We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colon Hotel

Save Saved
You added Colon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Colon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 520 hotels in Barcelona
San Ramon, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Had a nice stay at the hotel, although we were only in the room to sleep, and only stayed 2 nights. The room was large, clean and had a nice bathroom. My bed was a bit on the hard side, but otherwise nice. There was remodeling going on in the area next to our room, but thankfully it only lasted one afternoon. When we checked in we were not advised about any of the amenities at the hotel, which I found odd. The location and the price were good and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would porbaly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colon and for taking the time to share your opinion and impressions with fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

The Hotel Colon is an ideal choice for travelers who wish to stay at a cozy, neat and tidy hotel at affordable rates in the centre and explore Barcelona on foot or/and by using the city's efficient underground system.

Looking forward to your next stay with us, we remain with best regards from Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    409
    95
    41
    15
See reviews for
193
381
87
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've been to Barcelona 5 times since 2004 and stayed in 5 different hotels including the highly-rated Montecarlo. To me, the Colon is just as good as the Montecarlo and a lot cheaper. The desk staff are attentive and friendly, and speak good English. The hotel is older but clean, and the beds comfy. I booked two rooms, one for my son and me, another for a friend, and both were upgraded free of charge to superior rooms which are huge. Ok, that was just luck and timing since late November is low season, but I would still have been happy in one of the regular rooms. Cannot beat the location. Next time in Barca, this will be my hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest:

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are committed to deliver an unforgettable experience while visiting Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here at Trip Advisor with such a detailed comment. We are really happy to read that you appreciated our team’s efficient and friendly service and enjoyed our facilities.

We look forward to your next visit!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our second time in Barcelona and our second time a the Hotel Colon. Both times my husband and I were traveling with our two kids. This time we had a 2 room suite. The bedroom had two twin beds and the living room had a pull out couch and a roll-away bed. It was plenty spacious for all of us. The hotel personnel were very helpful, especially the bellman Sean from Seattle. The location is perfect for exploring the Bari Gothic and just about any part of the city. We have not tried the restaurant because of the many other restaurants available in the area. The rooms were clean and neat and we had no problems during our stay. We will definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest:

Glad to hear you enjoyed your second time in Barcelona and especially your second stay with us at Colon Hotel. We´d like to thank you for choosing us once again.

It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next escapade!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We enjoyed several days at the Hotel Colon. It's a classic property, somewhat out of a time warp. Overall, a fine place to stay but not an exceptional one in and of itself. The only meals we had in the hotel were breakfasts which were ample and tasty. The staff were helpful but not particularly attentive or warm. My sense is that the hotel stays full because of its great location and doesn't have to compete too much on other attributes. That said, it's still a good place to stay because it's adjacent to the gothic quarter of town which is full of small restaurants, temptations, and distractions - and a reasonable walk from much of what you will want to see in Barcelona. The PIcasso Museum (get your tickets online to avoid lines) is a short walk away. Sagrada Familia (also tickets online) is an inexpensive cab ride. We had a great time in Barcelona and were very happy that the Colon was our base of operations.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the front overlooking the square. Great for people watching. At night, the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel Colon and your explanatory feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. We are most thankful for constructive reviews for they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests' needs and wants.

For any leisure traveler interested in visiting Barcelona's many cultural and tourist attractions, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: Many of Barcelona's hotspots are virtually round the corner and the city's efficient and easy-to-use metro system takes you to sites further away.

We look forward to accommodating you , so please don´t hesitate in contacting us!.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our family spent four nights at the Hotel Colon this past week. The hotel was recommended to us for it's location - which we soon discovered is second to none! Off the busy thoroughfares but on an historic square that is close and convenient to all. The winding streets of the Gothic district are mere steps away, La Rambla and the harbor each an easy 10 minute stroll. Best of all was the view from our two rooms - the breathtaking Gothic Cathedral.

The Colon is an older, somewhat dated hotel but it oozes character and warmth. The staff was helpful and accommodating at every turn - even bringing us an electric converter when our daughter blew out hers - and her room's electric fuse - while using her curling iron. The front desk staff were ready with recommendations when asked, making dinner reservations, as well as arranging for a car and driver for a visit to the Dali Museum (a must see) in Figueres. The rooms were spotless and well kept and the terrace doors kept the noise of the holiday festival being readied in the square at bay. Breakfast was included in our hotel rate and the offerings, while the same each day (fresh fruit, cheeses, ham and bacon, scrambled eggs, yogurt, croissants, breads, muffins, fresh squeezed orange juice and coffee and tea), were ample and fresh.

A sleek modern hotel this is not, but those can be had most anywhere. The Colon offers a fabulous location and views second to none.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views of the Cathedral - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at the Colon Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities. For us it is very important that our guests feel comfortable and happy throughout their time at the hotel.

As you described in your comment we are strategically located near the Plaza Catalunya, Plaza Universitat and las Ramblas, with numerous restaurants, bars, museums, and clubs within walking distance. And for a change of scenery, our easy-to-use public transportation will take you to virtually all other touristic attractions in the city in just minutes.

We would love to have you stay with us again next time you are in town. So please, feel free to contact us anytime.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great location close to everything. The single room was fine- clean and comfortable although the design isn't very interesting. The deal I had was really worth it though. The reception staff was nice, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Barcelona and especially your stay with us. We´d like to thank you for choosing us for your weekend in the city.

This wonderful cosmopolitan town offers different touristic attractions and we are located within walking distance of many hotspots and just a-few-minutes metro or bus ride to the rest of them.
It will be great to have you again next time you visit this part of the Mediterranean, so please don´t hesitate in contacting us as soon as you find yourself planning your next trip.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duisburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is near to almost everywhere you want to go in El Gòtic, like the Lambla and Picasso Museum, not to mention the cathedral which is just in front. The Mercat Gòtic also in front of the hotel where people sell some interesting old things.
The people in the front desk is also friendly and helpful. They helped me store my bag since I came quite early and when I checked in in the afternoon my bag is right in my room.
The only drawback of my stay is the soundproof problem. I can hear clear what happened in the corridor, though it may be a common problem for hotels in Spain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Hotel Colon and for your kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our amenities and facilities.

For any leisure traveler interested in discover Barcelona, our hotel is definitely an excellent choice: we are located in the downtown area, only minutes away from shops, restaurants and many other hotspots.

If you find yourself planning your next trip to Barcelona, please don't hesitate in contacting us. We would love to have you back as a guest!.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel
Hotel Colon
Colon Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#58 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.