We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Palace Hotel to your Saves list
El Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at El Palace. In its previous life it was The Ritz and taxi drivers still refer to it as that. The hotel is very luxurious and service was superb as was the breakfast though at Euro28 a head it's is not cheap. You can get a good quality breakfast or snack at the cafe opposite.
The rooms are very well equipped and the bathrooms great, especially the walk in shower. There is building work opposite but you don't hear it with the windows closed. All rooms have air conditioning.
It is one street off the Passieg se Gracia which did feel like a street too far when walking back from La Ramblas late at night but the area felt safe.
A couple of niggles: there was a bare earth wire attached to one of the wall lights in the room and they didn't fix one of the lights in the bathroom but as there were about a dozen more it did not make a big difference.
No pool unlike many of the hotels in Barcelona but we spent so much time sightseeing we probably would not have had time to use one.
Would heartily recommend.

Room Tip: 616 was nice and quiet overlooking the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    168
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
185
527
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The El Palace provided a wonderful honeymoon for me and my wife. The service is impeccable, the rooms are spacious and very clean, the hotel is walking distance from almost all the great restaurants and sight-seeing areas. We couldn't have asked for a better hotel in Barcelona.

Pros:
Central location--walking distance to lots of eating locations, tourist sites including the Sagrada Familia, beach, and central plazas.

Service--each hotel employee was extremely helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, problem-solving, and anything else we needed during our stay.

Room--The rooms were spacious. They had a walk-in closet. The king bed we had was comfortable. The tv worked well. The view was great. It was always clean.

Lounge--The lounge is opulent and worth having a drink or coffee at during your stay.

Cons:
Bathroom--The bathrooms are awkwardly designed with too many doors (shower, toilet, main door) that keep bumping into one another. It's a little tight for two people to be using at the same time.

Wi-Fi--The wi-fi connectivity was not great in the hotel rooms. We had about one bar (if that). It was fine in the lobby and the lounge though.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and the cons are just my attempt to provide feedback so that they might address these issues in the future. In other words, the pros far out-weighed the cons. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Barcelona. Thank you to all the El Palace employees for a great honeymoon experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is head and shoulders above anything else - I actually went by or had dinner at the other five stars that I was considering before spending time in Barcelona - and they weren't even close -
The rooms are elegant, the breakfast room is a gorgeous veranda, and the staff, from the maid to the concierge - were professional, elegant and graceful - not just doing their job - going beyond helpful in every possible instance.
All five stars should be doing this - but often, that is not the case for travelers. If you are considering a once in a lifetime trip to Barcelona (and if you aren't you should) - just stop reading and comparing and book this hotel. The restaurant is amazing, the spa is small but elegant, the location is perfect - and Barcelona is an amazing world city in every direction.
The desk staff upgraded us for no particular reason, except they were graceful and accommodating - we received a bottle of sparkling wine in our room that evening, just over and over people seemed to be glad that we had made this choice. If you wish to feel like royalty, you will make the absolutely perfect choice staying here. I wish that trip advisor gave me the opportunity to give six stars on the review - pay the bit extra (if you are still debating) - you aren't going to even notice the difference in a year or two - and you will remember your experience at the Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the first 2 nights of our trip in Spain. The rooms were very nice and the the staff was great. Very convenient location and easy to walk to many tourist sights. Great food and drinks just down the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

If you like tyo be pampered this is the hotel for you! Excellent nightclub and a very cool Cigar Bar. Breakfast in the atrium was exciting, almot felt like being served in a big mansion!

Spa services are wonerful...book at check-in with 15% off coupon!

Room Tip: Ask for an uggrade to a two room suite...worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qingdao
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife and I have stayed here 3 times previous, and found the hotel to be a really great place to stay. The cost is a little more than you would wish to spend, but its worth it. The rooms are large, and fairiy quite, even though the hotel is positioned on the corner of two main roads, we heard very little traffic. Breakfast is also amazing, with plenty of choice and Champagne if you want it. The staff are all very curtious and friendly. The only one issue we did have was wanting afternoon tea after a long morning and afternoon of shopping. Apparently, you need to order this 48 hours in advance. Sorry El Palace, this is not normal for a 5 star hotel. The staff did try to provide tea with some petit-fours, but it wasn't what we wanted. The only bad mark on the entire stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Nice old fashioned hotel, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Best experience, hotel I have ever stayed at.recommend to anyone.staff lovely, hotel immaculate, felt like royalty.I visited this hotel for a week in 2010, never been here before, and I will come and stay here again, it is everything and more. The service, the food, the staff is just exceptional. The hotel is close to everything, and aircon is on when you need it in the hot summer months.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.