We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added El Palace Hotel to your Saves list
El Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
san diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Loved El Palace Hotel. It is a beautiful, old, historic hotel in a central location in Barcelona. It was formerly a Four Seasons property and retains a strong sense of old world elegance. It is in easy walking distance to all the fascinations of Los Rambles and many wonderful nearby restaurants. The hotel is elegant and beautifully decorated with wonderful antiques. The rooms are impeccable, comfortable, clean and quiet, ours with an interesting city view. The beds are wonderful, the bathrooms modern and comfortable and we appreciated the orchids in the bathroom! The staff are welcoming, helpful and professional. We loved Barcelona and highly recommend El Palace Hotel. It provides an elegant perch from which to explore wonderful Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    168
    43
    23
    13
See reviews for
185
526
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed at El Palace in Barcelona in June 2011. Overall, the hotel was beautiful in a very opulent, old-world way. We got upgraded to a junior suite, as it was the off season for the hotel, and were really pleased with the comfort of the bed and the spacious bathroom (there were actually two full rooms, one with the shower/bath and the other with the toilet). Their shower amenities were the best I've seen with L'Occitane's Citrus Verbana collection (which I loved so much, I bought full bottles when I got home). Service was attentive and very pleasant, we were always greeted with a smile whenever we entered a common room. We never ate at the hotel so I have no comment there although the Caelis restaurant is supposed to be lovely.

Two things I would note as negatives are as follows:
1) The hotel really is geared towards older travelers and does not have the fun atmosphere of a place like the W hotel on La Barceloneta. While I thought my stay was lovely, I will likely stay elsewhere on my next trip as I prefer a younger and livelier crowd. I would not hesitate to stay here again if I were vacationing with, say, my parents.

2) There are computers available in one of the common rooms but we had internet and sign-in issues two of the three times we attempted to use them. Both times the staff was attentive and worked to eventually solve the problem but it was certainly an annoyance. An upgrade to the computers (which were very old) would really help as everyone now needs internet connection, even while vacationing.

Just to reiterate, this was a lovely, elegant hotel with a lot of old world glamour and great service, but if you are a young couple looking for a fun place, this may not be the right fit for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My mother and I spent 4 nights at the hotel in early May and it was fantastic! This was one of my favorite hotels in all of Europe and definitely my favorite in Spain. Although everything was great, the people at the concierge were the absolute best. I don't think I have ever encountered such helpful, lovely, polite and knowledgeable concierge professionals. The entire staff always had a smile and made us feel so at home. We called housekeeping once and they were at our door in 30 seconds. We had a little problem with our phone upon checking in and they had a repairman in our room within 10 minutes. The building and all the public areas were gorgeous and absolutely immaculate! The bed was wonderful, bathroom was modern and large with generous toiletries. The breakfast room was in a converted patio which was just lovely.

The location was fantastic - we could walk everywhere and there was also a taxi stand right across the street.

My only negative comment is that it would have been nice to get free wi-fi in the room.

I will most definitely stay here on my next trip to Barcelona and will recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

A very professionally run hotel. Deserves its five stars. Concierge terrific.

Small complaint: At beautiful breakfast buffet, they should offer something other than scrambled eggs. Many five-star hotels have a cook making eggs and omelets to order.

Tip: Several taxi drivers were confused when we asked for El Palace. So when you take a cab, remind them that El Palace used to be the Ritz.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Barcelona and our stay at El Palace was the perfect place to stay. Kudos to the concierge services!! I can't say enough about how wonderful they were. Because we had never visited Barcelona, we relied heavily on their assistance and recommendations. Each time we stopped by the desk, they were so accommodating, pulling out their maps to highlight routes to follow, sites to see and good restaurants to try. Being the foodies that we are, we were skeptical, thinking that they must be recommending places that they have a relationship with, but that couldn't have been further from the truth. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on!
The room was lovely too, with a very large closet. Where I think they can do better is on their bed and pillows. The bed was very hard and it was only after requesting a featherbed to soften it (which they graciously provided), and feather pillows, was it comfortable to sleep in. Also, for safety reasons, they need to provide a highlight in the bathroom for those middle of the night visits. Overall, the place is fabulous and I would most definitely stay there on my next visit to Barcelona.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor which had a wonderful view of the Gran Via and city below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel has been elegantly and delicately furbished and leaves up to all expectations.
it is located in the heart of the city wihin and easy and relaxing walking distance to the main attractions.
it has and elegant residential feel about it.
The rooms offer a warm and inviting atmosphere within, decorated with beautiful fabrics.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed 4 nights after our cruise. We are so glad we stayed here. Our stay was in a beautifully decorated room facing the Gran Via. The furnishings were classic, bed comfortable, A/C worked quietly, and all was clean. The bath was best we have seen in Europe: Roman tub, big shower with rain or spray head, 2 sinks and fine soaps and accessories. The location is great: just a few blocks to La Rambla and Passeig. But quiet at night. Good food in restaurants and great breakfast buffet in quiet garden. I cannot say enough about staff. Reception was efficient; Concierge helped with reservations, taxi, advice; Housekeeping provided all extras needed. The Executive Housekeeper even had our personal pillow cases (for special pillows we brought) cleaned; and she personally delivered them. Thanks Pipa!

Room Tip: Gran Via side had nice sunny views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Palace Hotel

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 668, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — El Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Palace Hotel has been totally refurbished and reopened late 2009. The works have preserved the classic spirit that has always characterised this property, distinguished as a symbol of Barcelona’s hotel tradition. Set in the heart of the city centre, close to Las Ramblas and in the most prestigious shopping area, it is surrounded by boulevards, theatres and main banks. It has an excellent transport connections and it is just 20 min from el Prat Airport.After the restoration, the Hotel will have 125 rooms, 42 of which will be suites and junior suites, all equipped with last-generation technology. A new room design, a soft interior re-decoration of public areas and lounges and the realignment and optimisation of the architectural infrastructure will enhance the beauty and majesty of our Hotel like in the 20’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, LHW, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your El Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Palace Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.