We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"First Class Old World Luxury"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Palace Hotel to your Saves list
El Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"First Class Old World Luxury"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located near the "Ramblas" and the Gothic section of Barcelona, Old World luxury awaits you at El Palace. The formerly Ritz hotel building was recently renovated keeping the elegance and charm of its facade and interior public areas. We loved the personalized service given by their most courteous staff attending our every need. Of course the rooms are elegant and very comfortable, although we found the bathroom somewhat cramped but nicely redone. Breakfast at the rear garden is a fabulous way to start your day in this vibrant Catalonian city, then stroll to Paseo de Gracia for the finest shopping only a few blocks away.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    168
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
185
526
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was amazing. We stayed in a standard room on a high floor but it was larger than a lot of suites in other hotels. Fantastic touches like television on wall..in a mirror, hidden bar/refrigerator and luxurious decorations. The location was perfect, close to attractions, shopping, restaurants. The staff was so helpful. The weather didn't cooperate on one particular night so we ate dinner at The Caelis at the hotel. We are normally not fans of hotel restaurants for dinners but this proved us wrong. It was a 5 star restaurant for the food and service. Very leisurely romantic dinner. I would stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: High floor but the rooms are quiet...clearly they used specialized glass because the hotel is on a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel; Superb staff; Ideal location; Perfect room decoration; Super sized bath room; Excellent breakfast; Everything that a 5* hotel should have is available here. (As a side-track: food in restaurant Caelis is superb - maybe missing a little bit of cosiness)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had the absolute pleasure of staying at El Palace for 5 nights.

Formally The Ritz the public rooms were simply stunning. Staff were amazing, so friendly, warm and attentive. They really made you feel like a VIP.

Our suite was tastefully decorated with plush curtains and decadent furnishings. Loved the dressing room but the best part had to be the bathroom. The shower was big enough for 4 people. Full marble, jacuzzi bath and his & hers sinks.

Even loved getting back at 2am on the last night and there was a power cut. We called the concierge who arranged for candles to be brought to our room and we danced til dawn.

Utter and unadulterated luxury.

It has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at here for 3 nights in April 2013, just love it! Strongly suggest people to stay here for who will go Barcelona, not only its perfect location ( you could walk to lots major shopping/sightseeing places ) but also friendly&helpful hotel staff and gorgeoue classic interior. All staff are trying hard to make your stay as comfort as possible. Enjoyed having buffet breakfast at The Garden and having drink at Bar Hall in the elegant atmosphere with not really expensive price. Room service is served quick and well. Also room is always kept clean, and the bed is firm and comfortable for sleep.
It's a truly lovely 5 stars hotel!!! I would love to stay here again next time to Barcelona..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed here 2 or 3 times while in Barcelona, it's a lovely place, absolutely gorgeous interior.

Roman Bath.
I had rooms with Roman bath and they were extremely comfortable for me, I've never had it in any other hotels. The bathroom also offers a separate hot tab and a shower room in addition to that Roman bathing pace.

Bed
Hands down the most comfortable bed I've ever had. They use some kind of coconut mattresses and even offer them for sale. I might buy it for home, hands down the best good night sleep so far.

Food.
The breakfat was nice, good selection of food. They can also cook whatever you prefer eggs or omelets.
There is a famous restaurant in the lobby but I have never gone there. I much prefered the cafe they have in the lobby, the food is extremely nice and the serving is very attentive.

Service.
They really try the best to make your stay the best. The reseptionists, the concierge, the cleaning ladies, the waiters are very well trained and seem really care about your comfort :) There iis nothing they can't help you with in this hotel.
And believe me, I have experienced a bad service in 5 stars before, so I know what I'm talking about. One of the worst 5 stars hotels I've experienced in my life is also located in Barcelona - Casa Fuster. I should had filed police report on those criminals working for that place.

Location.
It's in a good location but not the best. Kind of boring. It's 2 blocks from the passege de gracia and it's kind of slow. I wish it was exactly on the pasege de gracia, in this case it would be the perfect hotel in Barcelona.

Other than that I really enjoyed this hotel and would definately come back. It's a very good example of what 5 stars hotels should be.

Bravo, El Palace.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the Roman Bath! It's a really unique bathing experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

El Palace impressed from the minute we walked into the lobby - marble, chandeliers and fresh flowers - everything the lobby of a grand palace hotel should have. The lounge area was beautiful, and the breakfast conservatory was lovely. I would like to nominate the chinoiserie-style business lounge as one of the most beautiful I've ever seen. We were staying in an entry-level room, and were perfectly happy with it - I particularly liked the original fireplace and the wallpaper. The bathroom was also very presentable. El Palace earns its place on the neilsonparc hotel lust list.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.