We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great xmas day trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of the Sagrada Familia

Basilica of the Sagrada Familia
Carrer de Mallorca, 401, 08013 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 935 13 20 60
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 331 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Religious Sites, Architectural Buildings, Churches/ Cathedrals
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This masterpiece of modernist architecture, built by Antoni Gaudi, pushes the gothic style to the extreme, drawing hundreds of visitors a day.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great xmas day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fantastic trip to this Barcelona landmark we took the audio tour but were disappointed that we couldnt use the lifts, not realising that when we booked this on line we should also have booked lift tickets as once inside you couldnt buy tickets but well worth a visit

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22,465
    5,127
    1,387
    323
    151
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The Church was absolutely amazing. The architecture was stunning. December was a great time of year to go - the crowds were very manageable and we didn't have to wait in line very long. I would love to go back and see the progress they make on building the church. Absolutely wonderful! A must see!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't Miss La Sagrada Familia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a "must see" when in Barcelona. What was designed and started by Gaudi and is being finished by modern contrctors is an amazing structure whose inspiration was nature itself. Gaudi took cues from trees, flowers, forests, and various fauna to create columns, arches, and towers that are truly unique. The outside is breathtaking, but the inside is where you get a feel for what Gaudi was all about. Still under construction after more than 300 years, and now being finished thanks to an influx of funding from around the world, this cathedral is one of the most impressive structures I've ever seen. Do look for other buildings in Barcelona designed by Gaudi, also. La Sagrada Familia is well worth the time and admission fee. You are free to take photos indoors. The gift shop is also nice. It has many items made right in Barcelona.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing but not my favorite site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This church is truly amazing - but it's not our favorite site designed by Gaudi. The exterior for us was the best and most amazing part of this building. The inside seems so new in comparison to the exterior.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a very overwhelmingly beautiful church. It is huge and grand. The towers are amazing, the interior even more so.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of the Sagrada Familia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Basilica of the Sagrada Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of the Sagrada Familia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.