We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Smart Package Deal
Ranked #94 of 518 hotels in Barcelona
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Normally Anne & I are not too bothered by views - we expect to not be in our room that much so as long as it is clean, comfortable with a big bed and good shower we are happy. However we partly chose this hotel as it overlooks the cathedral and we had heard it was worth considering the view. We had room 606 and it was superb - the room met all our prerequisites and the large terrace overlooking the square and cathedral made a significant difference to the experience. We could sip a drink in the late afternoon sun whilst watching life's pageantry play out below.
The hotel itself was very good with excellent reception staff & superb breakfast buffet in a lovely basement area. We will be back.

Room Tip: Superior double with terrace & views of cathedral are worth the extra for a least one trip to Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our facilities, as well as our team’s efficient and friendly service. At hotel Colon we like to take care of our guests so they can get the best possible experience while visiting Barcelona.

We are pleased to learn that you took advantage of our location and great to know that you were satisfied with the attention received from our dedicated team!

Looking forward to your next stay with us, we remain with best regards from the hotel Colon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    434
    98
    38
    16
See reviews for
221
419
92
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great place to stay,So central and ideal for that city break.Large room and very comfy bed.Excellent buffet style breakfast served 7-11!! Staff were very courteous and so helpful. Would definitely stay there again and recommend it very highly!
Thank you for a wonderful 5 days.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good size.We had a room at the back of the hotel and was so quiet.No views to speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A lovely hotel in an ideal situation. Our window overlooked the cathedral and was great for people-watching. The room was very clean and comfortable. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. There was a pianist in the bar every evening and drinks were reasonably priced, for a city hotel. We didn't have breakfast there (too expensive) but there are lots of cafes nearby - and a Starbucks just across the road. Easy walking distance to Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya.

Room Tip: Best views at the front, quieter at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

We´d like to thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon and specially for taking the time to write a kind review almost a year after you visited us!. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and took advantage of our privileged location to discover Barcelona.

We can hardly wait for you next visit to the city, and we´ll be looking forward to accommodating you once again!

Warm regards from the Mediterranean,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The first view of the hotel sent a tinge of excitement as the cathedral was bang opposite. Location was unique in that it afforded an opportunity to go around the old town several times and absorb the 'fee' of Barcelona. Looking out of the window at the time of sunset, the effect was magical, combined with the Christmas bazaar in the square.

Room Tip: Look for top floor rooms facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay at Hotel Colon during your recent visit to Barcelona. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit our city, since we´d love the chance to accommodate you once more.

We look forward to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 20th December to 24th December at this lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and the view across the square to the Cathedral was amazing . The hotel is centrally positioned, just a short walk to Las Ramblas, opposite the cathedral and close to the Metro. The Christmas market was wonderful, although it was a little bizarre selling Christmas items in 18c sunshine!

The only drawbacks to our stay were lack of air conditioning in our room and the noise of the christmas market dismantling overnight 23rd December, otherwise would thoroughly recommend.

A must do is the cable car ride to the castle of Montjuic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words and for taking a moment of your time to share your experience with other fellow travelers.

The Colon Hotel location is strategic for leisure travelers, all the main touristic attraction in the down town area are just blocks away, and it takes you a few minutes to go from shopping in Plaza Cataluña, to enjoying a wonderful meal at La Boquería market; or from getting yourself lost in the streets of medieval Barcelona, to having a drink at the wonderful bar at the port. All this without having to take a bus or the subway!.

We would love to have you as our guest once again the next time you visit our wonderful city.
Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was visiting Barcelona for work-related meetings, and chose to stay at the Hotel Colon on the recommendation of colleagues - what a recommendation! The Hotel is right opposite the Cathedral, so ask for front facing rooms if you want a great view. I stayed in a sixth floor room without Cathedral view, but the room itself was excellent - lovely big bedroom with plenty of space, and very clean and comfortable.
Easy to get to - only 5-10 mins walk from the aerobus stop in Placa Catalunya, and 5 mins walk to the Jaume 1 metro station

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all we´d like to thank you for you stay at the Hotel Colon. We are really happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated our facilities.

It is true; in a big city like ours location is a key element when it comes to maximizing exciting experiences. We are located right in the mythical Barri Gotic, and just a few walk-minutes from Plaza Cataluña and the Rambla.

We would love to have you stay with us on your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed in a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Cathedral. Well appointed, lots of storage. The hotel was within walking distance of several restaurants and shops in addition to the wonderful historic sites. Staff was friendly and helpful; complimentary breakfast generous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for staying with us at the Colon Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy while with us.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don´t hesitate in contacting us. We´ll be looking forward to see you again at Colon Hotel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.