We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extraordinary Modern Marvel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
., 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
34-934-550-247
Website
Update attraction details
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 317 attractions in Barcelona
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This masterpiece of modernist architecture, built by Antoni Gaudi, pushes the gothic style to the extreme, drawing hundreds of visitors a day.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Modern Marvel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This church, though unfinished, is one of the wonders of the world. Antonio Gaudi started working on it at the end of the 19th century, and it won't be finished until well into the 21st century. It's truly awe inspiring.
I'm told that the trip to the top of the belfry is worth the view. Too many stairs for me.
Don't miss the exhibits in the basement -- which tell the construction story -- and the gift shop.
You shouldn't visit Barcelona without seeing this extraordinary modern marvel.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,431
    3,842
    1,064
    255
    111
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

La Sagrada Familia has to be one of the "must see" attractions in Barcelona. Although I enjoyed the houses (Casa Batlló and La Pedrera/Casa Mila) for their stunning architecture, the sheer scale of Gaudi's cathedral masterpiece is hard to appreciate until you visit (maybe the fact that it's not expected to be completed for quite a few more years gives some idea!). It's also incredibly light inside and quite unlike any other cathedral I've visited - modern or ancient. Unfortunately we couldn't travel to the top of the towers on the day we visited and parts of the church were closed for a service that was due to take place later in the day, but I'm really glad we made it out there. Definitely recommended. Don't forget to take a look at the exhibition in the vaults whilst you are there!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Astonishing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a mind to build this! Expensive but extraordinary. Metro station right there so easy access. It closes slightly earlier in the evening than the other attractions so don't get caught out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great xmas day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic trip to this Barcelona landmark we took the audio tour but were disappointed that we couldnt use the lifts, not realising that when we booked this on line we should also have booked lift tickets as once inside you couldnt buy tickets but well worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The Church was absolutely amazing. The architecture was stunning. December was a great time of year to go - the crowds were very manageable and we didn't have to wait in line very long. I would love to go back and see the progress they make on building the church. Absolutely wonderful! A must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the Sagrada Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.