We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not a lot of his major works” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso)

Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso)
Montcada, 15-23, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
(+34) 93 256 30 00
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #64 of 323 attractions in Barcelona
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum is dedicated to the work of legendary painter Pablo Picasso, showcasing over three thousand paintings, sculptures and drawings.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good but not a lot of his major works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Picasso lived in Barcelona for some time and this museum shows the progress from his early works to cubism.

Its is an interesting part of the town.

Can be long queues to get in, it was OK at 11 am. Took us an hour to get round the museum which is in an older group of houses.

The museum shop was really good

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    580
    278
    76
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but glad i didn't pay more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am an Art lover myself and the museum shows picassos periods very well. I wish it revealed more about him as a person or had more renowned work here. I feel like this is the place where they put all the work that no big galleries particularly want.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Warning: although the museum is free after 3pm on Sundays, we went along and the queue was insanely long so unless you fancy queueing for hours, just pay the money! We went along on a Tuesday morning and had to queue for about 20minutes but to be honest the queue is worth it as when you get inside they have ensured that they place isn't too busy. Would recommend the audioguide as it made everything more interesting! None of Picassos major works are present but I really enjoyed the museum and liked seeing work from Picasso as a teenager right up to before his death.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
“Not been inside, too expensive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Barcelona card says free entrance but it is not valid anymore. I think this is very bad company policy and tourist misleading. Dont go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

On hearing how popular this museum is we were excited to see the master's works, however the experience was disappointing. Not one major recognizable work, and the collection was quite small. The museum was packed with people so there was no chance of enjoying what there was. Give it a miss, unless you are going on the first Sunday of the month and its free.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso) also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Picasso Museum (Museu Picasso) to your Saves list