We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel at a perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona to your Saves list
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel at a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This is most certainly a 5 star hotel! Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. I had a junior suite which was very clean, spacious and had a terrific bathroom, I really loved the shower. It was one of these big rain shower head and combined with a very good water pressure, made showering an extremely relaxing experience. Indeed, as some other people mentioned, they charge for the coffee capsules. It is just 1 Euro, but still, it gives the wrong signal altogether and is somehow out of sink with the rest. They were certainly not stingy with anything else, the amount and quality of the shampoos, shower gels etc was far better than any other hotel I've ever stayed in, so why charge for a silly little cup of coffee? The roof terrace is lovely and offers beautiful views and the breakfast buffet offered all I could possibly have wanted and more. I would certainly recommend this hotel any time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for letting us know your opinion and for giving us some important suggestions about the coffee service.
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodation. Led me explain you that as a present of the house you have 2 coffee capsules for free. After these two capsules you have to pay for your other consumes because we consider that it is part of our Minibar offer.
Thank you very much for detailing your experience which I obviously will transmit to each department head involved.
Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    259
    61
    22
    10
See reviews for
234
476
33
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a five star hotel in my opinion. Wonderful staff and our room was just lovely. A marble bathroom with a rainshower as well as a hand appliance, very roomy as well.
We had a sitting room with a flat screen TV as well as a very comfortable bed in the generous bedroom with another large flat screen TV. If we should return to Barcelona this is where we'd stay, no questions asked. You just can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for sharing your Majestic Hotel & Spa experience.
I was delighted to see that your overall impression of the hotel and staff is a good one.
We look forward to welcoming you to Majestic the next time you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just returned from Barcelona where we ended a cruise. We spent 4 nights after the cruise in Barcelona at the Majestic. It was one of the loveliest hotels I've ever stayed at. We were off our cruise by about 8:30 in the morning, tired from a late night prior. We got to the hotel around 10 and they checked us in immediately to an upgraded room. The staff was fabulous. Everyone we encountered was kind and helpful. Got a great reommendation for dinner from the doorman, who actually went into the hotel and called the restaurant to tell them we were coming. Breakfast is really good and they will do "special"orders if their good assortment of food isn't what you want. Also, it's a great location. We walked almost everywhere from there. Also used the hop on hop off tour bus, which stops 2 blocks from the hotel. And cabs are pretty cheap. All in all a GREAT stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for posting your opinion about your recent stay a Majestic Hotel & Spa.
It has been our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel the next time you come back to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had requested an "accessible" room, or at least a room with a shower rather than a tub. When we arrived, we had to wait in the lobby over six hours before one became available!
On our last night, there was a horrible smell in the room. We complained, and the staff apologetically told us that a paint job was in progress immediately below us. They brought up an air purifier, but even by the next morning some of the smell lingered.
Otherwise the room was quite luxurious...

Room Tip: The best rooms are outside the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting your opinion.
We always appreciate hearing from our guests, because your comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodation and feed back our staff. We would like to apologise for the negative points that you have mentioned regarding your check in. Let me explain you that our official check-in time is 3.00 pm but if we have had your assigned room available tended to be sure that we would have delivered it. Moreover, accept my apologies for the painting smell in your room because sometimes the necessary maintenances works can affect to our clients but with your comments we realise that we have to find some alternatives to avoid this kind of mistakes.
Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Very nice location and decor but the food was terrible! They put me in a room by a firescape with a view of a construction zone....I don't think so! Changed rooms with a street view not bad. room amenities were nice, shower was heavenly. ordered breakfast asked for egg whites (omg)! I received a white mound of pebbles the size of a grapefruit! I only got part of my breakfast and had to ask about the rest of it! They brought it up soon after, I asked about the questionable eggs, the wait staff said were just simple people, "then charge simple prices". ( I didn't say it but I was thinking it! I think it was 40 bucks for breakfast. Overall, impressed with hotel, not a fan of service or food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion from Majestic Hotel & Spa .

First of all, let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with our hotel as we are all very committed to deliver a very high level of service quality.

On regards to your comments about the food in our Restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies. A guest not satisfied is a failure for us and we always learn from it to get better and better.
I will transmit your comments to the F&B Manager in order to improve and avoid mistakes as the ones you have explained.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate you the renowned quality of our property if ever your travel bring you back to Barcelona.

Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my second visit to the Majestic, located in the centre of Barcelona. It is an adequate business hotel but it is let down by a few simple things that could be easily solved. Here we go...

Internet is expensive (Kubi wireless) and it doesn't allow you to be logged on with more than one device at a time. I had my iPad running and needed my laptop to work - couldn't do it. 5 star hotel MUST offer free wifi to justify the prices and in the public areas at least.

My room was small, noisy with an equally small bathroom. Two nights was plenty.

Breakfast is a disgrace. Again for 5 stars this hotel offers the most basic standard selection in a crowded, stuffy room. Really disappointing.

Finally, this is Barcelona. Party city. What are they doing shutting the lobby bar at 0130!?!? All we wanted was a beer and we had to order room service. Dull.

In defence, the staff are very nice and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for your comments, we always appreciate your feedback in so detailing way because with it we can see what we do well and in what we have to invest.

Let me apologize if you have not been fully satisfied with your Majestic Hotel experience, I will transmit your opinion in our Direction Committee in order to improve some points that you have mentioned with all the heads involved.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and demonstrate you that we can do it better than your last visit.

Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in Majestic in September for 3 nights. First time in Barcelona. On arrival at the hotel we found the reception staff quite friendly. Got to our room which was small but everything there. We had only been in the room for 15 minutes when we started to cough. The room was so dusty from the work being carried out to the hotel and when we looked out through the window it was like a bomb site with the air conditioning unit in the middle of it. We decided to ask for a different room as we were finding it difficult to breath. We went to reception and there we found a very unfriendly receptionist who never once apologised. We stayed put until we got another room on the 3rd floor still looking out on the bomb site but it was a lot better. We did not use the airconditioning because that was how the dust was getting into the room. I feel it is totally unacceptable that a 5* hotel charges for tea and coffee in the room and there is no free internet. Great location but no way would I stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-GRavasi, Director General at Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,
Thank you for sharing your opinion from Majestic Hotel & Spa, this kind of review is important for us because with them we know where we have failed.
Please, let me apologize for the inconveniences related to the views of your room and the attitude you describe from our staff, which I obviously will transmit to our Reception head department, in order to improve our service.
I regret your stay was not satisfactory and I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Best regards,
Gemma Ravasi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 68, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe 5-star traditional hotel in the real heart of Barcelona, few steps away from Gaudi monuments and famous Rambla. Entirely renovated, it offers excellence in service for the most demanding travelers. Rooftop terrace with panoramic view and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel And Spa Barcelona
Majestic Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Majestic Barcelona
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.