We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Carrer de Mallorca, 401, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 935 13 20 60
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$40*
and up
Skip the Line: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour
Ranked #2 of 288 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Churches/ Cathedrals, Cultural
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This masterpiece of modernist architecture, built by Antoni Gaudi, pushes the gothic style to the extreme, drawing hundreds of visitors a day.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Im not normally into walking around churches but i was completely converted after walking around this one. I was in awe of the buliding itself and the detail and sheer size of everything. The stained glass windows were wonderful and i found myself really exploring every nook and cranny, well worth a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27,534
    6,251
    1,708
    389
    193
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Incredible structure that must be seen. However, it was very, very busy and hot in august, perhaps it would be more pleasurable in the spring or fall

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great attraction during your stay in Barcelona!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Beautiful surroundings and fantastic architecture. We visited around the Sagrada Familia as the queue was too long by the time we arrived. You`re recommended to arrive before 9am if you want to visit inside the building.
Simply stunning from outside(and bet even better from inside).
Definitely worth a visit if you`re visiting Barcelona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The architecture and stonemasonry is mind-blowing. Gaudi truly was a genius!!
Having been to Barcelona many times I have never been to Sagrada Familia as it's always swarming with cruise ships tours and I'm not one for herds of tourists with cameras pushing and shoving. On this occasion I went with my husband who is a stonemason & I'm so glad we did go!!
This is an expensive excursion at 20Euros per person, but at least all the takings are funding the building work as the church is not due for completion until 2026 (when it is finished we will surely go back!!)
We were surrounded by waves of tourists and it was overcrowded but we still really enjoyed seeing the cathedral & learning a bit more about Gaudi.
On the downside, there's no cafe inside and you can't get back in when you go out so make sure you have a little snack before or you'll fade before you see it all!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must visit in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

beautiful! close to the metro you need to purchase a ticket before you enter..................................

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the Sagrada Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.