We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waurv!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Carrer de Mallorca, 401, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 935 13 20 60
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 342 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This masterpiece of modernist architecture, built by Antoni Gaudi, pushes the gothic style to the extreme, drawing hundreds of visitors a day.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waurv!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We queued for about half an hour to get tickets to see the church and enter the towers. We could have booked online and walked straight in, but the queue moved quickly, the weather was fine and we spent the time examining the exterior of the building, which is just as splendid as the inside.

We spent several hours inside the church and took hundreds of pictures. The museum underneath the church is well worth a visit also. La Familia Sagrada is positively the most beautiful church we have ever visited!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32,668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24,926
    5,686
    1,534
    348
    174
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“get tickets online”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

otherwise, you will be stuck in line for almost two hours, also, the guided tours are not worth it, just get the self guided audio tour

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“The most amazing building I have ever seen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had seen the Sagrada Familia in 1998 but not on the inside (there was little to see at that time). I went back to Barcelona this summer and bought tickets online in advance to see the church from the inside. I was glad I bought the tickets in advance because there was a long queue at the ticket office. I spent 3 hours inside to enjoy this amazing building. I think you can do it in less time but there was so much to see and the atmosphere was so nice that I stayed as long as I did.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inspiring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

One of the main reasons I wanted to go to Barcelona was to see this in person. It is even better than I thought. Worth the small fee to go inside. It´s a true icon. get there early to avoid crowds and queues.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“must see if you are in barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have visited many cathedrals in various capitals in the world, but this building Gaudi hit where everything really. What a great structure. also the legend is still alive because the cathedral still being phased out, and new 'old' parts go together.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the Sagrada Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.