We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Hotel in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lorton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Majestic Hotel in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Barcelona and the Majestic was well worth the expense. It is convenient to shopping and within walking distance to the ancient city center. The hotel is well cared for and the staff was pleasant and focused on our needs. The view from the 10th floor is spectacular ! My only recommendation would be to include wi-fi in with the room price. It was truly a pain to have to pay for a new password to connect each day. The connection was only good for a single site so this took some getting used to. Other than the wifi- it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have taken good note about your suggestions regarding our WIFI service. Let me inform you that we are working on it with the purpose of providing a better service and if it is possible, totally free. Nevertheless we will have your suggestion in consideration for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at Majestic Hotel & Spa in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    260
    61
    23
    10
See reviews for
236
476
33
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel has a really good location in Barcelona .It has a spectacular terrace on the top floor the care has been the best, thanks. I could not eat but breakfast looked right. Clean, helpfull staff and friendly. Nearby good ( too good) shopping . After Barcelona we went to Costa Brava , near Lloret de Mar a cosy luxury resort hotel on the sea ,Rigat

Room Tip: backside better Aveniu is very busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your opinion posted about your stay with us.
I am pleased to read that your overall impression of the hotel and staff is a good one and I am certainly happy that your stay with us did satisfy you.
It has been our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here at the end of April and loved every minute of our stay. The room was huge and we had a view to the street and a small balcony.
The location is amazing, situated close to a subway station and between two of Gaudi's buildings Casa Balto & Casa Mila (100 meters away). This gives you the ability to get to them early and beat the crowds.
The roof top terrace is great with a good view of Sagrada Familia, the drinks are on the expensive side but the view is worth it, there is a pool but we didn't use it.
The staff and the front counter were very helpful with bars and restaurant recommendations and were extremely nice.
The breakfast was amazing, if you like Iberian ham and other meats, sweets, pancakes and huge range of breads, include this in your room booking.
The only down side about this hotel is lack of free wifi, but the benefits clearly out way the only negative. Definately stay here!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a junior suite, they are spacious, have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your overall positive comments which contrasts with the title of your review and the grade you gave us. I hope to welcome you back at Majestic Hotel & Spa.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves its 5 stars. Great location, helpful and friendly staff - great restaurant recommendations from the concierge. Roof terrace is great!
The only negatives were that they charge 15euros per day for wifi, breakfast is expensive and my husband slipped in the shower which is over the bath.
Overall I would definitely stay there again! :). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your last experience at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona.

First of all, let me apologize because as a General Manager I was not well informed about your husband incident. Thank you so much because with your review I can transmit your experience to our maintenance department in order to check our bathroom fitting supplies.

I hope that eventually the incident you have explained was just a scare. I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from our second 5 day trip to one of our favourite city's, this time stayed at the Majestic in one of their suites, great choice. Hotel overall excellent, staff courteous and helpful, food exceptional.

Ideal location, Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: For something special book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments.
Majestic Hotel & Spa will be looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is right on the best shopping street in Barcelona. The bar on the top floor has excellent views over the city and does very nice cocktails. I found the rooms to be very well designed. It seems to be newly refurbished so there are some small niggles. For example the bed is on casters which must make cleaning easy but it also makes for a strange bed time experience! Otherwise I couldn't fault the service. The room service was really great- especially the wine! The roof top pool was a disappointment in that it was right in the middle of the bar area which meant it was only appropriate for exhibitionists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We always appreciate hearing from our guests and take note of either, positive or negative comments. I have taken good note about your comments regarding the casters in beds, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that this fact could have caused you during your stay, but as you well have said this system was installed in order to make easier the cleaning procedure.
Thank you very much for your feedback and let me inform you that we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

For our 40th wedding anniversary, my wife and I decided to celebrate with an extended Mediterranean cruise, from Barcelona, our port of embarkation, to Venice, the jewel of the Adriatic. To help put us into the spirit of the moment, I decied to book us into the Majestic Hotel in Barcelona for an additional three days before our ship departed, and that was one of the best decisions I have ever made! The Majestic is one of Classic Vacations' Five Star properties in Europe, and based on our estay there, they have earned every star! Situated on Barcelona's magnificent boulevard, right in the middle of fine restaurants, exclusive shops, and tree-lined splendor, the Majestic rolled out the red carpet for us from the very beginning of our stay. From the warm curbside welcome, through the thoroughly professional process of checking in--the staff dressed "to the nines"--every part of our three-daystay there was in perfect order. Our room was beautiful and spacious, the bathroom immaculate, the furnishings in very good taste. We did not take advantage of the spa, but a quick survey of the menu of services led me to believe it to be at least the equal of others we had used, in Las Vegas and on fine cruise ships. The hotel desk staff were able to answer our every question concerning our stay in Barcelona, and we followed their recommendations! Through them, we were able to secure tickets for the Red and Blue Line open-top sightseeing bus tours, which we throughly enjoyed. We recommend taking advantage ofthese tours, which, between the two lines, provide a complete survey of the city. Don't miss La Sagrada Familia, Gaudi's fanciful basilca--it exceeded our every expectation, the Picasso Museum, and the Provincial Art Museum of Catalunya on the summit overlooking the city. When you get hungry, there are several good restaurants near the hotel, and we enjoyed the tapas bars immensely. There is also a McDonald's restaurant just a block away, and the coffee is quite good. The Majestic is a fine hotel, the equal of some Four Seasons properties we have stayed at, and we recommend it highly. Based on our experience there, we would not hesitate to stay at other Classic Vacations locations. Incidentally, we booked our airfare through Classic as well, and that proved to be a good decision, one we would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-MajesticGroup, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your opinion posted about your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that your overall impression of the hotel is a good one and I am certainly happy that your stay with us did satisfy you.
It has been our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you again to Majestic Hotel & Spa next time you come back to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.