we are at walking distance from all the main touristic attraction in the down town area: Plaza Cataluña, La Boquería market; medieval Barcelona, or even our wonderful waterfront with all its restaurants, bars and clubs. All this without having to take a bus or the subway!

Please let us know when you are planning your next visit to Barcelona, we´ll love to welcome you back and have you as our guest once again!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#122 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.