We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not close to a four star hotel - we will not be back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #119 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not close to a four star hotel - we will not be back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited Barcelona in September after a 16 year absence. Last time we stayed at Hotel Colon and we re booked this time. What a mistake. The hotel is dated and the staff are horrible. They have no concept of customer service. Everything we asked seemed like a big effort. The rooms are rickety and old. The redeeming factor is the location but we will not be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest:
We are really sorry to learn that your experience with us felt short to meet your expectations. We always work really hard to deliver the best service to our guests, and we are very appreciative of feedback that allows us to become better.
From the conception of the essence of the hotel we attempted to capture minimalist, out-of-the box design for our rooms, which has had great acceptance among our guests. However, we do understand it might not be suitable for all tastes.
We´d love the opportunity to show you our improvements, letting us welcome you back on your next stay in Barcelona.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    491
    115
    43
    20
See reviews for
255
478
106
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed 5 nights at The Colon Hotel, had a room overlooking the Cathedral which was spectacular and a joy to wake up in the mornings and open the balcony doors to such a wonderful view. The hotel is on a square/pedestrian way and at nights there was different things going on out there - musicians/poetry reading (interesting even if I didn't understand a word of it), a violin player, people dancing - always something happening (but not noisy in your room and doesn't go on late). I had a double room, beautiful linen, no complaints at all and found the team at front desk very helpful, provided maps and drew directions on how to get places.. It's close to so much - Las Ramblas, Picasso museum, Catalunya Pl (where all the on/off buses, tourist info, and airport buses go from). Free wi-fi great. Thought the Hotel was the perfect place for me to stay, the Gothic Quarter is a great place to be with so much to see and do all in walking distance.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room overlooking the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
From theHotel Colón we want to extend our heartfelt thanks to you for your fourth stay with us this year and for your positive feedback. Taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other travelers is something we highly appreciate.
Our long-time goal has always been to deliver the best possible service to our guests so they can live a wonderful and unforgettable experience while in Madrid. And reviews like yours let us now we are on the right track.
Please let us know when you are planning your next visit to Barcelona!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed only one night before a cruise. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. The location was excellent as we were able to walk everywhere and there were lots of restaurants close by. They staff helped us pick a Flamenco show to view but the directions were a little hard to follow.

One note if you go to the show make sure you have Euros because they don't accept credit cards when booking through the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. Your suggestions helps us to identify the aspects we should prioritize, and for that thank you.
We also appreciate your comments about the service and our staff. We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
Before your next visit to Barcelona, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Colon.
We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic location right opposite the cathedral (Le Seu). unfortunately I found the staff generally quite unfriendly with the exception of a couple of guys who were always cheerful, smiley and welcoming. The rest were aloof and barely made eye contact. Perhaps they could benefit from a few women on reception?

The room (125), was a good size but the decor very dated and very floral. Bathroom was tired and the half screen on the shower meant it was a challenge not to make the floor very very wet. Bad design and I pity the house maids having to deal with that each day. The room was clean but housekeeping inconsistent in terms of what was replaced. I left a note the first day asking for a facecloth which was ignored. I pinched one off the housemaid's trolley and the next day had two fresh ones but after that none, so again I helped myself.

There is no way of making ice in the fridge but the mini bar is very reasonably priced. As seems common in Europe, no tea or coffee making facilities so take your own cup & immersion heater and tea/coffee bags.

My worst complaint would be the paper thin walls so every night I could hear what sounded like guests running and emptying their baths. Sometimes this went on past 11.00 pm. Luckily I always travel with earplugs as there is also a lot of street noise. I was in a room on the side looking at a youth hostel so no view of the cathedral. The bed was fairly firm but ok and I found it cool enough to need to use the extra blanket (mid Sept).

Breakfast was pretty good with a nespresso machine as well as machine filter coffee and a good selection of food. One of the breakfast waitresses always looked very grim. They will ask to see your key so take that down with you.

There is a safe in the room but you need to ask if you want an ironing board and iron.

I would have rated this average if not for the location and room size. The plumbing noise from other rooms and unfriendly front desk staff let this hotel down. I think calling it four star is a stretch, the rooms need a makeover and soundproofing.


I arrived by bus from Girona airport arriving at the north bus station. Taxi was easy and less than ten euros. Leaving, I walked up to Catalunya plaza and caught the airport bus for about 6.50 euros, also easy but just check which terminal you need as there are two buses.

Room Tip: If you want a cathedral view request when booking. Ask if you will be affected by other people's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
From all of us here at Hotel Colón, we´d like to thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Barcelona. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.
We have taken note of your comments; both on the front-desk staff and on the blankets situation, and we´ve passed it along to the department in charge so they can take proper action.
On the other hand, we are happy to learn you took advantage of our top-notch location to enjoy the many touristic attractions this wonderful city has to offer. From your review we can tell you made the most of it!
We would love to see you again next time you are in town. Hopefully you´ll give us a chance to show you our improvements!
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Colon in Barcelona in August prior to getting on this year's Prairie Home Companion cruise to Venice. The hotel was perfect for us - a great place to relax for a day, enjoying the plaza in front of the Barcelona cathedral and the nearby the Gothic Quarter and Las Ramblas. The free wi-fi worked great, and the hotel was a quick taxi ride the next morning to the cruise port. Great spot!

Room Tip: A room with a cathedral room costs a little more but it was nice to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such kind comment. Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.
We look forward to see you again!.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Colon Hotel is a real quality hotel.
My husband upgraded us to a room with French windows at both ends and balconies that overlooked Barcelona’s oldest cathedral.
The views were stunning and you could sit on the balcony listening to the musicians playing and people watching. It was a real experience.
It was beautifully decorated, I loved the colours and curtains and the bed linens were all monogrammed and of the highest quality.
The bathroom was a little tired but perfectly functional.
The customer service was just ok I felt.
We had an issue on arrival that they had made the room up with two twin beds rather than the double we had requested. This was eventually remedied but they were not very accommodating.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it was ideally placed for the older quarters of Barcelona which we love and also the tourist bus stop which is really handy for getting around is right across the road. There are many bars and restaurants in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your stay at the Hotel Colón and for sharing your impressions and insider tips with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.
We also appreciate your comments about the, service and our staff . We will transmit your comments to our entire team who always appreciate words of praise!
Before your next visit to Barcelona, we invite you to make your reservation through our website. Our team will be more than happy to welcome you back to the Hotel Colón.
We look forward to accommodating you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel for 1 week whilst attending a conference in Barcelona. On arrival i was disappointed with the room as it overlooked the rear alley and felt quite claustrophobic. It didn't take long to realise however that the hotel is located in the best possible position in Barcelona. From the hotel you can walk to the beach and many of the local tourist sites. Restaurants nearby are fantastic and numerous .
The hotel staff were very plewasant and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definately recommend this hotel if you are looking forr a well located property in Barcelona

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Catherdral and one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colón and for taking the time to share your experience with other fellow travelers. We are glad to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities.
As you described in your comment we are located near numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually any other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.
When you find yourself planning your next visit to Barcelona, please don´t hesitate in contacting us.
We would love to have you as our guest once more.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#107 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.