We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outside :)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Carrer de Mallorca, 401, 08013 Barcelona, Spain
+34 93 208 04 14
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$39*
and up
Skip the Line: Barcelona Sagrada Familia Tour
Ranked #1 of 524 things to do in Barcelona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Basilica of the Sagrada Familia is a monumental church devoted to the Holy Family: Jesus, Mary and Joseph. Construction began in 1882, based on plans drawn up by the architect Francisco de Paula del Villar, and Antoni Gaudi was commissioned to continue the project in 1883. The Temple has always been an expiatory church, built only from donations. As Gaudi said: "The Expiatory Church of the Sagrada Familia is made by the people and is mirrored in them. It is a work that is in the hands of God and the will of the people." In 2010, Pope Benedict XVI consecrated the site as a minor basilica.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful outside :)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Church is the most beautiful on the outside, if you don't feel the need of giving a lot of your money to the church, the outside is more than enough. If you want to see the work of Gaudi, the outside is also enough. I felt the inside was not what he would have done if he had lived to see his work done, and since the drawings are gone,I guess we'll never know ... Have fun in Barcelona!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly a "Must See" in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

You can travel all over Europe and never find a more beautiful cathedral than this. It is truly a work of art that should not be missed. The amazing architecture will steal your breath away. This is by far the most beautiful cathedral I've ever seen. Dont wait in line for tickets. Use the free wifi across the street at McDonalds and buy tickets on your smart phone. Then bring your credit card to the seperate line for internet tickets. We waited for 5 minutes to get in. Don't miss it on your trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Modern Marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This church, though unfinished, is one of the wonders of the world. Antonio Gaudi started working on it at the end of the 19th century, and it won't be finished until well into the 21st century. It's truly awe inspiring.
I'm told that the trip to the top of the belfry is worth the view. Too many stairs for me.
Don't miss the exhibits in the basement -- which tell the construction story -- and the gift shop.
You shouldn't visit Barcelona without seeing this extraordinary modern marvel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

La Sagrada Familia has to be one of the "must see" attractions in Barcelona. Although I enjoyed the houses (Casa Batlló and La Pedrera/Casa Mila) for their stunning architecture, the sheer scale of Gaudi's cathedral masterpiece is hard to appreciate until you visit (maybe the fact that it's not expected to be completed for quite a few more years gives some idea!). It's also incredibly light inside and quite unlike any other cathedral I've visited - modern or ancient. Unfortunately we couldn't travel to the top of the towers on the day we visited and parts of the church were closed for a service that was due to take place later in the day, but I'm really glad we made it out there. Definitely recommended. Don't forget to take a look at the exhibition in the vaults whilst you are there!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkAWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a mind to build this! Expensive but extraordinary. Metro station right there so easy access. It closes slightly earlier in the evening than the other attractions so don't get caught out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing